{"id": "m-43b4cae346", "slug": "roanoke-rapids-becker-village-mall", "type": "mall", "name": "Becker Village Mall", "aka": [], "city": "Roanoke Rapids", "county": "Halifax", "state": "NC", "country": "US", "census_division": 5, "lat": 36.44081, "lon": -77.6404, "geocode_method": null, "address": "10th St. & Becker Dr.", "metro": null, "original_use": "mall", "year_opened": 1980, "year_closed": null, "acres": null, "gla_sqft": 360894, "stores_peak": 40, "levels": null, "original_developer": null, "original_architect": null, "before_notes": "Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.", "strategy": [], "new_use": null, "share_retrofit": null, "status": "closed", "year_retrofit": null, "developer": null, "architect": null, "after_notes": null, "narrative": null, "narrative_license": null, "narrative_source": null, "zoning_change": null, "public_subsidy": null, "entitlement_year": null, "planning_notes": null, "wikidata_qid": null, "wikipedia": null, "osm_id": null, "verified": "draft", "verified_by": null, "last_verified": null, "last_updated": "2014-10-02", "created": "2026-10-18", "contributor_name": null, "contributor_org": null, "contributor_link": null, "international": 0, "county_fips": "37083", "opp_score": 0.0, "opp_reasons": ["closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced", "county shrank -6.8% 2018–23"], "for_sale": 0, "distressed": 0, "url": "https://retrofitatlas.org/malls/nc/roanoke-rapids-becker-village-mall/", "events": [{"year": 1980, "date": null, "kind": "opened", "detail": "Opened", "source_id": null}], "sources": [{"id": 1095, "site_id": "m-43b4cae346", "url": "https://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=6869fc5bfb3f4757954ef7a9e9ccbebf", "title": "Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014)", "publisher": "Esri", "date": "2014-10-02", "quote": null, "kind": "arcgis", "license": null, "retrieved": "2026-10-18"}], "deals": [], "parties": [], "parcels": [], "context": {"assessment": {"what_happened": "Becker Village Mall opened in 1980 as a regional mall with about 40 stores and 360,894 sq ft of GLA. It later closed, though the exact closure date is not recorded. The site remains closed today.", "why": "The record does not state a specific cause of closure; it only notes the mall is closed and that the surrounding county shrank -6.8% from 2018‑23, which may be a contributing factor.", "where_it_stands": "The mall is currently closed, and ownership or controlling entity is not specified in the record.", "for_a_planner": ["No explicit policy tools or interventions are recorded for this site.", "Open question: what were the primary drivers of the mall’s decline (anchor loss, competition, debt, etc.)?", "Open question: who holds title and what are the current zoning or land‑use designations?"], "for_a_developer": ["Site size: approximately 360,894 sq ft of GLA.", "Current control/ownership is not specified in the record.", "Entitlement stage unknown; no recorded permits or approvals are present.", "Context layers: no flood, transit, or environmental constraints are noted in the record.", "Market signal: the surrounding county population declined -6.8% 2018‑23, indicating weakening local demand."], "risks_and_unknowns": ["Exact closure date and specific cause of closure are not recorded.", "Current owner, deed holder, or managing entity is unidentified.", "No information on zoning, land‑use entitlements, or pending redevelopment proposals.", "Environmental or flood‑risk conditions are absent from the record.", "The record is marked ‘draft’ with only one source, indicating thin data quality."], "data_quality": "thin", "one_line": "Becker Village Mall opened in 1980, closed thereafter; site size 360k sq ft, ownership unknown, county population declining future uncertain", "model": "nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b", "machine": "NVIDIA API via Hermes CT", "record_sha1": "d742258bba13"}, "elevation": {"elevation_ft": 146.4, "resolution": 3.086419871794868e-05, "source": "USGS EPQS (3DEP)", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "env": {"count": 3, "facilities": [{"name": "ALAN VESTER NISSAN", "programs": " ", "site_type": "", "flags": "", "brownfield": false}, {"name": "QUALITY PONTIAC", "programs": " ", "site_type": "", "flags": "", "brownfield": false}, {"name": "ROANOKE LUMBER COMPANY**INACTIVE**", "programs": " ", "site_type": "", "flags": "", "brownfield": false}], "brownfield": false, "retrieved": "2026-10-15"}, "flood": {"zone": "X", "subtype": "AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARD", "sfha": "F", "bfe": -9999.0, "retrieved": "2026-10-15"}, "food_access": {"tract10": "37083930200", "urban": 1, "lila_1_10": 0, "low_access_1mi": 0, "lapop1share": 1.55284561300361, "poverty_rate": 6.634787806335921, "median_family_income": 72083.0, "snap_households": 313.0, "pop2010": 5310.0, "source": "USDA ERS Food Access Research Atlas 2019 (ArcGIS copy)", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "housing_market": {"zhvi": {"latest": 116316, "month": "2026-09", "change_1y": 0.031, "change_5y": 0.17}, "zori": {"latest": 1125, "month": "2026-09", "change_1y": null, "change_5y": null}, "county_fips": "37083", "source": "Zillow Research (ZHVI, ZORI)"}, "hpi": {"year": 2025, "index": 260.4, "change_1y": -0.057, "change_5y": 0.424, "change_10y": 0.606, "base": "2000=100 (FHFA annual tract index, all-transactions)", "tract": "37083930200", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "jobs_lodes": {"tract20": "37083930200", "jobs": 1226, "retail_jobs": 136, "food_accommodation_jobs": 105, "year": 2022, "source": "Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 (all jobs, primary and secondary), blocks summed to the 2020 tract", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "lihtc": {"count_1km": 5, "units_1km": 216, "li_units_1km": 216, "projects": [{"name": "Rooney Ridge", "units": 50, "year": null, "bond": false}, {"name": "River View Green", "units": 44, "year": null, "bond": false}, {"name": "Woodbury Apts", "units": 42, "year": null, "bond": false}, {"name": "Laurel Glen Apts", "units": 40, "year": null, "bond": false}, {"name": "River Towne Manor", "units": 40, "year": null, "bond": false}], "retrieved": "2026-10-16"}, "listings": {"zip": "27870", "month": "202609", "median_listing_price": 197475, "median_listing_price_yy": -0.0126, "active_listing_count": 66, "median_days_on_market": 77, "price_reduced_share": 0.1151, "pending_ratio": 0.5573, "source": "Realtor.com Research, inventory core metrics by ZIP (ZCTA at the site point)", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "nrhp": {"count": 0, "places": [], "retrieved": "2026-10-15"}, "nri": {"tract": "37083930200", "risk_score": 50.8, "risk_rating": "Relatively Low", "eal_score": 59.2, "eal_rating": "Relatively Moderate", "expected_annual_loss_usd": 1610408, "social_vulnerability": "Relatively Low", "community_resilience": "Very Low", "hazards": {"hurricane": "Relatively Moderate", "tornado": "Relatively High", "inland flooding": "Relatively Moderate", "heat wave": "Relatively Moderate", "wildfire": "Very Low", "earthquake": "Relatively Low", "hail": "Relatively Low", "strong wind": "Relatively Low", "drought": "Very Low", "winter weather": "Very High", "landslide": "Very Low", "ice storm": "Relatively Low", "cold wave": "Relatively Moderate", "lightning": "Relatively Moderate"}, "high_hazards": ["tornado", "winter weather"], "retrieved": "2026-10-16"}, "opportunity": {"tract10": "37083930200", "kfr_p25": 0.4282, "jail_p25": 0.0065, "kids_count": 448.9918, "commuting_zone": "Roanoke Rapids", "vintage": "children born 1978-83, outcomes measured 2014-15", "source": "Opportunity Insights, Opportunity Atlas (Chetty, Friedman, Hendren, Jones, Porter 2018)", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "overture": {"candidates": 273, "retrieved": "2026-10-15", "building": {"id": "a26b83e8-b5ae-44fe-9ae1-7652ea6193c2", "area_m2": 29062, "height_m": 6.081820011138916, "levels": null, "class": null, "names": null, "contains_point": true, "km": 0.01, "explore": "https://explore.overturemaps.org/?feature=buildings.building.a26b83e8-b5ae-44fe-9ae1-7652ea6193c2#17/36.44081/-77.64040"}, "large_buildings_nearby": 2, "buildings_done": true}, "oz": {"opportunity_zone": false, "tract": null, "rural": null, "retrieved": "2026-10-15"}, "peers": {"peers": [{"id": "m-4fefda8a4c", "name": "Signal Hill Mall", "city": "Statesville", "state": "NC", "score": 6.0, "why": ["similar GLA (357,900 sq ft)", "opened 1973", "also in NC"]}, {"id": "m-5c27939e62", "name": "Salisbury Mall", "city": "Salisbury", "state": "NC", "score": 5.0, "why": ["similar GLA (330,000 sq ft)", "opened 1986", "also in NC"]}, {"id": "m-b85f1cd217", "name": "Osceola Square Mall", "city": "Kissimmee", "state": "FL", "score": 5.0, "why": ["similar GLA (331,127 sq ft)", "opened 1986"]}, {"id": "m-dad22e3d1e", "name": "North Park Mall", "city": "Villa Park", "state": "IL", "score": 5.0, "why": ["similar GLA (333,596 sq ft)", "opened 1973"]}, {"id": "m-373abd9927", "name": "Auburn Mall", "city": "Auburn", "state": "ME", "score": 5.0, "why": ["similar GLA (297,915 sq ft)", "opened 1979"]}, {"id": "m-b41f9d9ecc", "name": "Hampshire Mall", "city": "Hadley", "state": "MA", "score": 5.0, "why": ["similar GLA (460,715 sq ft)", "opened 1978"]}], "method": "size, era, strategy, status, type, state, distance"}, "permits": {"county": "Halifax County", "2024": {"units_1": 55, "units_2_4": 0, "units_5plus": 0, "value_total": 21059195}, "2023": {"units_1": 54, "units_2_4": 2, "units_5plus": 0, "value_total": 20985349}, "retrieved": "2026-10-18"}, "qcew_retail": {"county": "37083", "year": 2025, "establishments": 198, "employment": 2116, "avg_annual_pay": 35100, "lq_employment": 1.42, "employment_change_1y": 0.7, "source": "BLS QCEW 2025 annual, county, NAICS 44-45 retail trade, private", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "retail_trend": {"2012": {"estab": 240, "emp": 2456}, "2023": {"estab": 206, "emp": 2239}, "estab_change": -0.142, "emp_change": -0.088, "county_fips": "37083"}, "schools": {"district": "Roanoke Rapids City Schools", "district_geoid": "3703900", "grades": "PK-12", "district_vintage": "SY2024-25", "public_schools_1mi": 1, "schools": ["Manning Elementary School"], "schools_vintage": "SY2023-24", "source": "NCES EDGE", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "storms": {"county": "37083", "years": "2016-2025", "events": 107, "by_type": {"Thunderstorm Wind": 83, "Hail": 8, "Flash Flood": 7, "Heavy Rain": 5, "Tornado": 3, "Flood": 1}, "property_damage_usd": 74486500, "deaths_direct": 0, "injuries_direct": 0, "note": "county-typed events only; events logged to forecast zones (CZ_TYPE Z: most winter, heat, flood and coastal events) are not counted", "source": "NOAA NCEI Storm Events Database, details files", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "svi": {"tract": "37083930200", "overall_pct": 0.68, "socioeconomic_pct": 0.57, "household_pct": 0.54, "minority_pct": 0.51, "housing_transport_pct": 0.82, "pop": 4780, "poverty150_share": 19.6, "no_vehicle_share": 2.8, "minority_share": 33.7, "unemployed_share": 3.4, "retrieved": "2026-10-15"}, "tract": {"geoid": "37083930200", "pop": 4649, "pop_per_sqmi": 1882, "median_hh_income": 58333, "median_gross_rent": 802, "renter_share": 0.46, "vacancy_rate": 0.114, "transit_commute_share": 0.0, "retrieved": "2026-10-15"}, "tract_change": {"geoid": "37083930200", "y2013": {"pop": 4550, "median_hh_income": 43589, "renter_share": 0.392, "median_home_value": 146400}, "y2023": {"pop": 4649, "median_hh_income": 58333, "renter_share": 0.461, "median_home_value": 177400}, "retrieved": "2026-10-16", "pop_change": 0.022, "median_hh_income_change": 0.338, "renter_share_change": 0.069, "median_home_value_change": 0.212}, "traffic": {"max_aadt": 10610, "trucks_aadt": 66, "road": "NC-125", "class": "minor arterial", "lanes": 4, "segments_600m": 4, "year": "2024", "source": "FHWA HPMS", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "transit": {"rail_stations": [], "bus_stops": 0, "bus_stations": [], "motorway_junctions": ["173"], "retrieved": "2026-10-15"}, "walk": {"geoid": "370839302004", "walk_index": 10.5, "intersection_density": 86.8, "road_density": 16.3, "transit_distance_m": null, "land_use_mix": 0.74, "jobs_per_acre": 1.53, "jobs_45min_auto": 5861, "jobs_45min_transit": -99999, "zero_car_share": 0.018, "pop": 1715, "housing_units": 765, "acres_land": 384.0, "retrieved": "2026-10-15"}, "web": {"images": [{"title": "Abandoned Becker Village Mall in Roanoke Rapids | …", "page": "https://www.lakegastongazette-observer.com/gallery/collection_825f9fd8-8ce0-11eb-b631-575bb404af99.html", "host": "lakegastongazette-observer.com", "img": "https://bloximages.chicago2.vip.townnews.com/lakegastongazette-observer.com/content/tncms/assets/v3/editorial/a/1a/a1a050a4-8ce0-11eb-a346-cb7bb2b2f0c0/605ba2d5ae77e.image.jpg?resize=768%2C500", "engine": "bing images"}, {"title": "A visit to Becker Village Mall", "page": "https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-FYxG6ZF8qY", "host": "youtube.com", "img": "https://i.ytimg.com/vi/-FYxG6ZF8qY/maxresdefault.jpg", "engine": "bing images"}, {"title": "Becker Village Mall -- Roanok…", "page": "https://www.flickr.com/photos/120051008@N03/27865862343", "host": "flickr.com", "img": "https://live.staticflickr.com/8343/27865862343_b75c670ed8_b.jpg", "engine": "bing images"}, {"title": "Becker Village Mall - Roanoke Rapids, NC - Indoor Malls o…", "page": "https://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WM2YAN", "host": "waymarking.com", "img": "https://img.geocaching.com/waymarking/display/368b72f7-290e-4ac7-a342-95ad6dad6511.jpg", "engine": "bing images"}, {"title": "JCP scar inside the old but amazing Becker Village Mall in …", "page": "https://www.reddit.com/r/deadmalls/comments/8lgnaz/jcp_scar_inside_the_old_but_amazing_becker/", "host": "reddit.com", "img": "https://i.redd.it/m0l3f9fcbjz01.jpg", "engine": "bing images"}, {"title": "Becker Village Mall", "page": "https://brookhillre.com/property/becker.html", "host": "brookhillre.com", "img": "https://brookhillre.com/images/properties/20/20siteplan.jpg", "engine": "bing images"}], "refs": [], "query": "\"Becker Village Mall\" Roanoke Rapids NC", "retrieved": "2026-10-15"}}, "elements": [{"slug": "place-hazard-tornado", "name": "High tornado risk", "group_": "place", "evidence": "Relatively High", "origin": "fema-nri"}, {"slug": "place-lihtc-cluster", "name": "200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km", "group_": "place", "evidence": "216 units in 5 properties", "origin": "hud-lihtc"}, {"slug": "anchor-jcpenney", "name": "JCPenney", "group_": "anchor", "evidence": "JCPenney", "origin": "wikipedia"}, {"slug": "place-retail-shrinking-county", "name": "County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012", "group_": "place", "evidence": "-14%", "origin": "census-cbp"}, {"slug": "place-shrinking-county", "name": "Shrinking county", "group_": "place", "evidence": "-6.8%", "origin": "census-acs"}, {"slug": "era-opened-1980s", "name": "Opened 1980s", "group_": "era", "evidence": "1980", "origin": "record"}, {"slug": "anchor-belk", "name": "Belk", "group_": "anchor", "evidence": "Belk", "origin": "wikipedia"}, {"slug": "status-awaiting-unchecked", "name": "Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked", "group_": "finance", "evidence": "closed", "origin": "import, no source"}], "details": {}, "photos": [], "provenance": {"*": "esri-closed-us-malls-2014"}, "restricted_fields": {"parcels": ["owner_addr", "assessed", "taxable", "tax_amount", "sale_price", "deed_ref"], "deals": ["price", "price_per_acre", "price_per_sqft", "loan_amount", "asking_price"], "how": "free API key: POST /api/v1/keys {\"email\": …}"}}