{"id": "n-87db8b4d65", "slug": "macon-macon-grocery-warehouses", "type": "industrial", "name": "Macon Grocery Warehouses", "aka": [], "city": "Macon", "county": "Bibb County", "state": "GA", "country": "US", "census_division": 5, "lat": 32.83326, "lon": -83.62036, "geocode_method": "census-address", "address": null, "metro": null, "original_use": "Macon Grocery Warehouse", "year_opened": null, "year_closed": null, "acres": null, "gla_sqft": null, "stores_peak": null, "levels": null, "original_developer": null, "original_architect": null, "before_notes": "Draft from macon-newsroom.com, model-extracted, unreviewed: The Macon Grocery Warehouses, a historic industrial site, is proposed to be redeveloped into 55 residential lofts.", "strategy": ["redevelop"], "new_use": ["housing"], "share_retrofit": null, "status": "proposed", "year_retrofit": null, "developer": "Hephaestus Development", "architect": null, "after_notes": "construction of 55 residential lofts", "narrative": null, "narrative_license": null, "narrative_source": null, "zoning_change": null, "public_subsidy": null, "entitlement_year": null, "planning_notes": null, "wikidata_qid": null, "wikipedia": null, "osm_id": null, "verified": "draft", "verified_by": null, "last_verified": null, "last_updated": "2026-10-18", "created": "2026-10-18", "contributor_name": null, "contributor_org": null, "contributor_link": null, "international": 0, "county_fips": "13021", "opp_score": 0.0, "opp_reasons": ["already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans", "housing in the record"], "for_sale": 0, "distressed": 0, "url": "https://retrofitatlas.org/industrial/ga/macon-macon-grocery-warehouses/", "events": [], "sources": [{"id": 8752, "site_id": "n-87db8b4d65", "url": "https://macon-newsroom.com/13131/news/historic-building-rezoned-for-lofts-as-central-city-commons-hits-pz-snag/", "title": "Historic building rezoned for lofts as Central City Commons hits P&Z ...", "publisher": "macon-newsroom.com", "date": null, "quote": "Macon Grocery Warehouses", "kind": "news", "license": null, "retrieved": "2026-10-18"}], "deals": [], "parties": [{"name": "Hephaestus Development", "kind": "developer", "role": "developer", "year_from": null, "year_to": null}], "parcels": [], "context": {"assessment": {"what_happened": "Macon Grocery Warehouses site is proposed for redevelopment into 55 residential lofts by Hephaestus Development. Construction is underway (status: proposed but under construction per after_notes).", "why": "Opp_score 0.0 because it's already in play (construction underway, approved, or sold with housing plans) and housing is explicitly listed in the record.", "where_it_stands": "Within 10km: 4 sites (including Korner Kupboard under construction 1.4km away, Macon Mall closed 7km away). Housing market shows ZHVI $170,006 (2026-09) with 2.4% annual growth. Permits show $27M+ in 2024 construction value for 154 units. Traffic: minor arterial road (4 lanes, 17,200 ADT).", "for_a_planner": ["Site is active redevelopment (not vacant opportunity)", "Housing market aligns with proposed use", "Proximity to other active projects (Korner Kupboard) may indicate neighborhood momentum"], "for_a_developer": ["Confirm construction timeline (record says 'under construction' but no completion date)", "Verify if 55 units aligns with Bibb County permit data (2024: 154 units total)"], "risks_and_unknowns": ["No current site condition details", "Trucks_aadt not reported", "Exact parcel size/land use not specified", "No timeline for completion beyond 'under construction'"], "data_quality": "partial", "one_line": "Active housing redevelopment (55 lofts) underway; not a new opportunity due to construction status.", "model": "qwen3-30b-a3b-64k:latest", "machine": "Dell 5820 RTX 3090 (Ollama, qwen3-30b-a3b)", "record_sha1": "fb68357c9ba5"}, "cluster": {"within_10km": [{"id": "n-52cca9c318", "name": "Former gas station near the intersection of Spring Street and Riverside Drive", "city": "Macon", "status": "demolished", "km": 1.4}, {"id": "n-a43a1bb693", "name": "Korner Kupboard", "city": "Macon", "status": "under construction", "km": 1.4}, {"id": "m-ee26286b49", "name": "Westgate Mall", "city": "Birmingham", "status": "under construction", "km": 4.7}, {"id": "m-5ae93ff5ef", "name": "Macon Mall", "city": "Macon", "status": "closed", "km": 7.0}], "count_10km": 4, "count_25km": 5}, "elevation": {"elevation_ft": 302.7, "resolution": 1, "source": "USGS EPQS (3DEP)", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "food_access": {"tract10": "13021013900", "urban": 0, "lila_1_10": 0, "low_access_1mi": 0, "lapop1share": 62.012800227380104, "poverty_rate": 44.7889182058048, "median_family_income": 29583.0, "snap_households": 156.0, "pop2010": 2070.0, "source": "USDA ERS Food Access Research Atlas 2019 (ArcGIS copy)", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "housing_market": {"zhvi": {"latest": 170006, "month": "2026-09", "change_1y": 0.024, "change_5y": 0.292}, "zori": {"latest": 1211, "month": "2026-09", "change_1y": 0.029, "change_5y": 0.144}, "county_fips": "13021", "source": "Zillow Research (ZHVI, ZORI)"}, "jobs_lodes": {"tract20": "13021013900", "jobs": 10557, "retail_jobs": 165, "food_accommodation_jobs": 106, "year": 2022, "source": "Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 (all jobs, primary and secondary), blocks summed to the 2020 tract", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "listings": {"zip": "31201", "month": "202609", "median_listing_price": 169450, "median_listing_price_yy": 0.0591, "active_listing_count": 48, "median_days_on_market": 100, "price_reduced_share": 0.1154, "pending_ratio": 0.1053, "source": "Realtor.com Research, inventory core metrics by ZIP (ZCTA at the site point)", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "opportunity": {"tract10": "13021013900", "kfr_p25": 0.2802, "jail_p25": 0.0501, "kids_count": 562.1981, "commuting_zone": "Macon", "vintage": "children born 1978-83, outcomes measured 2014-15", "source": "Opportunity Insights, Opportunity Atlas (Chetty, Friedman, Hendren, Jones, Porter 2018)", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "peers": {"peers": [{"id": "m-ee26286b49", "name": "Westgate Mall", "city": "Birmingham", "state": "GA", "score": 5.0, "why": ["same strategy: redevelop", "also in GA", "5 km away"]}, {"id": "m-46d2bbacf2", "name": "Town Center at Cobb", "city": "Kennesaw", "state": "GA", "score": 4.5, "why": ["same strategy: redevelop", "also in GA"]}, {"id": "m-6b182abdf8", "name": "Lotus Grove", "city": "Doraville", "state": "GA", "score": 4.5, "why": ["same strategy: redevelop", "also in GA"]}, {"id": "n-a68b3952d2", "name": "Garden Hills Apartments", "city": "Atlanta", "state": "GA", "score": 4.5, "why": ["same strategy: redevelop", "also in GA"]}, {"id": "n-4018a6247b", "name": "Hill Street Mixed-Use Development", "city": "Roswell", "state": "GA", "score": 4.5, "why": ["same strategy: redevelop", "also in GA"]}, {"id": "n-31e56c0ddf", "name": "Piedmont Center", "city": "Atlanta", "state": "GA", "score": 4.5, "why": ["same strategy: redevelop", "also in GA"]}], "method": "size, era, strategy, status, type, state, distance"}, "permits": {"county": "Bibb County", "2024": {"units_1": 154, "units_2_4": 0, "units_5plus": 0, "value_total": 27055463}, "2023": {"units_1": 147, "units_2_4": 0, "units_5plus": 0, "value_total": 25826550}, "retrieved": "2026-10-18"}, "qcew_retail": {"county": "13021", "year": 2025, "establishments": 757, "employment": 10123, "avg_annual_pay": 39350, "lq_employment": 1.28, "employment_change_1y": -2.5, "source": "BLS QCEW 2025 annual, county, NAICS 44-45 retail trade, private", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "retail_trend": {"2012": {"estab": 803, "emp": 10224}, "2023": {"estab": 759, "emp": 11287}, "estab_change": -0.055, "emp_change": 0.104, "county_fips": "13021"}, "schools": {"district": "Bibb County School District", "district_geoid": "1300420", "grades": "PK-12", "district_vintage": "SY2024-25", "public_schools_1mi": 0, "schools": [], "schools_vintage": "SY2023-24", "source": "NCES EDGE", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "storms": {"county": "13021", "years": "2016-2025", "events": 67, "by_type": {"Thunderstorm Wind": 51, "Tornado": 7, "Flash Flood": 4, "Hail": 4, "Winter Storm": 1}, "property_damage_usd": 2700000, "deaths_direct": 0, "injuries_direct": 0, "note": "county-typed events only; events logged to forecast zones (CZ_TYPE Z: most winter, heat, flood and coastal events) are not counted", "source": "NOAA NCEI Storm Events Database, details files", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}, "traffic": {"max_aadt": 17200, "trucks_aadt": null, "road": "80", "class": "minor arterial", "lanes": 4, "segments_600m": 40, "year": "2024", "source": "FHWA HPMS", "retrieved": "2026-10-20"}}, "elements": [{"slug": "place-mall-cluster", "name": "3+ other atlas sites within 10 km", "group_": "place", "evidence": "4 within 10 km", "origin": "computed"}, {"slug": "strategy-redevelop", "name": "Redeveloped", "group_": "strategy", "evidence": "construction of 55 residential lofts", "origin": "record"}, {"slug": "use-housing", "name": "Housing", "group_": "use", "evidence": "construction of 55 residential lofts", "origin": "newtypes-extraction"}, {"slug": "status-pipeline", "name": "Retrofit in the pipeline", "group_": "finance", "evidence": "proposed", "origin": "record"}], "details": {}, "photos": [], "provenance": {"after_notes": "newtypes-extraction", "developer": "newtypes-extraction"}, "restricted_fields": {"parcels": ["owner_addr", "assessed", "taxable", "tax_amount", "sale_price", "deed_ref"], "deals": ["price", "price_per_acre", "price_per_sqft", "loan_amount", "asking_price"], "how": "free API key: POST /api/v1/keys {\"email\": …}"}}