Retrofit Atlas

Malls · South Carolina

Rock Hill Galleria

Imported, unreviewedClosedRock Hill, SC

Opened 1991.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size678,979 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability8.2 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
BelkThis site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Place
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $49,535 census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -1.3% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income flat or down since 2013This site: +9% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m1: BIG DAN'S CAR WASHEPA FRS
Census tract 450479702025,580 people, 1,576 per sq mi; median household income $49,535; median gross rent $995; 45% renters; 7.7% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 8.2 of 20; 38 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.64; 9,447 jobs within 45 min by car; 2% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Greenwood County (SC), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 193 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.38; socioeconomic 0.45; housing and transport 0.41; 28% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 8,490 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Tract change 2013–2023population -36% (8,724 → 5,580); median income +9% ($45,484 → $49,535); renters 37% → 45%; median home value +24% ($125,100 → $155,700)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 70.7); expected annual loss $2.2M; high: tornado, ice storm, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km2 LIHTC properties, 18 units: Trakas Avenue Apts Phase Ii (10 units); Trakas Avenue Apts Phase I (8 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023284 establishments (+4%); 3,764 jobs (+16%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $174,626 (+0% 1 yr, +15% 5 yr); typical rent $1,101/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025289 (2000 = 100); -1.0% 1 yr, +39% 5 yr, +74% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)22,900 vehicles a day on BYP 72 NE (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 696 trucks; 34 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

The Rock Hill Galleria opened in 1991 as a 678,979‑square‑foot mall with up to 54 stores. It is now listed as closed, though the record does not specify when closure occurred or what happened afterward.

Why. The record does not state any reasons for the mall’s closure; no anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition events are listed.

Where it stands. The site is currently closed and its controlling owner is not identified in the record.

For a planner

  • No specific precedents or policy tools are mentioned in the record.
  • Open questions include the cause of closure, current zoning, and potential future reuse options.

For a developer

  • Site size: 678,979 sq ft GLA (large parcel).
  • Ownership and control are unknown per the record.
  • Entitlement stage, floodplain status, transit access, and environmental constraints are not specified.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data are not provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Closure date is missing.
  • Reasons for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) are not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Present use or vacancy status of the structure is not described.
  • Zoning, land‑use, floodplain, transit proximity, and environmental constraints are absent from the record.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 678,979 sq ft GLA (large site)

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1991Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area678,979 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak54Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsSteve & Barry's, Sears, Wal-Mart, Belk
AddressI-77 & Dave Lyle Blvd.
CountyGreenwood
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1991 Opened

Sources

More in South Carolina