Retrofit Atlas

Malls · South Carolina

Greenville Mall (Greenville)

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedGreenville, SC

Greenville Mall, opened unknown, rebranded as Magnolia Park Town Center after 2009 redevelopment; current status and ownership are not known. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Greenville Mall
Exterior view of a shopping center with distinctive white archway and signage. · verified by a vision model. Photo: Mike Kalasnik from Charlotte, USA, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 118,600 on NO NAME fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: NO NAME fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +113% fhfa · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikipedia reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Greenville Mall” and “Greenville” (80 hits, first 80 sampled, 12 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2004-03-16 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2016 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC12004-04-14 to 2004-04-148-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)JP MORGAN CHASE COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP12004-03-16 to 2004-03-168-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)Morgan Stanley Capital I Trust 2016-UBS912016-03-09 to 2016-03-098-K 1
Public owner (weak)Rouse Properties, Inc.332013-03-07 to 2016-05-058-K 16, 10-Q 10, 10-K 7
Public owner (weak)COLONIAL PROPERTIES TRUST62006-03-14 to 2008-02-2910-K 6
Public owner (weak)COLONIAL REALTY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP62006-03-16 to 2008-02-2910-K 6
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ)52002-05-17 to 2003-05-088-K 5
Public owner (weak)JMB INCOME PROPERTIES LTD V12002-08-14 to 2002-08-1410-Q 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m10: BISHOPS TRUCK BODY SHOP; CABELA'S GREENVILLE SC RETAIL; CHEROKEE KENWORTH TRUCK REPAIR; COSTCO WHOLESALE 1005; DIGITAL EQUIPMENT CORPORATIONEPA FRS
Census tract 450450028054,757 people, 1,313 per sq mi; median household income $54,072; median gross rent $1,101; 46% renters; 12.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 10.0 of 20; 44 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.95; 67,415 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 1 schools, 4 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 0 civic, 23 food and drink; 5 cycleway segments, 117 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Greenville County (SC), 2024566 units in 5+ unit buildings, 16 in 2–4, 4,993 single-family; 2023: 408 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.62; socioeconomic 0.41; housing and transport 0.80; 21% below 150% of poverty; 12% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: McAlister Square (5.0 km)computed
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 13,982 m², 12.6 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Attention: Wikipedia page views12,710 since 2015; 1,325 in the last 12 months (-24% vs the prior 12); peak 2025-06 with 364Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +6% (4,476 → 4,757); median income +12% ($48,304 → $54,072); renters 39% → 46%; median home value +66% ($215,200 → $356,800)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 72.5); expected annual loss $1.9M; high: tornado, inland flooding, ice storm, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)31,743 jobs in 2,006 establishments; average annual pay $41,710; employment location quotient 1.06; employment +1.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 202210,318 jobs; 1,514 in retail trade, 1,428 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 45045002805)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 47th income percentile as adults; 4.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (253 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 66% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 6.6%; median family income $96,602; 97 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsGreenville County School District (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: Beck International Academy; CTE Innovation Center at Roper MountainNCES EDGE
Elevation1,038 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025220 county-logged events: 121 thunderstorm wind, 69 hail, 11 flash flood, 10 tornado; $10,840,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 29607, 2026-09median list price $413,750 (-2.0% on the year); 189 active listings; median 59 days on market; 18% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20231,907 establishments (+8%); 30,103 jobs (+20%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $336,744 (+2% 1 yr, +27% 5 yr); typical rent $1,602/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025439 (2000 = 100); +2.8% 1 yr, +58% 5 yr, +113% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)118,600 vehicles a day on NO NAME (Interstate, 6 lanes); 10,117 trucks; 38 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Originally opened as Greenville Mall (opening date not specified), the property was rebranded and underwent extensive redevelopment beginning in 2009, becoming known as Magnolia Park Town Center. The record does not specify any further changes after that redevelopment, and its present status is listed as unknown.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The site's current status is unknown and no controlling entity is indicated in the record.

For a planner

  • The mall was redeveloped into Magnolia Park Town Center starting in 2009, indicating a prior adaptive‑reuse effort.
  • Greenville County’s population grew 7.9% from 2018 to 2023, suggesting regional demand growth.
  • Open questions include the current occupancy, ownership, and whether any zoning or incentives guided the 2009 redevelopment.

For a developer

  • Site size and parcel boundaries are not provided in the record.
  • Ownership and control entities are unspecified, so the degree of site control is unclear.
  • Entitlement status (zoning, permits) for the 2009 redevelopment or any future use is not detailed.
  • No context‑layer information (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) is included.
  • Market signals are limited to the county‑wide growth figure; tract‑level data such as income, retail sales, or vacancy rates are missing.

What we do not know yet

  • Opening year and original anchor tenants are missing.
  • Current status, ownership, and management entity are unknown.
  • Detailed site size, parcel count, and layout are not recorded.
  • Zoning, entitlement, and any deed restrictions after the 2009 redevelopment are unspecified.
  • Context‑layer risks (floodplain, transit proximity, environmental hazards) are not provided.
  • Financial performance, lease terms, and vacancy rates post‑redevelopment are absent.
  • The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin verification.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Greenville Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county grew 7.9% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

CountyGreenville County
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Magnolia Park Town Center is a shopping center in Greenville, South Carolina. Known originally as Greenville Mall, it was redeveloped extensively starting in 2009.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Sources

More in South Carolina