Retrofit Atlas

Malls · New Jersey

Princeton Forrestal Village

Imported, unreviewedClosedPrinceton, NJ

Opened 1987.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size770,000 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability14.5 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile10 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/144451162232004 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.princetonforrestalvillage.com/index.asp overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 76,082 on US 1 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,554/mo zillow · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
High natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)This site: Relatively High; inland flooding, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm fema-nri · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $137,171 census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income flat or down since 2013This site: +4% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 14.5 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Princeton Forrestal Village” and “Princeton” (199 hits, first 100 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)MACK CALI REALTY CORP (VRE)272006-04-03 to 2012-02-098-K 23, 10-Q 3, 10-K/A 1
Public owner (weak)MACK CALI REALTY L P62006-04-03 to 2011-02-1410-Q 3, 8-K 2, 10-K/A 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 kmjunctionOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m4: NEW RESIDENTIAL COMMUNITY; NJ STATE POL PRINCETON GARAGE; PIP PRINTING; PRINCETON MARRIOTTEPA FRS
Census tract 340230086014,995 people, 1,072 per sq mi; median household income $137,171; median gross rent $2,107; 22% renters; 8.5% vacant units; 8.6% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 14.5 of 20; 75 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 531 m; land-use mix 0.75; 104,378 jobs within 45 min by car, 8,288 by transit; 7% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Middlesex County (NJ), 20241,073 units in 5+ unit buildings, 42 in 2–4, 677 single-family; 2023: 1,550 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.36; socioeconomic 0.19; housing and transport 0.67; 2% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 6 within 25 km: Bridge Point 8 (9.2 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Forrestal Village (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 5,183 m², 8.925365447998047 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.princetonforrestalvillage.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population -2% (5,117 → 4,995); median income +4% ($131,694 → $137,171); renters 25% → 22%; median home value +38% ($471,000 → $648,900)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively high overall (score 91.4); expected annual loss $3.7M; high: inland flooding, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,408 establishments (-8%); 51,042 jobs (+35%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $579,852 (+3% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr); typical rent $2,554/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025565 (2000 = 100), +39% 5 yr, +57% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)76,082 vehicles a day on US 1 (principal arterial, 5 lanes); 3,597 trucks; 23 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Princeton Forrestal Village opened in 1987 as a mall with approximately 770,000 square feet of GLA and 41 stores at its peak. The site is currently listed as closed, with no further events recorded after opening.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The site is closed; ownership and controlling entity are not specified in the record.

For a planner

  • No zoning or land‑use information provided; precedents for reuse unknown.
  • No record of public incentives, tax abatements, or policy tools applied.
  • Open questions include the cause of closure, current ownership, and any existing entitlements.

For a developer

  • Site size: 770,000 sq ft GLA (large parcel).
  • Control and ownership unknown; entitlement stage not documented.
  • No flood, transit, or environmental constraints noted in record.
  • Market signals: Mercer County grew 4.2% 2018‑23; median rent $1,810.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date not recorded.
  • Reason for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling party unknown.
  • Zoning, entitlements, and any land‑use restrictions absent.
  • Environmental, flood, or transit constraints not assessed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Princeton Forrestal Village on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 770,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
  • county grew 4.2% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,810

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1987Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area770,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak41Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsCan Do & Koi Spa, Luxe Home Company
AddressUS Route 1 (Rockingham Row)
CountyMiddlesex
Census division2 · Mid-Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1987 Opened

Sources

More in New Jersey