Malls · Pennsylvania
The Mall at Steamtown
Opened 1993.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Boscov's
This site: Boscov's wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -13% census-cbp · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.88 cdc-svi · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: BIDEN ST fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $23,897 census-acs · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Grand Army of the Republic Building; Dime Bank Building nps-nrhp · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 42069100200 hud-oz · all sites with thisRail within 800 m
This site: Electric City Trolley Station openstreetmap · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 96% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 13.2 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | Electric City Trolley Station (rail); 2 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | junctionOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 22: ARCHDIOCESE OF SCRANTON (BISHOP HANNAN HIGH SCHOOL); HCSC LAUNDRY/SCRANTON; KANE FREIGHT LINES INC; LACKAWANNA COUNTY COURTHOUSE; LACKAWANNA COUNTY MS4EPA FRS |
| Census tract 42069100200 | 3,088 people, 8,326 per sq mi; median household income $23,897; median gross rent $706; 96% renters; 13.7% vacant units; 8.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 13.2 of 20; 213 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.81; 37,240 jobs within 45 min by car; 42% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 42069100200 (rural)HUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 8: Grand Army of the Republic Building; Dime Bank Building; St. Peter's Cathedral Complex; Central Railroad of New Jersey Freight StationNPS |
| Housing permits, Lackawanna County (PA), 2024 | 0 units in 5+ unit buildings, 46 in 2–4, 204 single-family; 2023: 20 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.88; socioeconomic 0.79; housing and transport 0.90; 55% below 150% of poverty; 52% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 30,478 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +20% (2,568 → 3,088); median income +16% ($20,654 → $23,897); renters 96% → 96%; median home value n/aCensus ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 41.9); expected annual loss $767,608; high: winter weather; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 3 LIHTC properties, 145 units: Hotel Jermyn Apts (85 units); Florence Apts (30 units); St Francis Of Assisi Commons (30 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 11,170 jobs in 792 establishments; average annual pay $35,493; employment location quotient 1.14; employment -0.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 8,254 jobs; 348 in retail trade, 496 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 42069100200)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 47th income percentile as adults; 3.8% incarcerated at the 2010 count (243 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 42.5%; median family income $33,897; 791 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Scranton School District (PK-12); 7 public schools within 1 mile: Northeast Intrmd Sch; John Adams #4; Frances Willard #32; South Scranton Intrmd SchNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 744 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 220 county-logged events: 130 thunderstorm wind, 53 flash flood, 20 hail, 7 lightning; $15,046,000 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 18503, 2026-09 | median list price $339,900 (+106.1% on the year); 1 active listings; median 121 days on market; 0% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 809 establishments (-13%); 11,867 jobs (-11%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $242,972 (+2% 1 yr, +37% 5 yr); typical rent $1,415/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 27,425 vehicles a day on BIDEN ST (freeway or expressway, 6 lanes); 958 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The Mall at Steamtown opened in 1993 as a retail center with approximately 565,000 square feet of GLA and up to 80 stores. It operated as a mall until it closed, after which no further events are recorded.
Why. The record does not specify why the mall closed; no anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition details are provided.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- Large 565,000‑sq‑ft site offers potential for adaptive reuse or redevelopment.
- No zoning, entitlement, or planning‑tool information is present in the record.
- Open questions include the cause of closure, current ownership, and any existing municipal plans for the property.
For a developer
- Site size: 565,000 sq ft GLA.
- Ownership and control are not disclosed in the record.
- Entitlement stage, zoning approvals, and any pending deals are unknown.
- No context‑layer data (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are provided.
- Market‑signal data from the surrounding tract are absent.
What we do not know yet
- Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
- Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
- Any ongoing purchase, lease, or redevelopment deals are not documented.
- Zoning, land‑use, and entitlement status are unspecified.
- Environmental, flood‑plain, and transit‑access constraints have not been recorded.
- The record is marked as “draft” with only one source, indicating limited verification.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Mobile Festival Centre, Mobile, AL · Malls · similar GLA (488,138 sq ft); opened 1986
- Rock Hill Galleria, Rock Hill, SC · Malls · similar GLA (678,979 sq ft); opened 1991
- College Square, Morristown, TN · Malls · similar GLA (523,013 sq ft); opened 1988
- York Mall, York, PA · Malls · similar GLA (603,435 sq ft); also in PA
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Steamtown Mall / The Mall at Steamtown on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- The Mall at Steamtown - Scranton, PA | Flickr flickr.com
- The Mall at Steamtown | SAH ARCHIPEDIA sah-archipedia.org
- The Mall At Steamtown Photos and Premium High Res Pictures - Ge… gettyimages.co.uk
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- 565,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1993Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 565,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 80Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Steve & Barry's, Boscov's, The Bon Ton, Marquee Cinemas 8 |
| Address | Lackawanna & Wyoming Aves. |
| County | Lackawanna |
| Census division | 2 · Mid-Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1993 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Pennsylvania
Exton Square MallExton, PA · 2020Partial Redeveloped · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: healthcare, civic Partial redevelopment:…
Granite Run MallMiddletown, PA · 2013Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: demalled plus residentialStation MallAltoona, PA · 2010Reinhabited · Reinhabitation, healthcare435 Devon Park Dr.Wayne, PA · 2024Regreening · Reinhabitation, under construction · 162 apartments across the existing two-story buildings. Three acres…Abbey Gardens office complexReading, PAReinhabitation, approved · 92 apartments, made up of 84 one-bed and eight two-bed flats