Malls · United Kingdom
Clarendon Shopping Centre
Clarendon Centre opened 1984, closed 2025 for redevelopment to housing/office; demolition underway 2026 under Goldmoney Properties ownership. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile8 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Retrofit in the pipeline
This site: …under construction extraction · all sites with thisSold since 2020
This site: 2024 Israeli-Canadian investor Roy Sebag research-deals · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 289 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 19 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …demolition site extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisOffice
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Under constructionextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopment, under constructionextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | housing, officeextracted, unreviewed |
| What is there now | demolition siteextracted, unreviewed |
| Redeveloper | Goldmoney Propertiesextracted, unreviewed |
Planning
| Entitlement year | 2022extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Planning notes | The redevelopment proposal includes student accommodation.extracted, unreviewed |
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | Sold | — | Israeli-Canadian investor Roy Sebag ← Lothbury Investment Management | Wikipedia |
| 2000 | Sold | — | an investment partnership | Wikipedia |
Site context
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 19 grocers, 61 schools, 163 parks or playgrounds, 12 health, 106 civic, 263 food and drink; 289 cycleway segments, 333 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 3 within 25 km: Westgate Shopping Centre, Oxford (0.2 km); Cowley plant (3.6 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 10,338 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 30,446 since 2015; 2,127 in the last 12 months (+33% vs the prior 12); peak 2019-11 with 7,891Wikimedia |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1984 as a 23‑store shopping centre developed by Arrowcroft, the Clarendon Centre operated under successive owners until 2025. After a 2012‑14 expansion that added H&M and TK Maxx, the centre faced competition from Westgate Oxford and was closed for redevelopment in 2025, with demolition underway in 2026.
Why. The record shows competition from the reopened Westgate Oxford (which attracted Zara in 2017) and a planning decision to demolish and rebuild for housing/office use. No explicit anchor tenant loss or debt is cited.
Where it stands. As of 2026 the site is under demolition and redevelopment, controlled by Goldmoney Properties (owner since 2024) following its purchase from Israeli‑Canadian investor Roy Sebag.
For a planner
- Precedent: 2022 planning approval for demolition and rebuild.
- Policy tool: entitlement granted in 2022.
- Open question: how the medieval remains discovered during demolition will be handled.
- Open question: balance of student accommodation versus housing/office in the new use.
For a developer
- Site size: not stated in the record.
- Control: Goldmoney Properties has owned the site since 2024.
- Entitlement stage: approved 2022, currently under construction.
- Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment): not provided in the record.
- Market signals from tract data: not provided in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Site size is unknown.
- Flood risk, transit access, and environmental constraints are not documented.
- Exact number of housing units, office space, or student beds is not specified.
- Financial details of the redevelopment (costs, funding) are missing.
- The record is marked as 'draft' and some fields rely on extraction without verification.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Festival Flea Market Mall, Pompano Beach, FL · Malls · opened 1991; closed 2025; same strategy: redevelop
- Towne West Square, Wichita, KS · Malls · opened 1980; closed 2025; same strategy: redevelop
- Wausau Center, Wausau, WI · Malls · opened 1983; closed 2021; same strategy: redevelop
- Harbourside Shopping Centre, Darling Harbour · Malls · opened 1988; closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- The Clarendon Shopping Centr… dreamstime.com
- Clarendon shopping centr… alamy.com
- Clarendon Shopping Centre, Oxford — Stores & Hours | Occupi getoccupi.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
History and original facts
| Opened | 1984extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2025extracted, unreviewed |
| Stores at peak | 23extracted, unreviewed |
| Original developer | Arrowcroftextracted, unreviewed |
| Architect | Gordon Benoy and Partners |
| Anchors | H&M, Gap Outlet, Littlewoods, TK Maxx |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping centres in the United Kingdom |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Clarendon Centre was a shopping centre in central Oxford, England, opened in 1984. The centre faced Cornmarket Street, and had other entrances onto Queen Street and Shoe Lane. The fascia onto Cornmarket Street was that of the Woolworths store which had, in a decision later criticised, replaced the Georgian Clarendon Hotel; it was discovered during demolition that medieval construction had been present within the hotel. The shopping centre was expanded in 2012–14, after which major tenants included TK Maxx, H&M and Gap Outlet. In 2025 the centre closed for redevelopment, and as of 2026 the site is being redeveloped.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1984 Centre opened
- 2000 Sold to investment partnership for £80m
- 2012 Plan to extend floorspace by 10% for H&M
- 2017 Westgate Oxford reopened, Zara moved
- 2019 TK Maxx opened
- 2021 Application submitted to demolish and rebuild
- 2022 Application approved by Oxford City Council
- 2024 Centre bought by Roy Sebag
- 2025 Centre closed for redevelopment
- 2026 Demolition underway
Sources
- Wikipedia: Clarendon Shopping Centre · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed, year opened
16 quoted sentences
The Clarendon Centre (or Clarendon Shopping Centre) was a shopping centre in central Oxford, England, opened in 1984.
In 2025 the centre closed for redevelopment.
The Clarendon Centre was built on the site in 1983–84, designed by Gordon Benoy and Partners, and built by property company Arrowcroft.
As of April 2026, demolition was underway.
More in United Kingdom
Aberdeen MarketAberdeen, United Kingdom · 2022RedevelopedAlbany BuildingLiverpool, United KingdomReinhabited · 137 apartments in total, made up of two and three-bedroom luxury…Anglia SquareNorfolk, United Kingdom · 2025Redeveloped · demolition in progressArchway StudiosSouthwark, United KingdomRedevelopedArundel HouseWindsor, United KingdomReinhabitation, approved · six flatsBargate CentreSouthampton, United KingdomStatus not verified