Malls · Idaho
Karcher Mall
Karcher Mall opened 1965, lost top regional status after 1988 competition, now operates as a shopping center with new anchors. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile8 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/213913998789020 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://shopkarchermall.com/leasing.html overture / http check · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 16 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisFast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)
This site: 14% census-acs · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.88 cdc-svi · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +282% fhfa · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …shopping center extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingextracted, unreviewed documentedDistrict 208, formerly Karcher Mall, is a shopping center located in Nampa, Idaho, United States. |
|---|---|
| What is there now | shopping centerextracted, unreviewed documentedDistrict 208, formerly Karcher Mall, is a shopping center located in Nampa, Idaho, United States. |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 10: DISTRICT 208; FORMER FIRESTONE TIRE & RUBBER NAMPA; HOME DEPOT STORE #8941; JIFFY LUBE; KARCHER MALL - DISTRICT 208EPA FRS |
| Census tract 16027021006 | 4,943 people, 4,900 per sq mi; median household income $57,019; median gross rent $1,299; 19% renters; 4.9% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 3 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 0 civic, 34 food and drink; 16 cycleway segments, 2 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Canyon County (ID), 2024 | 196 units in 5+ unit buildings, 160 in 2–4, 3,253 single-family; 2023: 833 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.88; socioeconomic 0.74; housing and transport 0.89; 14% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Karcher Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 23,715 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | shopkarchermall.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 10,806 since 2015; 2,310 in the last 12 months (-14% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-12 with 287Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 29.6); expected annual loss $589,646; high: winter weather, lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 56 units: Galway (56 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 10,200 jobs in 584 establishments; average annual pay $44,071; employment location quotient 1.14; employment +3.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,894 jobs; 790 in retail trade, 718 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 16027021006)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 41th income percentile as adults; 2.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (535 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 11% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 13.2%; median family income $52,500; 513 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Vallivue School District 139 (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 2,462 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 21 county-logged events: 8 thunderstorm wind, 6 flood, 4 hail, 3 heavy rain; $1,500,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 83651, 2026-09 | median list price $408,448 (+1.5% on the year); 84 active listings; median 43 days on market; 25% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 555 establishments (+14%); 9,687 jobs (+35%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $416,843 (+2% 1 yr, -2% 5 yr); typical rent $1,703/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2022 | 448 (2000 = 100); +17.2% 1 yr, +114% 5 yr, +282% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 28,500 vehicles a day on 84 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 500 trucks; 3 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Karcher Mall opened in 1965 as an enclosed shopping center with original anchors Buttrey Food & Drug, Tempo, and Sprouse-Reitz. It remained the largest mall in the Treasure Valley until Boise Towne Square opened in 1988, after which it ceased to hold that title. Today it operates as a shopping center anchored by Big 5 Sporting Goods, Jo-Ann Fabrics and Crafts, Mor Furniture, and Ross.
Why. The record shows the loss of top regional status was caused by competition from the newer Boise Towne Square mall in 1988. No other causes such as anchor loss, debt, or demolition are mentioned.
Where it stands. The mall is currently operating as a shopping center, but the record does not specify its owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- Precedent: similar regional malls losing anchor status after newer competition (e.g., Boise Towne Square).
- Policy tools: none explicitly mentioned in the record.
- Open questions: how to leverage the county’s 14.2% growth (2018‑23) for reuse or intensification; what zoning or incentives might support redevelopment.
For a developer
- Site size: not stated in the record.
- Control/ownership: not stated in the record.
- Entitlement stage: not stated in the record.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment): not provided in the record.
- Market signal: the record notes county population grew 14.2% from 2018‑23, indicating regional growth pressure.
What we do not know yet
- Owner/developer identity and control structure are unknown.
- Exact site dimensions and parcel layout are not provided.
- Current lease terms, anchor tenant health, and vacancy levels are unspecified.
- Zoning, land‑use approvals, and any entitlements are not detailed.
- The record is marked “draft” and verified only by extraction, so some facts may be unreviewed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Karcher Mall commons.wikimedia.org
- New owner for Nampa's Karcher Mall, big changes could be ahea… boisedev.com
- New owner for Nampa’s Karcher Mall, big changes could be ahe… idahopress.com
- Karcher Mall's new owner plans to revitalize the aging shopping center ktvb.com
- KARCHER MALL - Updated July 2026 - 26 Photos & 20 … yelp.com
- Karcher Mall — Baum Revision baumrevision.com
- Renovation Underway at Nampa's Karcher Mall 1035kissfmboise.com
- Karcher Mall - Nampa, ID | Flickr flickr.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county grew 14.2% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1965extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Anchors | Sprouse-Reitz, Buttrey Food & Drug, Jo-Ann Fabrics, Tempo, Big 5 Sporting Goods, Jo-Ann Fabrics and Crafts, Mor Furniture, Ross |
| County | Canyon County |
| Census division | 8 · Mountain |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
District 208, formerly Karcher Mall, is a shopping center located in Nampa, Idaho, United States. It originally opened as an enclosed shopping mall in August 1965 with Buttrey Food & Drug, Tempo, and Sprouse-Reitz as anchor stores. It was the largest shopping mall in the Treasure Valley until the opening of Boise Towne Square in Boise in October 1988. The shopping center is anchored by Big 5 Sporting Goods, Jo-Ann Fabrics and Crafts, Mor Furniture, and Ross.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1965 Opened as enclosed shopping mall
- 1988 Ceased to be largest shopping mall in Treasure Valley
Sources
- Wikipedia: Karcher Mall · supports: after notes, status, year opened
5 quoted sentences
It originally opened as an enclosed shopping mall in August 1965
District 208, formerly Karcher Mall, is a shopping center located in Nampa, Idaho, United States.
District 208, formerly Karcher Mall, is a shopping center located in Nampa, Idaho, United States.
It originally opened as an enclosed shopping mall in August 1965
Pine Ridge Mall