Malls · Indiana
Kokomo Mall
Opened 1963. Reinhabited in 2014.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/113039732142092 overture · all sites with thisCar-dependent block group (EPA < 6)
This site: …index 5 epa-walkability · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.88 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $28,365 census-acs · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 69% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +146% fhfa · all sites with thisReinhabited
This site: …outdoor plaza with stores including Gabe's, AMC Theatres, Robert Miller & Son Furniture, Momentum Clothing & Accessories, Classy Nails, CosmoProf, and T-Mobile extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Reinhabitedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed |
| What is there now | outdoor plaza with stores including Gabe's, AMC Theatres, Robert Miller & Son Furniture, Momentum Clothing & Accessories, Classy Nails, CosmoProf, and T-Mobileextracted, unreviewed |
| Retrofit year | 2014extracted, unreviewed |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Kokomo Mall” and “Kokomo” (12 hits, first 12 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2006-04-17 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2006 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | JP Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2006-LDP6 | 3 | 2006-04-17 to 2006-05-04 | 8-K 2, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 5 | 2002-05-17 to 2003-05-08 | 8-K 5 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 9: CERPROBE CORP; ERIKS CHEVROLET; FCA US LLC; FCA US LLC KOKOMO TRANSMISSION PLANT; FORESITE INCORPORATEDEPA FRS |
| Census tract 18067001200 | 3,164 people, 1,963 per sq mi; median household income $28,365; median gross rent $801; 69% renters; 25.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 5 of 20; 49 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.39; 18,508 jobs within 45 min by car; 12% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 3 of 6 daily needs: 0 grocers, 0 schools, 6 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 1 civic, 9 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 29 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Howard County (IN), 2024 | 0 units in 5+ unit buildings, 12 in 2–4, 182 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.88; socioeconomic 0.96; housing and transport 0.63; 57% below 150% of poverty; 14% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Kokomo Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, meta); building footprint 19,933 m², 5.748378753662109 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | no website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 15,479 since 2015; 1,156 in the last 12 months (-2% vs the prior 12); peak 2018-12 with 374Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -8% (3,432 → 3,164); median income +39% ($20,442 → $28,365); renters 60% → 69%; median home value +25% ($51,500 → $64,600)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 74.4); expected annual loss $1.5M; high: tornado, hail, strong wind, winter weather, cold wave; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 330 establishments (+0%); 4,642 jobs (-5%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $190,881 (+4% 1 yr, +38% 5 yr); typical rent $1,094/mo (+7% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 409 (2000 = 100); +29.0% 1 yr, +102% 5 yr, +146% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 23,696 vehicles a day on SR 931 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 616 trucks; 39 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1963 as Kokomo Mall, an enclosed shopping center. In 2014 the property was converted to an outdoor plaza, rebranded as Kokomo Town Center, and continues to operate with retail tenants such as Gabe's, AMC Theatres, and others.
Why. The record does not specify the reasons for the conversion or any anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition factors.
Where it stands. The site is currently operating as an outdoor plaza, though the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- The site exemplifies a reinhabit strategy, converting an enclosed mall to an outdoor plaza completed in 2014.
- The retrofit is already built, indicating successful implementation of adaptive reuse.
- Open questions include the long-term viability of the current tenant mix and future market demand.
For a developer
- Site size and acreage are not specified in the record.
- Ownership/control entity and entitlement stage are not provided.
- No context-layer data (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) or tract-level market signals are included.
What we do not know yet
- Owner/controlling entity is unknown.
- Detailed site dimensions and parcel layout are not provided.
- Financial performance, lease terms, and tenant sales data are absent.
- Anchor tenant history and competitive landscape are not described.
- Context-layer information such as flood zone, transit proximity, and environmental constraints is missing.
- The record is marked as draft (verified: draft) and some fields are model‑extracted without review.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Colonial Plaza, Orlando, FL · Malls · opened 1956; same strategy: reinhabit
- Dedham Mall, Dedham, MA · Malls · opened 1965; same strategy: reinhabit
- Escondido Village Mall, Escondido, CA · Malls · opened 1964; same strategy: reinhabit
- Fashion Center, Paramus, NJ · Malls · opened 1967; same strategy: reinhabit
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Kokomo Town Center (Former Kokomo Mall) | The Kokomo Mall … flickr.com
- Kokomo Mall 8 in Kokomo, IN - Cinema Treasures cinematreasures.org
- Flickriver: Photoset 'Former Kokomo Mall' by gameking3 flickriver.com
- JCPenney at Kokomo Mall, Kokomo, IN, circa 1964. From their annual ... reddit.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1963extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| County | Howard County |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Kokomo Town Center, formerly Kokomo Mall, is an outdoor shopping mall in Kokomo, Indiana. Opened in 1963, the property was converted from an enclosed mall to an outdoor plaza in 2014. The plaza's stores are Gabe's, AMC Theatres, Robert Miller & Son Furniture, Momentum Clothing & Accessories, Classy Nails, CosmoProf, and T-Mobile.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1963 Opened as Kokomo Mall
- 2014 Converted from enclosed mall to outdoor plaza
Sources
- Wikipedia: Kokomo Mall · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year opened
6 quoted sentences
Opened in 1963
The plaza's stores are Gabe's, AMC Theatres, Robert Miller & Son Furniture, Momentum Clothing & Accessories, Classy Nails, CosmoProf, and T-Mobile.
Kokomo Town Center, formerly Kokomo Mall, is an outdoor shopping mall in Kokomo, Indiana.
the property was converted from an enclosed mall to an outdoor plaza in 2014
More in Indiana
Lifeline Data CenterIndianapolis, IN · 2013Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: solar data centerWoodmar MallHammond, IN · 2020Redeveloped · Redevelopment: sports and recreationCentennial VillageMunster, INPartial Redeveloped · mixed-use transit-oriented development that will feature both retail…Century MallMerrillville, IN · 2007Demolished
Circle Centre MallIndianapolis, IN · 2025Redeveloped · Reinhabited · redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards