Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Michigan

Adrian Mall

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedReinhabitedClosedAdrian, MI

Opened 1970. Closed 2023. Redeveloped · Reinhabited.

Status nowClosedextracted, unreviewed
documented
As of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair.

en.wikipedia.org

What it becamehousing, industrial, church, mixed, retail, civicextracted, unreviewed reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability10.7 of 20 · 15-minute 6 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNo · Opportunity ZoneOpenStreetMap, HUD
Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Adrian Mall
Adrian Mall. Photo: Dwight Burdette, CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile22 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Elder-BeermanThis site: Elder-Beerman wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Sold since 2020This site: 2026 Rocket Investment Group research-deals · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …https://www.adrianmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 392 units in 6 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.86 cdc-svi · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $42,823 census-acs · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 26091061600 hud-oz · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +83% census-acs · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: As of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair. extraction · all sites with this
ReinhabitedThis site: As of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair. extraction · all sites with this
New use
Church and worshipThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Civic and governmentThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
HousingThis site: …later plans to turn the mall into a mixed-use facility with multifamily housing/condominiums, other business tenants, and a self st extraction · all sites with this
Logistics and industrialThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Mixed useThis site: fallen into disrepair. later plans to turn the mall into a mixed-use facility with multifamily housing/condominiums, other busin extraction · all sites with this
Retail (continued)This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Self-storageThis site: …ifamily housing/condominiums, other business tenants, and a self storage facility in the former JCPenney's. extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedextracted, unreviewed
documented
As of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair.

en.wikipedia.org

StrategyRedeveloped · Reinhabitedextracted, unreviewed
documented
On January 13, 2023, Pastor CJ Clymer had the first phase of their redevelopment plan approved by the Adrian Planning Commission, which included turning the former Elder-Beerman space into a worship space for NewLife Church.

en.wikipedia.org

New useshousing, industrial, church, mixed, retail, civicextracted, unreviewed reported
What is there nowAs of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair.extracted, unreviewed
documented
As of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair.

en.wikipedia.org

RedeveloperRocket Investment Groupextracted, unreviewed reported

Planning

Entitlement year2023extracted, unreviewed reported
Planning noteslater plans to turn the mall into a mixed-use facility with multifamily housing/condominiums, other business tenants, and a self storage facility in the former JCPenney's.extracted, unreviewed reported

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
2026Sold—Rocket Investment GroupWikipedia
2019Sold—Kohan Retail Investment GroupWikipedia
2014Sold—Tabani GroupWikipedia

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Adrian Mall” and “Adrian” (15 hits, first 15 sampled, 5 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL)12008-05-01 to 2008-05-018-K 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m15: ADRIAN MALL; ADVANCE AUTO PARTS; APEX DRUG STORES INC; CALIBER HOLDINGS LLC; CLIFT INCEPA FRS
Census tract 260910616003,887 people, 2,313 per sq mi; median household income $42,823; median gross rent $1,056; 46% renters; 8.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 10.7 of 20; 109 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.77; 13,207 jobs within 45 min by car; 14% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 1 schools, 9 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 1 civic, 22 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 43 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 26091061600 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, Lenawee County (MI), 20248 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 160 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.86; socioeconomic 0.89; housing and transport 0.76; 34% below 150% of poverty; 7% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Adrian Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from BrightQuery, Overture); building footprint 31,842 m², 4.163549423217773 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.adrianmall.com (alive); archived 2000–2025 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views28,446 since 2015; 2,636 in the last 12 months (-4% vs the prior 12); peak 2022-04 with 584Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -12% (4,398 → 3,887); median income +83% ($23,362 → $42,823); renters 51% → 46%; median home value +36% ($35,700 → $48,700)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 60.0); expected annual loss $1.4M; high: tornado, strong wind, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km6 LIHTC properties, 392 units: Maple Village (200 units); Four Seasons Apts (Adrian) (96 units); Stratford Place (Adrian) (60 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)3,673 jobs in 265 establishments; average annual pay $33,447; employment location quotient 1.44; employment +1.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20212,558 jobs; 738 in retail trade, 291 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 26091061600)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2021
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 34th income percentile as adults; 3.9% incarcerated at the 2010 count (788 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 13% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 25.9%; median family income $47,883; 569 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsMadison School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Michener Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation797 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-202563 county-logged events: 50 thunderstorm wind, 11 hail, 1 flood, 1 tornado; $321,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 49221, 2026-09median list price $262,450 (+0.0% on the year); 88 active listings; median 45 days on market; 19% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023283 establishments (-6%); 3,840 jobs (-1%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $242,871 (+6% 1 yr, +25% 5 yr); typical rent $1,007/mo, 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2024174 (2000 = 100), +75% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)20,233 vehicles a day on US 223 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 2,104 trucks; 22 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Adrian Mall opened in 1970 with JCPenney and Sears as anchors, added Elder-Beerman in 1985, and remained largely unchanged until anchor stores began closing in the 2010s. After successive ownership changes (Tabani Group 2014‑2019, Kohan Retail Investment Group 2019‑2026), the mall closed permanently in 2023 and fell into disrepair. A redevelopment plan approved in 2023 envisions mixed‑use housing, retail, civic and self‑storage, with Rocket Investment Group set to acquire the site in 2026.

Why. The record shows anchor losses (JCPenney, Sears, Elder-Beerman) as the primary driver of decline; no explicit mention of competition, debt, or demolition.

Where it stands. As of the record, the mall is closed and in disrepair, with Rocket Investment Group slated to acquire it in 2026 following a 2023 entitlement for mixed‑use redevelopment.

For a planner

  • Precedent: 2023 redevelopment plan approved for mixed‑use housing/condos, retail, civic and self‑storage.
  • Policy tools used: entitlement granted in 2023 and planning commission approval.
  • Open questions: timing and financing of Rocket Investment Group’s 2026 acquisition, and any required environmental or infrastructure reviews.

For a developer

  • Site size: not specified in the record.
  • Control: currently under Kohan Retail Investment Group (to 2026); Rocket Investment Group scheduled to acquire in 2026 per deal record.
  • Entitlement stage: entitlement year 2023 for mixed‑use redevelopment.
  • Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment) and market signals from tract data: not stated in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact site acreage or building footprint is missing.
  • Floodplain, transit access, and environmental conditions are not provided.
  • Local market/tract data (demographics, income, retail demand) are absent.
  • The 2026 acquisition by Rocket Investment Group is pending; actual transfer may be delayed.
  • Fields such as opp_score and verified status are model‑extracted and marked as draft, indicating potential unreviewed data.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Lakeside Mall, Sterling Heights, MI · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2024; same strategy: redevelop
  • Northlake Mall, Tucker, GA · Malls · opened 1971; closed 2026; same strategy: reinhabit
  • CityPlace Burlington, Burlington, VT · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop
  • Concord Mall, Elkhart, IN · Malls · opened 1972; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
  • housing in the record

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1970Wikidata
Closed2023extracted, unreviewed
documented
As of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair.

en.wikipedia.org

AnchorsF. W. Woolworth Company, JCPenney, Sears, Elder-Beerman, Hobby Lobby, Dunham's Sports
CountyLenawee County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Adrian Mall was an enclosed shopping center serving Adrian, Michigan, United States. It opened in 1970 with JCPenney and Sears as its anchor stores; an expansion in 1985 added Elder-Beerman as a third. The mall remained largely unchanged until the 21st century, at which point many of the stores began closing. A portion of the mall was removed for Dunham's Sports, while JCPenney, Sears, and Elder-Beerman all closed. The former Sears location is split between Ollie's Bargain Outlet and Hobby Lobby. The mall is owned and managed by Kohan Retail Investment Group.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1970 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1970 Mall opened
  3. 1971 JCPenney opened as third anchor
  4. 1985 $1.5 million renovation added Elder-Beerman
  5. 2014 Tabani Group purchased mall
  6. 2015 JCPenney announced closure
  7. 2016 Dunham's Sports grand opening
  8. 2018 Elder-Beerman closed
  9. 2019 Kohan Retail Investment Group bought mall
  10. 2023 Redevelopment plan approved by Adrian Planning Commission
  11. 2026 Mall renamed Howard Center acquired by Rocket Investment Group

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Adrian Mall · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed
    14 quoted sentences
    As of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair.
    As of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair.
    As of Oct 3, 2023, the mall has permanently closed and has fallen into disrepair.
    On January 13, 2023, Pastor CJ Clymer had the first phase of their redevelopment plan approved by the Adrian Planning Commission, which included turning the former Elder-Beerman space into a worship space for NewLife Church.

More in Michigan