Malls · North Carolina
Salisbury Mall (Salisbury)
Salisbury Mall opened 1986, closed, now Rowan County’s Rowan Community Center; status unclear, future potential unknown for planners and developers · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Belk
This site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/161595077193385 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.centreatsalisbury.com overture / http check · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 360 units in 6 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; tornado, inland flooding, ice storm, cold wave, lightning fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.85 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +112% fhfa · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikipedia reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Salisbury Mall” and “Salisbury” (11 hits, first 11 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2007-11-27 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2007 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | Credit Suisse Commercial Mortgage Trust Series 2007-C5 | 2 | 2007-11-27 to 2007-11-27 | 8-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | Rouse Properties, Inc. | 6 | 2014-02-14 to 2016-03-08 | 10-K 4, 8-K/A 1, 8-K 1 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 5: ARMY RESERVE XVIII AIRBORNE CORPS; CVS PHARMACY #7539; EXXON TERMINAL #4326; NCDSCA DC800006( HIGHLANDER CENTER LAUNDRY ); WEST END PLAZA - AG CENTER RENOVATIONSEPA FRS |
| Census tract 37159051303 | 6,022 people, 1,121 per sq mi; median household income $50,025; median gross rent $1,107; 48% renters; 6.8% vacant units; 1.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 8.5 of 20; 18 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.78; 19,090 jobs within 45 min by car; 23% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 3 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 2 civic, 7 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 46 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Rowan County (NC), 2024 | 5 units in 5+ unit buildings, 2 in 2–4, 585 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.85; socioeconomic 0.73; housing and transport 0.86; 28% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Rowan Mall (6.5 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Salisbury Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.77, from Foursquare, Overture); building footprint 3,129 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.centreatsalisbury.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 245 since 2015; 245 in the last 12 months; peak 2026-09 with 50Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +19% (5,073 → 6,022); median income +30% ($38,484 → $50,025); renters 43% → 48%; median home value +61% ($124,900 → $201,000)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 85.8); expected annual loss $2.2M; high: tornado, inland flooding, ice storm, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 6 LIHTC properties, 360 units: Laurel Pointe (100 units); Britton Village (80 units); Westridge Place (60 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 6,581 jobs in 418 establishments; average annual pay $47,283; employment location quotient 1.30; employment +3.9% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,505 jobs; 273 in retail trade, 173 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 37159051303)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 35th income percentile as adults; 3.8% incarcerated at the 2010 count (425 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 24% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 20.7%; median family income $44,859; 493 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Rowan-Salisbury Schools (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Isenberg ElementaryNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 750 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 129 county-logged events: 100 thunderstorm wind, 15 hail, 7 flash flood, 4 flood; $1,497,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 28147, 2026-09 | median list price $364,950 (+5.5% on the year); 74 active listings; median 88 days on market; 24% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 431 establishments (+7%); 5,116 jobs (+17%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $275,856 (+0% 1 yr, +22% 5 yr); typical rent $1,434/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 429 (2000 = 100); -2.7% 1 yr, +60% 5 yr, +112% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 21,695 vehicles a day on US-70 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,057 trucks; 34 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Salisbury Mall opened in 1986 as a regional shopping center with approximately 330,000 square feet and up to 50 stores. It later closed and was repurposed as the Rowan Community Center, which is owned by Rowan County, North Carolina. The record does not specify the closure date or subsequent uses beyond the community center.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site is currently operated as the Rowan Community Center and is owned by Rowan County, North Carolina.
For a planner
- Former mall converted to a county-owned community center, showing an adaptive reuse precedent.
- Rowan County’s 6.4% population growth (2018‑2023) suggests increasing demand for public services.
- No zoning or land‑use details are provided, leaving open questions about permissible future development.
- The record lacks information on any public incentives, environmental reviews, or infrastructure upgrades used for the conversion.
For a developer
- Site size: 330,000 sq ft on a single parcel (parcel count not specified).
- Controlled entirely by Rowan County; any redevelopment would require county approval or disposition.
- Entitlement stage unknown; no permits, approvals, or development plans are recorded.
- Context layers (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are not provided in the record.
- Market signal: opp_score 10.0 based solely on county growth, with no retail or residential demand data.
What we do not know yet
- Closure date and reason for mall shutdown are not recorded.
- Current condition of the building and any structural or environmental issues are unknown.
- Details on existing leases, tenants, or occupancy of the Rowan Community Center are missing.
- No information on floodplain, wetlands, or hazardous materials is present.
- The record’s verification status is 'draft' and many fields are model‑extracted without review.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Columbia Colonnade, Hemlock, PA · Malls · similar GLA (350,568 sq ft); opened 1988
- Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); also in NC; 33 km away
- Becker Village Mall, Roanoke Rapids, NC · Malls · similar GLA (360,894 sq ft); opened 1980; also in NC
- Blue Mountain Mall, Walla Walla, WA · Malls · similar GLA (337,869 sq ft); opened 1989
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Salisbury Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Salisbury Mall Salisbury, NC December 2012 | Flickr flickr.com
- IT'SUGAR candy store to open up shop at the Salisbury mall - 47abc wmdt.com
- Walk into the centre at Salisbury Mall youtube.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county grew 6.4% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1986Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 330,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 50Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Belk, Big Lots, Goody's Family Clothing |
| Address | SWC of Jake Alexander Blvd. & Statesville Blv |
| County | Rowan |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Rowan Community Center is a former shopping mall in Salisbury, North Carolina. It is owned by Rowan County, North Carolina.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1986 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
- Wikipedia: Salisbury Mall (North Carolina) · 2026-07-06 · CC BY-SA 4.0