Retrofit Atlas

Malls · New York

Orange Plaza

Imported, unreviewedClosedMiddletown, NY

Opened 1971.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size900,000 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability9.3 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile5 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 66,506 on NY 17 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,301/mo zillow · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: NY 17 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +100% fhfa · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Orange Plaza” and “Middletown” (60 hits, first 60 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2006-07-06 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2012 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC22006-07-06 to 2006-07-068-K 2
CMBS trust (weak)J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2012-CIBX22012-06-27 to 2012-06-298-K 2
Public owner (weak)INLAND WESTERN RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC222007-03-01 to 2021-02-1710-K 15, 8-K 6, 10-Q 1
Public owner (weak)Brixmor Property Group Inc. (BRX)142014-03-12 to 2026-02-0910-K 14
Public owner (weak)Brixmor Operating Partnership LP132015-02-19 to 2026-02-0910-K 13
Public owner (weak)KITE REALTY GROUP TRUST (KRG)12021-11-12 to 2021-11-128-K 1
Public owner (weak)Kite Realty Group, L.P.12021-11-12 to 2021-11-128-K 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km120, 120E, 120W, 121EOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m7: AUTOZONE #5106; FIRESTONE STORES; HOME DEPOT USA INC HD1242; MIDDLETOWN ONE RESOURCES; MIDDLETOWN PARK REHABILITATION & HEALTH CARE CENTEREPA FRS
Census tract 360710112004,691 people, 1,259 per sq mi; median household income $98,093; median gross rent $1,976; 31% renters; 0.0% vacant units; 3.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 9.3 of 20; 85 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.6; 20,595 jobs within 45 min by car; 3% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Orange County (NY), 20241,684 units in 5+ unit buildings, 43 in 2–4, 445 single-family; 2023: 1,020 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.72; socioeconomic 0.49; housing and transport 0.68; 14% below 150% of poverty; 11% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Orange Plaza Discount Store Inc (restaurant, confidence 1.00, from BrightQuery, Overture); building footprint 30,780 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Tract change 2013–2023population +0% (4,673 → 4,691); median income +20% ($81,919 → $98,093); renters 35% → 32%; median home value +36% ($230,300 → $312,400)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 52.0); expected annual loss $1.4M; high: winter weather; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 84 units: Senior Horizons At Silver Lake (84 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20231,613 establishments (+7%); 22,248 jobs (-4%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $467,501 (+4% 1 yr, +36% 5 yr); typical rent $2,301/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2024344 (2000 = 100), +75% 5 yr, +100% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)66,506 vehicles a day on NY 17 (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 8,121 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Orange Plaza opened in 1971 as a 900,000‑square‑foot mall with 42 stores at its peak. The record shows it is now closed, but does not specify when closure occurred or any subsequent use.

Why. The record does not state why the mall closed; no anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition factors are documented.

Where it stands. The site is currently closed, and the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No documented precedents or policy tools for this site in the record.
  • Open questions include the exact closure date, reasons for shutdown, and potential reuse pathways.
  • The record’s verified draft status indicates data may be incomplete.

For a developer

  • Site size: 900,000 sq ft GLA (large footprint).
  • Ownership and control are not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage and any zoning approvals are unknown.
  • Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not provided.
  • Market signals from opp_reasons note county population grew 6.8% (2018‑23) and median rent $1,602.

What we do not know yet

  • Closure date and cause are not recorded.
  • Ownership, current controlling party, and any deed restrictions are unknown.
  • No information on environmental conditions, flood risk, or transit access.
  • Entitlement status and any existing zoning or land‑use approvals are missing.
  • The record is marked “verified: draft,” indicating the data may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Nanuet Mall, Nanuet, NY · Malls · similar GLA (916,779 sq ft); opened 1969; also in NY
  • Crossroads Mall, Oklahoma City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (1,175,047 sq ft); opened 1974
  • Lafayette Square Mall, Indianapolis, IN · Malls · similar GLA (1,200,000 sq ft); opened 1968
  • South Hills Mall, Poughkeepsie, NY · Malls · similar GLA (675,000 sq ft); opened 1974; also in NY

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 900,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
  • county grew 6.8% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,602

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1971Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area900,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak42Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsBurlington Coat Factory, Home Depot, Wal-Mart, Kohl's
AddressRts. 211 & 17 & Dunning Rd.
CountyOrange
Census division2 · Mid-Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1971 Opened

Sources

More in New York