Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Alabama

Mobile Festival Centre

Imported, unreviewedClosedMobile, AL

Opened in 1986 as a 55‑store mall covering 488,138 sq ft, Mobile Festival Centre now stands closed with no further details recorded. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Mobile Festival Centre
Exterior view of a strip center with MovieStop and GameStop storefronts. · verified by a vision model. Photo: Michael Rivera, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/437385433005553 overture · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://www.kimcorealty.com/0949B overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 51,288 on Co Rd 56 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
High hurricane riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 100% census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.4% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Mobile Festival Centre” and “Mobile” (9 hits, first 9 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2013-06-05 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2013 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)WFRBS Commercial Mortgage Trust 2013-C1442013-06-05 to 2013-10-158-K/A 2, 8-K 2
CMBS trust (weak)Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2013-LC1222013-07-30 to 2013-10-158-K/A 1, 8-K 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m14: ASPEN DENTAL; CHEVRON PRODUCTS 45390; EXTRA SPACE STORAGE MOBILE; HOME DEPOT STORE #865; KIMCO REALTY CORPEPA FRS
Census tract 010970032061,707 people, 3,483 per sq mi; median household income $72,672; median gross rent $1,024; 100% renters; 5.8% vacant units; 1.7% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Mobile County (AL), 2024264 units in 5+ unit buildings, 74 in 2–4, 1,377 single-family; 2023: 56 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.43; socioeconomic 0.72; housing and transport 0.39; 33% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Springdale Mall (1.4 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Festival Centre (shopping_mall, confidence 0.95, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 14,218 m², 6.213477611541748 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.kimcorealty.com (down or redirecting, status 403); archived 1998–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 67.2); expected annual loss $1.8M; high: hurricane; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)19,283 jobs in 1,594 establishments; average annual pay $38,838; employment location quotient 1.11; employment -1.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20222,910 jobs; 327 in retail trade, 803 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 01097003206)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 37th income percentile as adults; 3.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (481 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 23.5%; median family income $40,104; 384 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsMobile County School District (PK-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: Acceleration Day and Evening Academy; Acceleration Preparatory Academy; WP Davidson High SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation42 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025293 county-logged events: 127 thunderstorm wind, 84 flash flood, 39 tornado, 26 hail; $916,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 36608, 2026-09median list price $280,000 (+1.8% on the year); 142 active listings; median 65 days on market; 18% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20231,468 establishments (+0%); 20,062 jobs (+2%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $195,684 (+0% 1 yr, +18% 5 yr); typical rent $1,280/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)51,288 vehicles a day on Co Rd 56 (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 2,052 trucks; 24 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Opened in 1986 as a mall with 55 stores and 488,138 sq ft of gross leasable area. The site operated as a retail center until it closed, with no further events recorded in the source.

Why. The record does not specify why the mall closed; no anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition details are provided.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify any current owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No documented redevelopment precedents or policy interventions are noted in the record.
  • Open questions include the cause of closure, current ownership, and any zoning or land‑use plans.
  • Further sources would be needed to assess applicable planning tools or incentives.

For a developer

  • Site size: 488,138 sq ft GLA (approx 11.2 acres).
  • Control and entitlement stage are unknown per the record.
  • No context‑layer data (flood, transit, environmental constraints) are provided.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data are not recorded.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unidentified.
  • Any existing zoning, entitlements, or pending development proposals are unknown.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) are not documented.
  • Transit access and nearby market demographics are missing.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Mobile Festival Centre on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1986Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area488,138 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak55Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsCircuit City, Academy Sports & Outdoors, Turner Furniture-Mobile, Ross Dress For Less
AddressAirport Blvd. & Montlimar
CountyMobile
Census division6 · East South Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1986 Opened

Sources

More in Alabama