Malls · Alabama
Brookwood Village
Brookwood Village opened 1973 as a 750,754‑sq‑ft mall near Birmingham; its status, ownership, and future use are unknown per record. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile14 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Website dead or redirecting
This site: …http://www.shopbrookwoodvillage.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 87,711 on Gateway Dr fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -11% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; tornado, inland flooding, cold wave, lightning fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $205,909 census-acs · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.05 cdc-svi · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +78% census-acs · all sites with thisTract population up 25%+ since 2013
This site: +73% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 13.5 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 8: 22 NORTH MAIN LINE LOOP REPLACEMENT (DIGS 1-5); AUBURN GRANTVILLE LINES AND RELATED FACILITIES; BROOKWOOD CLEANERS INC; CVS PHARMACY #17642; FRESH MARKET BROOKWOOD VILLAGEEPA FRS |
| Census tract 01073012905 | 7,383 people, 2,498 per sq mi; median household income $205,909; median gross rent $1,159; 8% renters; 5.6% vacant units; 0.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 13.5 of 20; 51 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 790 m; land-use mix 0.72; 92,090 jobs within 45 min by car, 2,255 by transit; 26% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 0 schools, 1 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 1 civic, 3 food and drink; 4 cycleway segments, 23 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Jefferson County (AL), 2024 | 556 units in 5+ unit buildings, 25 in 2–4, 1,536 single-family; 2023: 324 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.05; socioeconomic 0.02; housing and transport 0.16; 3% below 150% of poverty; 0% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 3 within 10 km, 5 within 25 km: Larkway Gardens (6.3 km); Eastwood Mall (8.1 km); Century Plaza (8.2 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Brookwood Village (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Microsoft, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 37,620 m², 9.760786056518555 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shopbrookwoodvillage.com (down or redirecting, status 403); archived 2010–2026 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 30,577 since 2015; 4,087 in the last 12 months (+6% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-03 with 696Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +73% (4,267 → 7,383); median income +78% ($115,750 → $205,909); renters 23% → 8%; median home value +72% ($419,500 → $720,200)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 91.8); expected annual loss $2.6M; high: tornado, inland flooding, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 36,769 jobs in 2,710 establishments; average annual pay $42,149; employment location quotient 1.01; employment -1.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 8,080 jobs; 607 in retail trade, 427 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 01073012905)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 54th income percentile as adults; -0.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (87 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 8% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 2.0%; median family income $171,250; 36 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Homewood City School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Mountain Brook Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 667 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 310 county-logged events: 191 thunderstorm wind, 50 flash flood, 46 hail, 15 tornado; $5,107,500 property damage reported; 6 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 35209, 2026-09 | median list price $368,700 (-7.8% on the year); 64 active listings; median 59 days on market; 20% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,489 establishments (-11%); 37,386 jobs (-4%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $214,208 (+2% 1 yr, +14% 5 yr); typical rent $1,339/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 527 (2000 = 100); +10.5% 1 yr, +42% 5 yr, +69% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 87,711 vehicles a day on Gateway Dr (principal arterial, 8 lanes); 7,017 trucks; 33 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Brookwood Village opened in 1973 as a 750,754‑square‑foot shopping mall near Birmingham, serving the Mountain Brook and Homewood areas. The record provides no further events after opening, and its current status is listed as unknown.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site's status is unknown and no owner or controlling entity is identified in the record.
For a planner
- No closure or reuse events are documented, leaving the site's reuse potential unclear.
- Zoning and land‑use designations for the parcel are not provided in the record.
- Open questions include what incentives or planning tools might be needed to facilitate redevelopment.
For a developer
- Site size is approximately 750,754 sq ft according to the narrative excerpt.
- Ownership and control are not specified in the record.
- Entitlement stage, floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints are not documented.
- Market‑level data such as tract demographics or sales performance are absent.
What we do not know yet
- Closure date and reason for any decline are missing.
- Current ownership, lease structure, and tenant mix are unknown.
- Zoning, land‑use approvals, and any existing entitlements are not recorded.
- Environmental factors (flood zones, soil conditions) and transit proximity are not provided.
- Market context—including surrounding income, retail demand, and competition—is absent.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Century Plaza, Birmingham, AL · Malls · opened 1975; also in AL; 8 km away
- The Mall at Westlake, Bessemer, AL · Malls · opened 1969; also in AL; 20 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Sky City: Retail History: Brookwood Village Mall: Homewood, AL skycity2.blogspot.com
- Major renovation for Brookwood Village approved by planning commission abc3340.com
- Mallmanac.com: Brookwood Village, H… mallmanac.com
- 700 Brookwood Village, Homewood, AL 35209 - Creeksi… loopnet.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
History and original facts
| Opened | 1973Wikidata |
|---|---|
| County | Jefferson County |
| Census division | 6 · East South Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Brookwood Village was a 750,754-square-foot (69,747 m2) shopping mall located near Birmingham in the cities of Mountain Brook and Homewood, Alabama.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1973 Opened (Wikidata)
Sources
- Wikipedia: Brookwood Village · 2026-05-18 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in Alabama
Montgomery MallMontgomery, AL · 2012Partial Regreened · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: education, 2017 Partial regreening: sports,…
Century PlazaBirmingham, AL · 2020Redeveloped · Amazon logistics facility
Eastwood MallBirmingham, ALDemolishedHeart of Huntsville MallHuntsville, AL · 2007Redeveloped · As of August 2021, only the SpringHill Suites is finished and open…Jessop's RiversideSheffield, ALRedeveloped · office parkLarkway GardensBirmingham, ALRedevelopment, proposed