Retrofit Atlas

Malls · California

ARCO Plaza

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedLos Angeles, CA

ARCO Plaza opened 1972 as a twin‑tower complex, later renamed City National Plaza; current status and ownership unknown in downtown. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile17 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/162882367892304 overture · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://www.cityseekr.com/los-angeles/tourist-attractions-sightseeing/poi-arco-pl overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 4,664 units in 33 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 14 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 36,718 on a counted road fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 131 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 9,430 units, Los Angeles County census-bps · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,806/mo zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 12 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High earthquake riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)This site: Very High; inland flooding, earthquake fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.82 cdc-svi · all sites with this
National Register place within 500 mThis site: Los Angeles Central Library; Engine Company No. 28 nps-nrhp · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 89% census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -2.5% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikipedia reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “ARCO Plaza” and “Los Angeles” (21 hits, first 21 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)THOMAS PROPERTIES GROUP INC152004-10-18 to 2010-03-2210-K 8, 10-Q 5, 8-K 2
Public owner (weak)CB RICHARD ELLIS GROUP INC (CBRE)12005-03-23 to 2005-03-238-K 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m175: 1201 WEST 5TH STREET; 437 HILL HIGHRISE LLC; 475 6TH LLC.; 523 WEST 6TH STREET PROPERTY OWNER LLC; 550 SOUTH HOPE OWNER LLC; DBA LBA REALTYEPA FRS
Census tract 060372077124,927 people, 31,332 per sq mi; median household income $87,687; median gross rent $2,745; 89% renters; 15.2% vacant units; 10.4% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 12 grocers, 8 schools, 42 parks or playgrounds, 8 health, 7 civic, 223 food and drink; 131 cycleway segments, 733 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
National Register places within 500 m10: Los Angeles Central Library; Engine Company No. 28; San Fernando Building, The; Oviatt, James, BuildingNPS
Housing permits, Los Angeles County (CA), 20249,430 units in 5+ unit buildings, 1,273 in 2–4, 9,106 single-family; 2023: 13,214 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.82; socioeconomic 0.76; housing and transport 0.90; 28% below 150% of poverty; 35% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby14 within 10 km, 38 within 25 km: Macy's Plaza (0.3 km); Beverly Plaza Shopping Center (1.3 km); Mayer Building (1.3 km); Atlas House (2.4 km); Westmore (3.2 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace ARCO Plaza (monument, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 9,104 m², 12.591434478759766 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.cityseekr.com (down or redirecting, status 404) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views166,771 since 2015; 12,091 in the last 12 months (-20% vs the prior 12); peak 2015-07 with 1,732Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)very high overall (score 99.8); expected annual loss $12.5M; high: inland flooding, earthquake; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km33 LIHTC properties, 4,664 units: Angelus Plaza (761 units); The Alexandria Hotel (463 units); Angelus Plaza North (332 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)391,331 jobs in 28,960 establishments; average annual pay $52,235; employment location quotient 0.87; employment -1.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 202230,504 jobs; 713 in retail trade, 2,518 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 06037207712)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 34th income percentile as adults; 0.9% incarcerated at the 2010 count (104 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 22.7%; median family income $132,083; 33 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsLos Angeles Unified School District (KG-12); 25 public schools within 1 mile: Los Angeles Unified School District ROCP; Los Angeles Academy of Arts and Enterprise; Alliance Ted K. Tajima High; Ednovate - Brio College PrepNCES EDGE
Elevation287 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025157 county-logged events: 86 flash flood, 35 thunderstorm wind, 21 debris flow, 6 hail; $8,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 202328,998 establishments (+2%); 419,890 jobs (+8%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $871,674 (+0% 1 yr, +13% 5 yr); typical rent $2,806/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)36,718 vehicles a day (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 2,924 trucks; 30 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

ARCO Plaza opened in 1972 as a twin‑tower skyscraper complex on South Flower Street in western Downtown Los Angeles. It was later renamed City National Plaza, but the record does not describe any subsequent changes or redevelopment. The site’s current status is listed as unknown.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The site’s current status is unknown and no controlling entity is identified in the record.

For a planner

  • No explicit policy tools or precedents are noted in the record.
  • Open questions include current ownership, zoning designation, and actual land use.
  • The record lacks information on any planning approvals or entitlements that may be in place.

For a developer

  • Site size and control are not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage is unknown; no zoning or approval details are provided.
  • Market signals indicate a county population decline of -2.5% (2018‑2023) and median rent of $1,893.
  • Context layers such as flood risk, transit access, or environmental constraints are not detailed.

What we do not know yet

  • Current status, owner, and controlling party are unknown.
  • Physical size, building condition, and vacancy status are not provided.
  • Zoning, land‑use designation, and any entitlements or restrictions are missing.
  • Financial details such as debt, anchor tenant losses, or sale history are absent.
  • The opp_reasons list may be model‑extracted and has not been reviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county shrank -2.5% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,893

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

CountyLos Angeles County
Census division9 · Pacific
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

City National Plaza is a twin tower skyscraper complex on South Flower Street in western Downtown Los Angeles, California, United States. It was originally named ARCO Plaza upon opening in 1972.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Sources

More in California