Malls · California
Ports O' Call Village
Opened 1963. Closed 2020. Redeveloped.
documented
The 'seaside village' encompassed 15 acres of shops, restaurants, and attractions.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile16 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 34 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 9,430 units, Los Angeles County census-bps · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,806/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh coastal flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh earthquake risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; coastal flooding, earthquake fema-nri · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.10 cdc-svi · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Army and Navy YMCA nps-nrhp · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -2.5% census-acs · all sites with thisUnder 20 acres
This site: 15 acres extraction · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …under construction extraction · all sites with thisEntertainment and sports
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisOffice
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedIn 2013, the Los Angeles Board of Harbor Commissioners called for the redevelopment of the 30-acre waterfront site in the Port of Los Angeles that included Ports O' Call Village. |
| New uses | retail, office, entertainmentextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | under constructionextracted, unreviewed documentedIn January 2020, a Port of Los Angeles spokesperson stated that the development would not open to the public for several more years. |
| Redeveloper | Port of Los Angelesextracted, unreviewed reported |
Planning
| Entitlement year | 2016extracted, unreviewed reported |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 116: 1137 S PALOS VERDES STREET; 1256 SAN PEDRO; ABDIAS NASCIMENTO IMO# 9453896; ALASKA TANKER CO - ALASKAN EXPLORER; ALASKA TANKER CO - ALASKAN LEGENDEPA FRS |
| Census tract 06037980031 | 970 people, 179 per sq mi; 57% renters; 0.0% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 8.2 of 20; 134 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.44; 173,954 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 0 schools, 7 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 4 civic, 1 food and drink; 34 cycleway segments, 59 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 1: Army and Navy YMCANPS |
| Housing permits, Los Angeles County (CA), 2024 | 9,430 units in 5+ unit buildings, 1,273 in 2–4, 9,106 single-family; 2023: 13,214 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.10; socioeconomic 0.09; housing and transport 0.08; 0% below 150% of poverty; 0% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 3 within 10 km, 9 within 25 km: Closed shopping mall in Long Beach (8.8 km); Long Beach Plaza (9.0 km); The Courtyard Mall (10.0 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 6,857 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 49,697 since 2015; 4,957 in the last 12 months (+3% vs the prior 12); peak 2019-05 with 969Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -8% (1,049 → 970); median income n/a; renters 100% → 57%; median home value n/aCensus ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 89.7); expected annual loss $3.6M; high: coastal flooding, earthquake; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 10 units: San Pedro New Hope Courtyard (10 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 391,331 jobs in 28,960 establishments; average annual pay $52,235; employment location quotient 0.87; employment -1.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 10,720 jobs; 21 in retail trade, 363 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 06037980031)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 42th income percentile as adults (43 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 90% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 0.0%; 0 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Los Angeles Unified School District (KG-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: Port of Los Angeles High; Fifteenth Street ElementaryNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 12 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 157 county-logged events: 86 flash flood, 35 thunderstorm wind, 21 debris flow, 6 hail; $8,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 90731, 2026-09 | median list price $812,000 (-1.6% on the year); 53 active listings; median 47 days on market; 20% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 28,998 establishments (+2%); 419,890 jobs (+8%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $871,674 (+0% 1 yr, +13% 5 yr); typical rent $2,806/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 15,472 vehicles a day (principal arterial, 2 lanes); 1,252 trucks; 14 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1963 as a 15‑acre outdoor shopping center with 71 stores. It operated until 2020, seeing occupancy decline from 2002, being described as ailing in 2012, and partial demolition in 2018 before closing and rebranding as West Harbor in 2020.
Why. The record shows declining occupancy starting in 2002 and the site being described as ailing in 2012, which prompted redevelopment calls and eventual demolition of portions in 2018. Specific causes such as anchor tenant loss, competition, or debt are not stated in the record.
Where it stands. The site is currently closed but under construction for redevelopment, with control held by the Port of Los Angeles.
For a planner
- Entitlement granted in 2016, enabling a lease for the San Pedro Public Market.
- Strategy calls for redevelopment to retail, office, and entertainment uses.
- Open questions include the timeline for construction completion and any remaining approvals needed.
For a developer
- Site size: 15 acres; controlled by the Port of Los Angeles.
- Entitlement stage: approved in 2016 (entitlement_year).
- Market signals: high opportunity score (10.0), noted as closed/demolished site already in play, county population -2.5% 2018‑23, median rent $1,893.
- Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment) are not detailed in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Exact extent of demolition and remaining structures are not specified.
- Information on anchor tenants, lease terms, or debt obligations is missing.
- Environmental constraints, flood risk, and transit access details are not provided.
- The verification status is draft, indicating some facts may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.
- Timeline for full build‑out and final tenant mix remains unknown.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Wharf Cinema Center Shops, Lahaina, HI · Other · similar size (11.761 acres); closed 2024; same strategy: redevelop
- Hickory Hollow Mall, Nashville, TN · Malls · closed 2019; same strategy: redevelop
- Mid-City Mall, Louisville, KY · Malls · similar size (11.5 acres); opened 1962; same strategy: redevelop
- Six Flags Mall, Arlington, TX · Malls · opened 1970; closed 2016; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Ports O'Call Village (photo) seeing-stars.com
- Ports O' Call Village - Wikipedia en.wikipedia.org
- Ports o call village – Artofit artofit.org
- A Look Back at Ports O' Call Village in San Pedro Before It's Replaced by a New Public Market - LAmag lamag.com
- Ports O‘ Call Village , Ports O’ Call Village Menu – VYNY secvx.picto-plasma.de
- $100-Million Renovation of Ports O' Call Village Revealed | Urbanize LA la.urbanize.city
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
- county shrank -2.5% 2018–23
- median rent $1,893
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1963extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2020extracted, unreviewed |
| Acres | 15.0extracted, unreviewed documentedThe 'seaside village' encompassed 15 acres of shops, restaurants, and attractions. |
| Stores at peak | 71extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Original developer | David Tallichetextracted, unreviewed documentedPorts O' Call Village, branded as an 'elaborately themed seaside entertainment venue,' was conceived and built by David Tallichet in 1963 |
| County | Los Angeles County |
| Census division | 9 · Pacific |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Ports O' Call Village, located along the Port of Los Angeles main channel in San Pedro, was an outdoor shopping center that featured souvenir and gift shops, restaurants, sweetshops, fish markets, and quick-service eateries. The "seaside village" encompassed 15 acres of shops, restaurants, and attractions. A promenade of cobblestone streets connected specialty shops, which featured "an improbable mix of New England, Spanish Colonial, and Asian themes." The complex operated from 1963 until 2020.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1963 Opened
- 1975 Transit terminal opened
- 1976 Attractions expanded
- 2002 Occupancy declined
- 2012 Described as ailing
- 2013 Redevelopment called for
- 2016 Lease approved for San Pedro Public Market
- 2018 Portions demolished
- 2020 Closed
- 2020 Rebranded as West Harbor
Sources
- Wikipedia: Ports O' Call Village · supports: acres, after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed, year opened
17 quoted sentences
Ports O' Call Village, branded as an 'elaborately themed seaside entertainment venue,' was conceived and built by David Tallichet in 1963
The complex operated from 1963 until 2020.
The 'seaside village' encompassed 15 acres of shops, restaurants, and attractions.
Ports O' Call Village, branded as an 'elaborately themed seaside entertainment venue,' was conceived and built by David Tallichet in 1963