Malls · California
The Promenade
The Promenade mall opened 1973, stood vacant a decade, demolition started Jan 2026; owner Westfield Group, future use uncertain yet · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile14 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Attention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)
This site: 22,502 views, +186% wikimedia · all sites with thisHigh attention (20k+ Wikipedia views a year)
This site: 22,502 wikimedia · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 108,313 epa-walkability · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 61,000 on 27 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 26 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 9,430 units, Los Angeles County census-bps · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,806/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh earthquake risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $112,552 census-acs · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 85% census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -2.5% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 14.8 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “The Promenade” and “Los Angeles” (370 hits, first 100 sampled, 9 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2002-02-08 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2002 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | BANC OF AMERICA COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE INC | 2 | 2004-09-14 to 2004-09-22 | 8-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | FIRST UNION COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 2 | 2002-02-08 to 2002-10-21 | 8-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES TRUST 2005-PWR10 | 1 | 2005-12-15 to 2005-12-15 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | WACHOVIA COMMERCIAL MORT PASS THRU CERT SER 2002-C2 | 1 | 2002-11-26 to 2002-11-26 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | JP MORGAN CHASE COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP | 1 | 2005-07-11 to 2005-07-11 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2017-RB1 | 1 | 2017-03-30 to 2017-03-30 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | DDR CORP (SITC, SITC-PA) | 27 | 2008-07-25 to 2025-02-27 | 8-K 26, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | AVALONBAY COMMUNITIES INC (AVB) | 13 | 2002-08-14 to 2010-02-04 | 8-K 6, 10-K 4, 10-K/A 2, 10-Q 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 6 | 2008-04-29 to 2009-05-01 | 8-K 6 |
| Public owner (weak) | Excel Trust, Inc. | 4 | 2012-05-14 to 2014-02-27 | 8-K 3, 10-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | WEINGARTEN REALTY INVESTORS /TX/ | 4 | 2012-08-09 to 2013-02-27 | 8-K 3, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | FOREST CITY ENTERPRISES INC | 2 | 2001-02-06 to 2005-09-08 | 10-Q/A 1, 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | Grubb & Ellis Healthcare REIT, Inc. (HR) | 2 | 2009-07-08 to 2009-07-08 | 8-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | ARCHSTONE SMITH TRUST | 1 | 2006-03-21 to 2006-03-21 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 14 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 26, 27, 27A, 27BOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 43: 22035 W OXNARD ST; 22115 1 / 2 OXNARD ST; 22115 OXNARD ST; 22115 OXNARD STREET; 5995 TOPANGA CANYON BLVDEPA FRS |
| Census tract 06037135113 | 2,980 people, 11,992 per sq mi; median household income $112,552; median gross rent $2,847; 85% renters; 13.7% vacant units; 1.6% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 14.8 of 20; 291 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 727 m; land-use mix 0.67; 185,533 jobs within 45 min by car, 108,313 by transit; 8% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 1 schools, 50 parks or playgrounds, 6 health, 0 civic, 50 food and drink; 26 cycleway segments, 248 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Los Angeles County (CA), 2024 | 9,430 units in 5+ unit buildings, 1,273 in 2–4, 9,106 single-family; 2023: 13,214 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.49; socioeconomic 0.41; housing and transport 0.73; 15% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 11 within 25 km: Westfield Topanga and The Village (1.1 km); Fallbrook Center (2.2 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 7,886 m², 54.2 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 61,944 since 2015; 22,502 in the last 12 months (+186% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-03 with 9,090Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +2% (2,928 → 2,980); median income +49% ($75,536 → $112,552); renters 90% → 85%; median home value +129% ($168,800 → $386,000)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 67.9); expected annual loss $2.1M; high: earthquake; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 391,331 jobs in 28,960 establishments; average annual pay $52,235; employment location quotient 0.87; employment -1.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,218 jobs; 304 in retail trade, 264 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 06037135113)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 50th income percentile as adults; 2.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (138 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 4.8%; median family income $84,696; 56 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Los Angeles Unified School District (KG-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Ivy AcademiaNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 845 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 157 county-logged events: 86 flash flood, 35 thunderstorm wind, 21 debris flow, 6 hail; $8,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 91367, 2026-09 | median list price $1,249,000 (-9.7% on the year); 156 active listings; median 45 days on market; 19% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 28,998 establishments (+2%); 419,890 jobs (+8%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $871,674 (+0% 1 yr, +13% 5 yr); typical rent $2,806/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 61,000 vehicles a day on 27 (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 1,255 trucks; 21 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The Promenade opened as a shopping mall in 1973 in Woodland Hills, Los Angeles. It operated as a mall until the early 2010s, after which it stood vacant and dead for nearly a decade. Demolition of the site began in January 2026.
Why. The record does not state specific causes such as anchor loss, competition, or debt for the mall’s decline.
Where it stands. As of early 2026 the site is undergoing demolition, with Westfield Group listed as the owner.
For a planner
- No specific precedents or policy tools are documented in the record.
- Open question: what land use will replace the mall after demolition.
- Open question: timeline and scope of the ongoing demolition activities.
For a developer
- Owner is Westfield Group; control details are not specified.
- Entitlement stage and site size are not provided in the record.
- Market signals indicate a county population decline of -2.5% 2018‑23 and median rent of $1,893.
What we do not know yet
- Exact demolition completion date is unknown.
- Record is marked draft with only one source, limiting verification.
- Site dimensions, parcel layout, and any ownership changes after Westfield are not recorded.
- Zoning, flood risk, transit access, and environmental constraints are not mentioned.
- Anchor tenant history and financial performance of the mall are absent.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Hawthorne Plaza, Hawthorne, CA · Malls · opened 1977; also in CA; 37 km away
- Glendale Fashion Center, Glendale, CA · Malls · opened 1966; also in CA; 33 km away
- Golden Mall, Burbank, CA · Malls · opened 1967; also in CA; 27 km away
- Macy's Plaza, Los Angeles, CA · Malls · opened 1973; also in CA; 35 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: The Promenade on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and state only, check the city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Gallery | The Promenade Residences | DTLA promenadela.com
- The Promenade in Woodland Hil… reddit.com
- The Promenade Residences - 700-716 W 1st St Los Angeles, CA 9001… apartments.com
- The Promenade faces bleak future as more tenants abandon struggling mall dailynews.com
- Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles losangelespast.com
- The Shops and stores at the promenade of Santa … alamy.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county shrank -2.5% 2018–23
- median rent $1,893
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1973Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Organisations in Wikidata (undated) | Westfield Group |
| County | Los Angeles County |
| Census division | 9 · Pacific |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Promenade was a shopping mall in the Woodland Hills neighborhood of Los Angeles, California. Demolition began in January 2026 after having been a dead shopping mall for nearly a decade.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1973 Opened (Wikidata)
Sources
- Wikipedia: The Promenade (shopping mall) · 2026-08-05 · CC BY-SA 4.0