Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Illinois

Orland Park Place

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedOrland Park, IL

Orland Park Place opened 1981‑82 as an enclosed mall, struggled, reopened outdoors 1999, owned by Pine Tree LLC, status unknown. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Orland Park Place
Exterior view of a shopping center with multiple stores and parking lot under a partly cloudy sky. · verified by a vision model. Photo: Retail Thriller, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile13 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/145436879153551 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://orlandparkcrossing.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 38,973 on La Grange Rd fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -11% census-cbp · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 4,853 units, Cook County census-bps · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,228/mo zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High heat wave riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.7% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 17.7 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikidata reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Orland Park Place” and “Orland Park” (207 hits, first 100 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2011-09-26 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2011 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2011-C522011-09-26 to 2012-07-2710-K/A 1, 8-K 1
Public owner (strong)INLAND REAL ESTATE CORP932005-05-04 to 2016-02-268-K 75, 10-K 14, 8-K/A 2, 10-Q 2
Public owner (strong)INLAND RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC12005-06-21 to 2005-06-218-K 1
Public owner (strong)INLAND WESTERN RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC12005-06-21 to 2005-06-218-K 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 7 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m10: BED BATH & BEYOND 276; BUY BUY BABY 3041; CARQUEST AUTO PARTS 2762; CONSOLIDATED HIGH SD 230; DICKS SPORTING GOODS 454EPA FRS
Census tract 170318241066,564 people, 1,987 per sq mi; median household income $99,211; median gross rent $1,392; 11% renters; 4.9% vacant units; 2.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 17.7 of 20; 178 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 523 m; land-use mix 0.87; 176,534 jobs within 45 min by car, 27,126 by transit; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 1 schools, 7 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 2 civic, 29 food and drink; 5 cycleway segments, 41 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Cook County (IL), 20244,853 units in 5+ unit buildings, 512 in 2–4, 1,142 single-family; 2023: 3,332 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.48; socioeconomic 0.63; housing and transport 0.13; 17% below 150% of poverty; 1% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 8 within 25 kmcomputed
Overture Mapsplace Orland Park Place (public_plaza, confidence 0.56, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 33,125 m², 8.181741714477539 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialorlandparkcrossing.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views8,268 since 2015; 1,759 in the last 12 months (+0% vs the prior 12); peak 2025-01 with 244Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -9% (7,216 → 6,564); median income +25% ($79,288 → $99,211); renters 14% → 11%; median home value +24% ($277,500 → $343,800)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 81.5); expected annual loss $4.0M; high: tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)213,302 jobs in 12,604 establishments; average annual pay $43,743; employment location quotient 0.83; employment -0.6% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20224,579 jobs; 1,726 in retail trade, 779 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 17031824106)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 53th income percentile as adults; 0.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (285 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 25% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 4.6%; median family income $103,197; 185 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsConsolidated High School District 230 (09-12); 7 public schools within 1 mile: Transition; Transitional Employment Program; Liberty Elem School; Orland Jr High SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation692 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-20251,091 county-logged events: 620 thunderstorm wind, 164 hail, 133 flood, 82 flash flood; $1,049,471,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 60462, 2026-09median list price $383,675 (-2.5% on the year); 81 active listings; median 26 days on market; 18% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 202313,577 establishments (-11%); 214,575 jobs (-4%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $340,258 (+6% 1 yr, +23% 5 yr); typical rent $2,228/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025401 (2000 = 100); -0.8% 1 yr, +36% 5 yr, +48% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)38,973 vehicles a day on La Grange Rd (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,150 trucks; 15 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Orland Park Place opened as an enclosed shopping mall in 1981‑82, but was largely unsuccessful. It was redeveloped into a largely outdoor mall in 1999. The property is currently owned and managed by Pine Tree LLC, with its status listed as unknown.

Why. The record does not specify the causes of the mall’s initial struggles or later redevelopment.

Where it stands. The site’s current status is unknown, and it is owned and managed by Pine Tree LLC.

For a planner

  • Redevelopment from enclosed to outdoor format serves as a precedent for adaptive reuse.
  • No policy tools or incentives are mentioned in the record.
  • Open questions include the present status, future use, zoning, and any potential public incentives.

For a developer

  • Controlled by Pine Tree LLC.
  • Site size is not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage is unknown.
  • No context layer data (flood, transit, environment) or market signals are provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Site size is missing.
  • Detailed reasons for the mall’s initial failure are not stated.
  • Current operational status is unknown.
  • No information on anchor tenants, competition, or debt is provided.
  • No context layer data (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) is included.
  • Verified draft status indicates the data may be unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Orland Park Place on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

History and original facts

CountyCook County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Orland Park Place, formerly Orland Court, is a shopping center in Orland Park, Illinois, a suburb of Chicago, Illinois, United States. Built in 1981 and 1982, as an enclosed shopping mall, it was largely unsuccessful on this front, and was redeveloped into a largely outdoor mall in 1999. The mall is owned and managed by Pine Tree LLC.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Sources

More in Illinois