Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Nebraska

Monument Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedScottsbluff, NE

Opened 1986.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size303,385 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability8.2 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile10 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Herberger'sThis site: Herberger's wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/720669377944314 overture · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://www.monumentmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -21% census-cbp · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.79 cdc-svi · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: US-26 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.9% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Monument Mall” and “Scottsbluff” (22 hits, first 22 sampled, 5 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2006-07-05 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2006 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2006-CIBC1522006-07-05 to 2006-07-058-K 2

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 5 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m0EPA FRS
Census tract 311579534003,362 people, 213 per sq mi; median household income $73,327; median gross rent $1,537; 28% renters; 5.9% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 8.2 of 20; 6 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.92; 6,167 jobs within 45 min by car; 3% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Scotts Bluff County (NE), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 44 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.79; socioeconomic 0.47; housing and transport 0.97; 11% below 150% of poverty; 14% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Uptown Scottsbluff (0.0 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Monument Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Foursquare, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 32,720 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.monumentmall.com (down or redirecting, status 404) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population +19% (2,824 → 3,362); median income +38% ($52,925 → $73,327); renters 28% → 28%; median home value +47% ($159,000 → $234,100)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 75.7); expected annual loss $2.2M; high: tornado, hail, strong wind, winter weather, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km3 LIHTC properties, 48 units: Cirrus House Apts (29 units); Cirrus South Bend Apts (11 units); West Wing Apts (8 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023143 establishments (-21%); 2,100 jobs (-11%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $196,514 (+3% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $943/mo, 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025377 (2000 = 100); +3.6% 1 yr, +40% 5 yr, +51% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)13,360 vehicles a day on US-26 (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 690 trucks; 25 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Monument Mall opened in 1986 and operated as a regional mall with approximately 33 stores and 303,385 square feet of gross leasable area. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed.

Why. The record does not specify any reasons for the mall's closure, such as anchor tenant loss, competition, debt, or demolition.

Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed, but the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No redevelopment or planning events are recorded in the source.
  • Zoning, land use, and any policy incentives applied to the site are unknown.
  • Key open questions include current ownership, cause of closure, and potential future uses.

For a developer

  • Site size is approximately 303,385 sq ft of gross leasable area.
  • Ownership and control are not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage, floodplain status, transit access, and environmental constraints are not mentioned.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data are unavailable.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Any existing zoning, land use entitlements, or redevelopment plans are undocumented.
  • Environmental constraints (flood, wetlands, contamination) and transit access are not described.
  • The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin verification.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1986Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area303,385 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak33Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsJCPenney, Herberger's, Cinema 6
AddressCircle Dr. & Frontage Rd.
CountyScotts Bluff
Census division4 · West North Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1986 Opened

Sources

More in Nebraska