Malls · New York
Fingerlakes Mall
Fingerlakes Mall opened in Auburn, NY in 1980 as a 427,447‑sq‑ft mall with 68 stores; it is closed, ownership unknown. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisSears, Roebuck and Co.
This site: Sears, Roebuck and Co. wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/107475959290092 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.fingerlakesmall.com overture / http check · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -3.1% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: ASPEN DENTAL; GROBER NUTRITION, LLC; HOME DEPOT #HD6846; JOHNSTON; PETCO STORE #2784EPA FRS |
| Census tract 36011041202 | 2,597 people, 86 per sq mi; median household income $92,303; median gross rent $805; 10% renters; 14.5% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Cayuga County (NY), 2024 | 18 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 92 single-family; 2023: 48 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.39; socioeconomic 0.30; housing and transport 0.64; 13% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Fingerlakes Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 43,592 m², 6.953393459320068 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.fingerlakesmall.com (alive); archived 2002–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 28.2); expected annual loss $1.0M; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 2,926 jobs in 178 establishments; average annual pay $38,191; employment location quotient 1.21; employment -2.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,176 jobs; 730 in retail trade, 93 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 36011041202)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 42th income percentile as adults; 1.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (476 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 61% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 6.8%; median family income $81,207; 200 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Union Springs Central School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: CAYUGA-ONONDAGA BOCESNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 590 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 198 county-logged events: 145 thunderstorm wind, 28 flash flood, 13 hail, 9 flood; $5,861,250 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 13021, 2026-09 | median list price $255,500 (-3.5% on the year); 93 active listings; median 50 days on market; 17% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $235,019 (+6% 1 yr, +33% 5 yr); typical rent $1,428/mo, 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 11,728 vehicles a day on 20 (principal arterial, 2 lanes); 919 trucks; 37 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Fingerlakes Mall opened in 1980 in Auburn, NY as a 427,447‑square‑foot mall with a peak of 68 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed. No closure date or subsequent details are provided.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed; the record does not specify an owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No documented precedents or policy tools for this site in the record.
- Open questions include the reasons for closure and potential reuse strategies.
- Lack of detailed ownership or zoning information limits planning analysis.
For a developer
- Site size: 427,447 sq ft of GLA.
- Ownership and control are not identified in the record.
- Entitlement stage, zoning, and any context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are unknown.
- Market signals from surrounding tract data are not provided.
What we do not know yet
- Closure date is missing; only status 'closed' is known.
- Ownership entity and any deed restrictions are not specified.
- Reasons for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) are not stated.
- Context‑layer data (flood risk, transit access, environmental conditions) are absent.
- The record is marked as draft with a single source, indicating thin verification.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973
- Mobile Festival Centre, Mobile, AL · Malls · similar GLA (488,138 sq ft); opened 1986
- Osceola Square Mall, Kissimmee, FL · Malls · similar GLA (331,127 sq ft); opened 1986
- North Park Mall, Villa Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (333,596 sq ft); opened 1973
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Fingerlakes Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Fingerlakes Mall | Auburn, NY 13022 iloveny.com
- fingerlakesmall fingerlakesmall.com
- Fingerlakes Mall | Auburn, NY. July 2019… flickr.com
- Fingerlakes mall, Auburn NY : r/dea… reddit.com
- Twin Tiers Retail: Fingerlakes Mall twintiersretail.blogspot.com
- Fingerlakes Mall - a photo on Flickriver flickriver.com
- FINGERLAKES MALL - Update… yelp.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- county shrank -3.1% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1980Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 427,447 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 68Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Steve & Barry's, JCPenney, Bass Pro Shops, Sears, Roebuck and Co. |
| Address | Rts. 5 & 20 @ Clark St. |
| County | Cayuga |
| Census division | 2 · Mid-Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1980 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in New York
Main Place MallBuffalo, NY · 2013Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: data center
Midtown PlazaRochester, NY · 2005Partial Redeveloped · Regreened · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: residential Partial redevelopment: office…
Rainbow MallNiagara Falls, NY · 2012Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: education