Malls · Indiana
Five Points Mall
Five Points Mall opened 1961, expanded 1978, lost anchors Sears, JCPenney, Carson's, closed interior 2019, tenants remain, managed by Strategies · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Site profile13 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Hills
This site: Hills wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed or demolished, no retrofit recorded
This site: …closed extraction · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://www.fivepointsmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -11% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $42,703 census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -0.8% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +107% fhfa · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 13.0 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| What is there now | no businesses remainingextracted, unreviewed |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 8: AMOCO STATION #10053; BOMAR ENTERPRISES INC; DEVOE CHEVROLET CADILLAC INC; ONE HOUR CLEANERS; ROLLERS CLEANERSEPA FRS |
| Census tract 18053000600 | 2,553 people, 1,297 per sq mi; median household income $42,703; median gross rent $743; 44% renters; 18.9% vacant units; 0.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 13.0 of 20; 153 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.97; 14,831 jobs within 45 min by car; 15% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 2 schools, 4 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 2 civic, 2 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 0 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Grant County (IN), 2024 | 8 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 44 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.61; socioeconomic 0.70; housing and transport 0.54; 37% below 150% of poverty; 12% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Five Points Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Foursquare, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 40,474 m², 5.731424808502197 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.fivepointsmall.com (down or redirecting, status 0)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 29,693 since 2015; 2,741 in the last 12 months (-1% vs the prior 12); peak 2018-04 with 469Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -14% (2,983 → 2,553); median income +31% ($32,597 → $42,703); renters 48% → 44%; median home value +49% ($63,300 → $94,200)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 48.1); expected annual loss $949,462; high: tornado, hail; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 219 establishments (-11%); 2,841 jobs (-10%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $153,995 (+4% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,003/mo (+9% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 214 (2000 = 100); +9.8% 1 yr, +85% 5 yr, +107% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 13,823 vehicles a day on SR 9 (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 71 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Five Points Mall opened in 1961 as a strip mall and was expanded into an enclosed property in 1978. Over time it lost anchor tenants Sears, JCPenney, and Carson's, leaving Roses as the sole anchor; the interior mall closed in 2019, though Planet Fitness remained accessible via an exterior entrance. In 2026 announcements indicated Applebee's, Roses, and Planet Fitness would close, leaving no businesses remaining.
Why. The primary visible cause of decline was the loss of major anchor stores—Sears, JCPenney, and Carson's—which reduced foot traffic and made the mall untenable. No other causes such as debt or competition are stated in the record.
Where it stands. The mall interior is currently closed with only exterior tenants remaining, and it is managed by Select Strategies.
For a planner
- Precedent: anchor store closures (Sears, JCPenney, Carson's) leading to decline (visible in record).
- Policy tools: not stated in the record.
- Open questions: not stated in the record.
For a developer
- Site size: not stated in the record.
- Control: managed by Select Strategies; ownership details not stated.
- Entitlement stage: not stated in the record.
- Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment): not stated in the record.
- Market signals from tract data: not stated in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Exact site acreage or building footprint missing.
- Ownership entity and any deed restrictions not provided.
- Current entitlements or zoning designations not specified.
- Floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints not detailed.
- Verification status is 'draft', indicating data may be unreviewed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Concord Mall, Elkhart, IN · Malls · opened 1972; closed 2023; also in IN
- Hickory Hollow Mall, Nashville, TN · Malls · opened 1978; closed 2019
- Chambersburg Mall, Chambersburg, PA · Malls · opened 1982; closed 2023
- CityPlace Burlington, Burlington, VT · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2022
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Carson's at Five Points Mall commons.wikimedia.org
- Five Points Mall Marion IN | gameking3 | Flickr flickr.com
- Petition · Reopening Five Points Mall in Marion, IN - United States ... change.org
- Five Points Mall Facts for Kids kids.kiddle.co
- Five Points Mall - Alchetron, The Free Social Encyclo… alchetron.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1978Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2019extracted, unreviewed |
| Original developer | Cafaro Companyextracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | Hills, JCPenney, Sears, Roses, Carson's, Meis |
| County | Grant County |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Five Points Mall, formerly North Park Plaza and North Park Mall, was an enclosed shopping mall in Marion, Indiana, United States. Opened in 1961 as a strip mall, it was expanded into an enclosed property in 1978. The mall's sole anchor store is Roses, with vacant anchors previously occupied by JCPenney, Sears, and Carson's. The interior mall has been closed since 2019 except for Planet Fitness, which is accessible via an exterior entrance. The Mall is managed by Select Strategies.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1961 Opened as a strip mall
- 1978 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1978 Expanded into an enclosed property
- 2013 Sears closed permanently
- 2014 JCPenney announced closure
- 2018 Carson's closure announced
- 2018 Carson's closed
- 2019 Mall interior fully closed
- 2026 Applebee's moved out
- 2026 Roses announced permanent closure
- 2026 Planet Fitness announced closure
Sources
- Wikipedia: Five Points Mall · supports: after notes, original developer, status, year closed
14 quoted sentences
The interior mall has been closed since 2019 except for Planet Fitness, which is accessible via an exterior entrance.
Built by Cafaro Company of Youngstown, Ohio
As of September 14, 2026, Planet Fitness announced closure of its Marion location due to hazards, leaving no businesses remaining.
As of September 14, 2026, Planet Fitness announced closure of its Marion location due to hazards, leaving no businesses remaining.
More in Indiana
Lifeline Data CenterIndianapolis, IN · 2013Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: solar data centerWoodmar MallHammond, IN · 2020Redeveloped · Redevelopment: sports and recreationCentennial VillageMunster, INPartial Redeveloped · mixed-use transit-oriented development that will feature both retail…Century MallMerrillville, IN · 2007Demolished
Circle Centre MallIndianapolis, IN · 2025Redeveloped · Reinhabited · redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards