Malls · New York
Clifton Country Mall
Clifton Country Mall opened 1976, remains operating with Boscov's, JCPenney, Marshalls/HomeGoods anchors, 72 stores, food court; ownership and plans unknown. · summary, model-written
More
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile9 elements · what this site is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Boscov's
This site: Boscov's wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 91,427 on 87 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 16 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $111,667 census-acs · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.22 cdc-svi · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: Operating shopping center with anchors Boscov's, JCPenney, Marshalls/HomeGoods extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingextracted, unreviewed documentedAs of 2022, the mall currently maintains the traditional chain anchors Boscov's, JCPenney, and a Marshalls and HomeGoods combo. The mall features 72 stores and a food court. |
|---|---|
| What is there now | Operating shopping center with anchors Boscov's, JCPenney, Marshalls/HomeGoods, 72 stores, and a food court.extracted, unreviewed documentedAs of 2022, the mall currently maintains the traditional chain anchors Boscov's, JCPenney, and a Marshalls and HomeGoods combo. The mall features 72 stores and a food court. |
Links out
Every link is built from an id this record holds (parcel number, filer CIK, Wikidata item, Census tract, coordinates) or from the name and city typed into a search. Nothing here is a guessed address. Search links are marked search in their source note; commercial listing links are marked for search engines not to follow. Hover a link for why it is here.
Official records (5)
government and regulatory records for this site, built from ids on the record
- Census tract 36091062508 profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- Census tract 36091062508 on Census Reporterfrom censusreporter.org
- Saratoga (36091) profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- FEMA flood map (NFHL) at this point (search)from msc.fema.gov
- EPA ECHO facilities within 1 milefrom echo.epa.gov
Reference (5)
encyclopedic and research references
- Wikipedia articlefrom en.wikipedia.org
- Wikimedia Commons photos within 500 mfrom commons.wikimedia.org
- Authors' map layer on ArcGISfrom arcgis.com
- Retrofitting Suburbia (book site)from retrofittingsuburbia.com
- Clifton Park, New York on Wikipediafrom en.wikipedia.org
Place (8)
map and street views by coordinates
- Google Mapsfrom google.com
- Street Viewfrom google.com
- Bing Mapsfrom bing.com
- Apple Mapsfrom maps.apple.com
- OpenStreetMapfrom openstreetmap.org
- Walk Score at this pointfrom walkscore.com
- Transitland mapfrom transit.land
- USGS National Mapfrom apps.nationalmap.gov
Market (2)
listings and owner pages; commercial, so search engines are told not to follow
- LoopNet: for sale in Clifton Park, NY (search)from city search
- DeadMalls.com · Clifton Country Mall / Park Centerfrom deadmalls.com
News (2)
news searches and archived pages
- Google News: “Clifton Country Mall” (search)from name search
- Bing News: “Clifton Country Mall” (search)from name search
History and original facts
| Opened | 1976Esri 2014 layer reported |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 660,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 70Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Boscov's, Marshalls, Marshalls and HomeGoods |
| Address | Clifton Country Rd. & Clifton Park Ctr. Rd. |
| County | Saratoga |
| Census division | 2 · Mid-Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Planning
| No zoning change, subsidy or policy tool recorded for this site. |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 8A, 9, 9E, 9WOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 8: BRIDGESTONE FIRESTONE; CASALE RENT-ALL; COLLISION EXPERTS; CROSSING CUSTOM CLEANERS; MOBIL OIL SERVICE STATION--CLIFTON PARKEPA FRS |
| Census tract 36091062508 | 4,511 people, 1,296 per sq mi; median household income $111,667; median gross rent $1,187; 36% renters; 0.0% vacant units; 0.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 10.2 of 20; 58 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.9; 35,849 jobs within 45 min by car; 2% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 2 schools, 4 parks or playgrounds, 4 health, 1 civic, 40 food and drink; 16 cycleway segments, 95 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Saratoga County (NY), 2024 | 360 units in 5+ unit buildings, 18 in 2–4, 734 single-family; 2023: 278 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.22; socioeconomic 0.10; housing and transport 0.40; 8% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 8 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 32,280 m², 6.313121318817139 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 18,994 since 2015; 1,704 in the last 12 months (+5% vs the prior 12); peak 2017-10 with 337Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +2% (4,409 → 4,511); median income +18% ($94,857 → $111,667); renters 30% → 36%; median home value +38% ($267,300 → $369,600)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 9.7); expected annual loss $865,353; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 11,722 jobs in 697 establishments; average annual pay $43,790; employment location quotient 1.26; employment +4.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 5,755 jobs; 1,060 in retail trade, 1,242 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 36091062508)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 53rd income percentile as adults; 0.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (141 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 36% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 5.5%; median family income $94,030; 70 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Shenendehowa Central School District (KG-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: ARONGEN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; SHATEKON ELEMENTARY SCHOOLNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 324 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 419 county-logged events: 312 thunderstorm wind, 53 hail, 21 flash flood, 18 flood; $842,500 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 12065, 2026-09 | median list price $611,997 (-3.8% on the year); 82 active listings; median 45 days on market; 12% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 687 establishments (-5%); 11,821 jobs (+6%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $468,194 (+6% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,846/mo (+6% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 477 (2000 = 100); +8.3% 1 yr, +52% 5 yr, +70% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 91,427 vehicles a day on 87; 12,652 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1976 as Clifton Country Mall, the site has continued to operate as a shopping center. As of the latest notes, it retains anchors Boscov's, JCPenney, and a Marshalls/HomeGoods combination, with 72 stores and a food court. No major closures or redevelopments are mentioned in the record.
Why. The record does not cite any anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition as reasons for change; therefore causes are not stated.
Where it stands. The mall is currently operating; ownership or controlling entity is not specified in the record.
For a planner
- Large site (660,000 sq ft GLA) located in a county that grew 4.3% from 2018 to 2023.
- No indicated policy interventions or redevelopment plans in the record.
- Open questions include long‑term viability, potential zoning changes, and future anchor stability.
For a developer
- Site size: 660,000 sq ft GLA.
- Ownership/control and entitlement stage are not provided in the record.
- No flood, transit, or environmental constraints are listed; market signal shows county population growth of 4.3% 2018‑2023.
What we do not know yet
- Ownership/developer control unknown.
- Any anchor losses, debt levels, or planned modifications are not recorded.
- Floodplain, transit access, or environmental constraints are absent from the record.
- Current store count discrepancy (stores_peak 70 vs after_notes 72) needs clarification.
- Data are marked as draft and sourced from extraction, indicating possible unverification.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Latham Circle Mall, Latham, NY · Malls · similar GLA (635,000 sq ft); also in NY; 12 km away
- South Hills Mall, Poughkeepsie, NY · Malls · similar GLA (675,000 sq ft); opened 1974; also in NY
- Uncle Sam Atrium, Troy, NY · Malls · opened 1979; also in NY; 16 km away
- Conestoga Mall, Grand Island, NE · Malls · similar GLA (612,539 sq ft); opened 1974
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Clifton Country Mall / Park Center on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- 660,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
- county grew 4.3% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
Background
Clifton Park Center, formerly known as the Clifton Country Mall, is a large shopping center, located in Clifton Park, New York. As of 2022, the mall currently maintains the traditional chain anchors Boscov's, JCPenney, and a Marshalls and HomeGoods combo. The mall features 72 stores and a food court.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1976 Opened
Sources
- Wikipedia: Clifton Country Mall · supports: after notes, status
2 quoted sentences
As of 2022, the mall currently maintains the traditional chain anchors Boscov's, JCPenney, and a Marshalls and HomeGoods combo. The mall features 72 stores and a food court.
As of 2022, the mall currently maintains the traditional chain anchors Boscov's, JCPenney, and a Marshalls and HomeGoods combo. The mall features 72 stores and a food court.
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in New York
Albee Square MallBrooklyn, NY · 2012Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed useAmsterdam Riverfront CenterAmsterdam, NY · 2011Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office and self-storage
Como MallCheektowaga, NY · 1991Reinhabited · Reinhabitation, office and education
Main Place MallBuffalo, NY · 2013Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: data center
Midtown PlazaRochester, NY · 2005Partial Redeveloped · Regreened · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: residential Partial redevelopment: office…
Rainbow MallNiagara Falls, NY · 2012Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: education