Malls · New York
Hudson Valley Mall
Opened 1981.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile10 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisMacy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/209999800249 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.shophudsonvalleymall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,015/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.91 cdc-svi · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 50% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +130% fhfa · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Hudson Valley Mall” and “Kingston” (21 hits, first 21 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). A strong match to a commercial-mortgage trust means the mall very likely backed, or backs, a securitised loan; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2002-06-11 (a sample date, not the issuance date); Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (strong) | GMAC COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 5 | 2002-06-11 to 2002-07-11 | 8-K 5 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: DICK'S SPORTING GOODS; KMART #7483; MACYS - KINGSTON #203; PENSKE AUTO CENTER; PETCO STORE #3790EPA FRS |
| Census tract 36111951400 | 3,737 people, 666 per sq mi; median household income $68,906; median gross rent $1,113; 50% renters; 3.7% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 7.5 of 20; 16 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.8; 14,968 jobs within 45 min by car; 8% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Ulster County (NY), 2024 | 217 units in 5+ unit buildings, 34 in 2–4, 270 single-family; 2023: 88 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.91; socioeconomic 0.78; housing and transport 0.97; 30% below 150% of poverty; 14% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Hudson Valley Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 30,104 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shophudsonvalleymall.com (alive); archived 2007–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +8% (3,467 → 3,737); median income +57% ($43,939 → $68,906); renters 45% → 50%; median home value +42% ($175,900 → $249,300)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 57.8); expected annual loss $1.5M; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 8,024 jobs in 664 establishments; average annual pay $41,660; employment location quotient 1.34; employment -0.6% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 4,483 jobs; 1,963 in retail trade, 814 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 36111951400)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 44th income percentile as adults; -0.2% incarcerated at the 2010 count (305 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 10% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 22.0%; median family income $61,771; 355 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Kingston City School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: CHAMBERS SCHOOLNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 244 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 394 county-logged events: 287 thunderstorm wind, 54 flood, 28 hail, 15 flash flood; $364,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 12401, 2026-09 | median list price $442,250 (-5.1% on the year); 108 active listings; median 48 days on market; 19% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 674 establishments (-9%); 8,289 jobs (-7%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $451,636 (+4% 1 yr, +34% 5 yr); typical rent $2,015/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 391 (2000 = 100); +8.9% 1 yr, +86% 5 yr, +130% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 22,523 vehicles a day on ULSTER AVE US 9W (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 557 trucks; 26 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1981 as a regional mall with approximately 88 stores and 767,300 square feet of gross leasable area. The facility operated for several decades before closing, as indicated by its current status. No further events are recorded.
Why. The record does not specify reasons for the mall's closure or any anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, but the record does not identify the present owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No documented reuse precedents or policy interventions are recorded for this site.
- Open questions include current ownership, zoning designation, and potential adaptive reuse strategies.
- Additional planning context such as infrastructure, environmental reviews, and community input is absent from the record.
For a developer
- Site size is 767,300 sq ft GLA, indicating a large redevelopment footprint.
- Ownership status and control are unknown per the record, affecting acquisition feasibility.
- Entitlement stage, floodplain status, transit access, and environmental constraints are not specified.
- No market signals or tract-level data are provided to gauge demand or rental potential.
What we do not know yet
- Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
- Current owner or controlling entity is unidentified.
- No information on zoning, land use approvals, or entitlement status.
- Missing context layers such as flood risk, transit proximity, and environmental conditions.
- Lack of market data or comparable sales limits financial assessment.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- South Hills Mall, Poughkeepsie, NY · Malls · similar GLA (675,000 sq ft); opened 1974; also in NY
- Aviation Mall, Queensbury, NY · Malls · similar GLA (630,000 sq ft); opened 1975; also in NY
- Clifton Country Mall, Clifton Park, NY · Malls · similar GLA (660,000 sq ft); opened 1976; also in NY
- Dutchess Mall, Fishkill, NY · Malls · similar GLA (580,000 sq ft); opened 1974; also in NY
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Hudson Valley Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Shopping Mall «Hudson Valley Mall», reviews and photos, 1300 Ulster Ave ... stores-goods.com
- Best Buy - Hudson Valley Mall Kingston, NY March 2018 (28043937077) commons.wikimedia.org
- JCPenney - Hudson Valley Mall - Kingston, NY flickr.com
- Hudson Valley media.dailyfreeman.com
- HUDSON VALLEY MALL | HPGCorp hullpg.com
- Hudson Valley Mall – Hudson Valley Mall Dental LLP in Kingsto… mission.superfastsearch.co.uk
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- 767,300 sq ft GLA (large site)
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1981Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 767,300 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 88Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Macy's, JCPenney, Sears, Target |
| Address | Ulster Ave. (Rt. 9W & 209) |
| County | Ulster |
| Census division | 2 · Mid-Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1981 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in New York
Main Place MallBuffalo, NY · 2013Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: data center
Midtown PlazaRochester, NY · 2005Partial Redeveloped · Regreened · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: residential Partial redevelopment: office…
Rainbow MallNiagara Falls, NY · 2012Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: education