Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Rhode Island

Lincoln Mall (Lincoln)

Imported, unreviewedClosedLincoln, RI

Opened 1975.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size565,132 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability8.2 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile8 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
KmartThis site: Kmart wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.discoverlincolnmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 62,755 on I-295 N fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,053/mo zillow · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $136,451 census-acs · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: I-295 N fhwa-hpms · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Lincoln Mall” and “Lincoln” (122 hits, first 100 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)Inland American Real Estate Trust, Inc. (IVT)512006-08-09 to 2020-02-2110-K 18, 8-K 17, 8-K/A 8, 10-Q 8
Public owner (strong)Highlands REIT, Inc.222016-04-14 to 2024-03-1410-K 13, 10-Q 5, 8-K 4
Public owner (weak)ACADIA REALTY TRUST (AKR)12019-02-19 to 2019-02-1910-K 1
Public owner (weak)COLE CREDIT PROPERTY TRUST IV, INC. (CMRF)12012-05-15 to 2012-05-1510-Q 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m24: A. T. CROSS CO; AMERICAN TOOL; BURLINGTON STORE #1358; C V S #17161; CAVICCHIO CHARLES M DPMEPA FRS
Census tract 440070116006,794 people, 731 per sq mi; median household income $136,451; 10% renters; 0.0% vacant units; 1.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 8.2 of 20; 21 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.82; 92,293 jobs within 45 min by car; 4% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Providence County (RI), 2024219 units in 5+ unit buildings, 249 in 2–4, 314 single-family; 2023: 196 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.36; socioeconomic 0.16; housing and transport 0.62; 6% below 150% of poverty; 1% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 6 within 25 kmcomputed
Overture Mapsplace Lincoln Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.98, from Foursquare, Overture); building footprint 45,832 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.discoverlincolnmall.com (alive); archived 2007–2026 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population +16% (5,881 → 6,794); median income +39% ($98,355 → $136,451); renters 13% → 10%; median home value +37% ($346,300 → $474,600)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 61.6); expected annual loss $1.8M; high: inland flooding; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)23,726 jobs in 2,010 establishments; average annual pay $39,929; employment location quotient 0.83; employment -1.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20229,833 jobs; 648 in retail trade, 1,803 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 44007011600)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 53th income percentile as adults; 0.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (209 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 81% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 4.2%; median family income $131,389; 101 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsLincoln School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE
Elevation329 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025196 county-logged events: 86 thunderstorm wind, 42 flood, 38 flash flood, 10 hail; $2,852,800 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 02865, 2026-09median list price $646,500 (-7.6% on the year); 46 active listings; median 40 days on market; 11% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20231,904 establishments (-5%); 25,964 jobs (+6%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $453,475 (+2% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $2,053/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025434 (2000 = 100); +5.7% 1 yr, +58% 5 yr, +89% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)62,755 vehicles a day on I-295 N (Interstate, 6 lanes); 4,374 trucks; 28 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Lincoln Mall opened in 1975 as a retail center and operated as a mall. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is now listed as closed.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed; no owner or controlling entity is specified in the record.

For a planner

  • Large site (565,132 sq ft) in a county with modest population growth (3.9% 2018‑23).
  • No stated closure cause or current ownership in the record.
  • Open questions: what zoning, environmental, or transit constraints affect reuse?

For a developer

  • Site size: 565,132 sq ft GLA.
  • Current control/ownership not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage unknown; no context‑layer data (flood, transit, environment) provided.
  • Market signal: county grew 3.9% 2018‑23, indicating limited but positive demand.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure not stated in the record.
  • Current owner or controlling entity unknown.
  • Zoning, land‑use, and entitlement status not provided.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands) and transit access not detailed.
  • Record verified as draft with only one source, indicating thin data quality.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Swansea Mall, Swansea, MA · Malls · similar GLA (700,000 sq ft); opened 1975; 29 km away
  • Heritage Park Mall, Midwest City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (606,339 sq ft); opened 1978
  • Machesney Park Mall, Machesney Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (581,883 sq ft); opened 1978
  • Mall 205, Portland, OR · Malls · similar GLA (477,000 sq ft); opened 1970

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Lincoln Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 565,132 sq ft GLA (large site)
  • county grew 3.9% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1975Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area565,132 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak48Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsKmart, Super Stop & Shop
AddressRts. 116 & 146
CountyProvidence
Census division1 · New England
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1975 Opened

Sources

More in Rhode Island