Malls · Rhode Island
Rhode Island Mall
Opened 1967. Closed 2011. Redeveloped in 2016.
documented
has been under redevelopment into its current configuration as a power center since 2016.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Sears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/SKECHERS overture · all sites with thisOn X
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/SKECHERS overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …https://local.skechers.com/ri/warwick/921/ overture / http check · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,192/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $102,333 census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +103% fhfa · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +61% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …power center extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …power center extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingextracted, unreviewed documentedhas been under redevelopment into its current configuration as a power center since 2016. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedhas been under redevelopment into its current configuration as a power center since 2016. |
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | power centerextracted, unreviewed documentedhas been under redevelopment into its current configuration as a power center since 2016. |
| Retrofit year | 2016extracted, unreviewed reported |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Rhode Island Mall” and “Warwick” (10 hits, first 10 sampled, 3 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | Seritage Growth Properties (SRG, SRG-PA) | 6 | 2016-03-11 to 2020-03-02 | 10-K 5, 8-K 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 12: AMERICAN PARS DENTAL; AMERICAN SPEEDY PRINTING; BLITZ NEIL L DMD MS; BURLINGTON COAT FACTORY #976; COMMUNITY COLLEGE OF R.I.,KNIGHT CAMPUSEPA FRS |
| Census tract 44003022100 | 6,534 people, 2,267 per sq mi; median household income $102,333; median gross rent $1,571; 17% renters; 7.0% vacant units; 0.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 9.3 of 20; 64 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.71; 81,154 jobs within 45 min by car; 4% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 1 schools, 16 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 0 civic, 15 food and drink; 5 cycleway segments, 12 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Kent County (RI), 2024 | 240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 93 in 2–4, 138 single-family; 2023: 17 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.30; socioeconomic 0.26; housing and transport 0.33; 12% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 7 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place SKECHERS Rhode Island Mall (shoe_store, confidence 0.80, from AllThePlaces, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 32,378 m², 7.735708236694336 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | local.skechers.com (alive) · social: facebook, xOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 17,028 since 2015; 2,482 in the last 12 months (-16% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-12 with 371Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +17% (5,593 → 6,534); median income +61% ($63,425 → $102,333); renters 13% → 17%; median home value +58% ($214,200 → $337,900)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 44.6); expected annual loss $1.4M; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 10,664 jobs in 624 establishments; average annual pay $44,129; employment location quotient 1.41; employment -3.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 11,406 jobs; 1,233 in retail trade, 862 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 44003022100)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 47th income percentile as adults; 0.2% incarcerated at the 2010 count (227 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 13% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 6.6%; median family income $111,071; 231 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Warwick School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Winman Middle SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 45 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 55 county-logged events: 31 thunderstorm wind, 13 flood, 5 flash flood, 4 hail; $158,600 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 02886, 2026-09 | median list price $458,675 (+3.1% on the year); 46 active listings; median 32 days on market; 13% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 626 establishments (-7%); 11,754 jobs (+10%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $441,067 (+4% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr); typical rent $2,192/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 546 (2000 = 100); +4.3% 1 yr, +58% 5 yr, +103% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 10,344 vehicles a day on /295N01BN1; 14 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The mall opened as Midland Mall in 1967, was renamed Rhode Island Mall in 1985, and faced declining tenants as shoppers shifted to the nearby Warwick Mall. By the 2000s it was deemed a dead mall, and its interior closed permanently in April 2011. After a 2012 sale, redevelopment into a power center began in 2016 and the site is now operating.
Why. The record attributes the decline to tenant relocation to the Warwick Mall that opened in 1970, creating competition that led to the mall’s deterioration. No other causes such as debt or demolition are mentioned.
Where it stands. The site is currently operating as a power center following redevelopment that started in 2016; the record does not specify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- Precedent: conversion of an enclosed mall to an outdoor power center, similar to other dead‑mall retrofits.
- Policy tools: none explicitly cited in the record; any zoning or incentives used are unknown.
- Open questions: long‑term tenant mix, traffic impacts, and compatibility with surrounding land‑use plans.
For a developer
- Site size: approximately 579,500 sq ft of GLA.
- Control: ownership not disclosed in the record.
- Entitlement stage: redevelopment into a power center was completed and the site is now operating, suggesting entitlements are in place.
- Market signals: Warwick County grew 4.1% from 2018‑2023, indicating regional population growth; however, the opportunity score is 0.0 due to the retrofit already being built and the large site size.
What we do not know yet
- Owner/developer identity and any financial structure are not provided.
- Specific anchor tenant losses, lease terms, or debt details are missing.
- Environmental constraints (flood zones, wetlands, contamination) are not mentioned.
- Transit access and infrastructure conditions are absent from the record.
- The record is marked as “draft” verified, so some fields may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- University Mall, Pensacola, FL · Malls · similar GLA (715,623 sq ft); opened 1974; closed 2013
- Cottonwood Mall site, Holladay, UT · Malls · similar GLA (730,000 sq ft); opened 1962; closed 2008
- Frederick Towne Mall, Frederick, MD · Malls · similar GLA (602,000 sq ft); opened 1972; closed 2013
- Wayne Towne Center, Wayne, NJ · Malls · similar GLA (653,000 sq ft); opened 1974; closed 2008
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Rhode Island Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- The Rise And Fall Of Rhode Island Mall, Warwick, RI – And What Midland ... bestattractions.org
- Burlington (Rhode Island Mall, Warwick, Rhode Island) (31210278917) commons.wikimedia.org
- Rhode Island Mall Warwick, RI Ju… flickr.com
- Rhode Island Mall: Warwick, Rhode Island on DeadMalls.com deadmalls.com
- Rhode Island Mall - Warwick, Rhode Island wikimapia.org
- Rhode Island Mall sold for $38M pbn.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- 579,499 sq ft GLA (large site)
- county grew 4.1% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1967Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2011extracted, unreviewed |
| Gross leasable area | 579,499 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 102Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Sears, Wal-Mart |
| Address | Rts. 113 & 2 |
| County | Kent |
| Census division | 1 · New England |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Midland Commons is an outdoor power center in Warwick, Rhode Island. It previously existed as a two-story, enclosed shopping mall. The property opened as the Midland Mall in October 1967; for several years, it co-existed with the nearby Warwick Mall that opened in 1970. The mall was renamed the Rhode Island Mall in March 1985, and experienced rapid decline as tenants relocated to the Warwick Mall in the 1990s. It was considered a dead mall by the 2000s, and the interior of the mall was closed permanently in April 2011. The property was sold in 2012 and has been under redevelopment into its current configuration as a power center since 2016.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1967 Opened
- 1967 Opened as Midland Mall
- 1985 Renamed to Rhode Island Mall
- 2011 Interior closed permanently
- 2012 Property sold
- 2016 Redevelopment into power center began
Sources
- Wikipedia: Rhode Island Mall · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed
9 quoted sentences
the interior of the mall was closed permanently in April 2011.
has been under redevelopment into its current configuration as a power center since 2016.
has been under redevelopment into its current configuration as a power center since 2016.
has been under redevelopment into its current configuration as a power center since 2016.
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02