Malls · Virginia
Williamsburg Outlet Mall
Opened 1983. Closed 2013. Redeveloped in 2016.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
County typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,160/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $105,634 census-acs · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 199 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisTract population up 25%+ since 2013
This site: +60% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …a 131,000 square foot marketplace anchored by Harris Teeter and Walgreens extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | a 131,000 square foot marketplace anchored by Harris Teeter and Walgreensextracted, unreviewed documentedThe developer, a consortium of Vistacor, LLC and Armada Hoffler Properties, Inc., built a 131,000 square foot marketplace anchored by Harris Teeter and Walgreens. The project opened in 2016 and it cost $25 million. |
| Retrofit year | 2016extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Redeveloper | a consortium of Vistacor, LLC and Armada Hoffler Properties, Inc.extracted, unreviewed reported |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Williamsburg Outlet Mall” and “Williamsburg” (7 hits, first 7 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (weak) | Armada Hoffler Properties, Inc. (AHH, AHH-PA) | 3 | 2014-05-15 to 2014-11-12 | 10-Q 3 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | junctionOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: CASEY TOYOTA; EXXON CO U S A RA528364; EXXON CO USA #28364; LIGHTFOOT MARKETPLACE; SMITH MEMORIAL BAPTIST CHURCH PARKING LOT ADDITIONEPA FRS |
| Census tract 51095080402 | 10,361 people, 742 per sq mi; median household income $105,634; median gross rent $1,757; 10% renters; 6.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 8.2 of 20; 16 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.67; 11,809 jobs within 45 min by car; 8% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, James City County (VA), 2024 | 24 units in 5+ unit buildings, 38 in 2–4, 296 single-family; 2023: 264 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.26; socioeconomic 0.14; housing and transport 0.40; 10% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Quarterpath Road (at Tutters Neck Pond) (9.0 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 5,205 m², 3.9603474140167236 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 45,480 since 2015; 1,344 in the last 12 months (-35% vs the prior 12); peak 2018-08 with 1,364Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +60% (6,493 → 10,361); median income +59% ($66,281 → $105,634); renters 21% → 10%; median home value +43% ($268,700 → $383,200)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 76.0); expected annual loss $2.8M; high: inland flooding, strong wind, drought, winter weather, lightning; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 3,622 jobs in 248 establishments; average annual pay $31,459; employment location quotient 1.20; employment -1.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,694 jobs; 430 in retail trade, 315 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 51095080402)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 39th income percentile as adults; 3.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (457 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 49% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 11.7%; median family income $97,036; 141 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | James City County Public Schools (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Warhill HighNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 114 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 116 county-logged events: 59 heavy rain, 40 thunderstorm wind, 11 flash flood, 3 flood; $426,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 23188, 2026-09 | median list price $535,450 (-8.1% on the year); 259 active listings; median 42 days on market; 17% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 261 establishments (-7%); 3,599 jobs (+1%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $484,205 (+2% 1 yr, +28% 5 yr); typical rent $2,160/mo (+6% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 406 (2000 = 100); +2.9% 1 yr, +44% 5 yr, +62% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 26,777 vehicles a day on 199 (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 763 trucks; 29 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Williamsburg Outlet Mall opened in 1983 as a 250,000‑square‑foot outlet center with 40 stores. It operated until 2013, after which demolition began in 2014 and a new 131,000‑square‑foot marketplace opened in 2016, anchored by Harris Teeter and Walgreens.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site currently operates as a retail marketplace controlled by a consortium of Vistacor, LLC and Armada Hoffler Properties, Inc.
For a planner
- The record shows a redevelopment strategy was pursued and completed by 2016.
- Policy tools are not detailed in the record, but the retrofit was classified as ‘already built’ in the opportunity scoring.
- Open questions include the reasons for the original closure and the long‑term market sustainability of the new marketplace.
For a developer
- Original site size: 250,000 sf; post‑retrofit size: 131,000 sf marketplace.
- Controlled by a consortium of Vistacor, LLC and Armada Hoffler Properties, Inc.
- Entitlement stage: retrofit completed (year_retrofit 2016).
- Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not specified in the record.
- Market signals: opportunity score 5.0, citing retrofit already built, county growth 7.9% 2018‑23, and median rent $1,491.
What we do not know yet
- The record does not state why the mall closed in 2013 (anchor loss, competition, debt, etc.).
- Details on pre‑closure anchor tenants, lease terms, or financial obligations are missing.
- Environmental or infrastructure constraints (flood risk, transit access, wetlands) are not provided.
- Verification status is ‘draft’ and the data rely on extraction without noted review.
- The opportunity score and its reasons are model‑derived and may not reflect current conditions.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Euclid Square Mall, Euclid, OH · Malls · opened 1977; closed 2016; same strategy: redevelop
- Four Seasons Mall, Plymouth, MN · Malls · opened 1978; closed 2012; same strategy: redevelop
- Metro North Mall, Kansas City, MO · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2014; same strategy: redevelop
- Owings Mills Mall, Owings Mills, MD · Malls · opened 1986; closed 2015; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Williamsburg Outlet Mall (Lightfoot) - All You Need to Know Before You ... tripadvisor.ca
- Williamsburg Outlet Mall in Williamsburg, Virginia - Kid-friendly ... trekaroo.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county grew 7.9% 2018–23
- median rent $1,491
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1983extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2013extracted, unreviewed |
| Stores at peak | 40extracted, unreviewed reported |
| County | James City County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Williamsburg Outlet Mall, originally Outlets Ltd., was a 250,000-square-foot (23,000 m2) outlet shopping complex located in Williamsburg, Virginia. The shopping center had 40 stores. It opened in 1983.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1983 Opened
- 2013 Closed
- 2014 Demolition started
- 2016 New marketplace opened
Sources
- Wikipedia: Williamsburg Outlet Mall · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed, year opened
9 quoted sentences
It opened in 1983.
the mall closed in late 2013.
The developer, a consortium of Vistacor, LLC and Armada Hoffler Properties, Inc., built a 131,000 square foot marketplace anchored by Harris Teeter and Walgreens. The project opened in 2016 and it cost $25 million.
Demolition started in 2014.
More in Virginia
Cloverleaf MallRichmond, VA · 2009Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets
Coliseum MallHampton, VA · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed useNewmarket North MallHampton, VA · 2000Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office
Tysons Corner CenterTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: residential
Tysons GalleriaTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: office