Malls · California
The Village at Orange
Opened 1971. Closed 2024. Partial Redeveloped.
documented
The Village at Orange currently operates as a conventional outdoor shopping center.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile21 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Sears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisThe Broadway
This site: The Broadway wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/635543156487333 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://thevillageatorange.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 119,728 epa-walkability · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 4 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 39,185 on a counted road fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 14 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 3,839 units, Orange County census-bps · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $3,251/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh earthquake risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; earthquake fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $135,784 census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -0.0% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +73% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 14.8 epa-walkability · all sites with this60+ acre site
This site: 63 acres extraction · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: The tenants available from the outside of the mall or in buildings not connected to the main mall remain open including several restaurants and larger stores… extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: and Trader Joe's. As of now, TVO Management plans to build residential housing units. extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Partly retrofittedextracted, unreviewed documentedThe Village at Orange currently operates as a conventional outdoor shopping center. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Partial Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | housingextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | The tenants available from the outside of the mall or in buildings not connected to the main mall remain open including several restaurants and larger stores such as HomeGoods, PetSmart, CVS, and Trader Joe's.extracted, unreviewed documentedThe tenants available from the outside of the mall or in buildings not connected to the main mall remain open including several restaurants and larger stores such as HomeGoods, PetSmart, CVS, and Trader Joe's. |
| Redeveloper | TVO Managementextracted, unreviewed reported |
Planning
| Planning notes | As of now, TVO Management plans to build residential housing units.extracted, unreviewed reported |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 47: 1248 E. MEATS AVENUE; 1746 E MEATS AVE; 2270 N. MAPLEWOOD ST.; 2295 N TUSTIN ST UNIT 34; 2295 N. TUSTIN AVE., UNIT 26EPA FRS |
| Census tract 06059076208 | 5,524 people, 6,568 per sq mi; median household income $135,784; median gross rent $2,383; 26% renters; 1.6% vacant units; 0.4% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 14.8 of 20; 164 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 950 m; land-use mix 0.74; 305,973 jobs within 45 min by car, 119,728 by transit; 3% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 8 schools, 46 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 4 civic, 44 food and drink; 14 cycleway segments, 30 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Orange County (CA), 2024 | 3,839 units in 5+ unit buildings, 462 in 2–4, 2,671 single-family; 2023: 3,440 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.60; socioeconomic 0.42; housing and transport 0.90; 14% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 4 within 10 km, 16 within 25 km: The City Shopping Center (7.0 km); Anaheim Towne Center (7.2 km); La Placita Cinco (9.1 km); Anaheim Center (9.8 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place The Village At Orange (shopping_mall, confidence 0.98, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 12,036 m², 7.0 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | thevillageatorange.com (down or redirecting, status 0); archived 2003–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 41,154 since 2015; 3,942 in the last 12 months (-21% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-01 with 2,505Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +7% (5,178 → 5,524); median income +73% ($78,665 → $135,784); renters 32% → 26%; median home value +83% ($493,900 → $905,600)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 84.5); expected annual loss $3.6M; high: earthquake; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 63 units: Serrano Woods (63 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 142,472 jobs in 9,812 establishments; average annual pay $51,666; employment location quotient 0.87; employment -1.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,254 jobs; 812 in retail trade, 541 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 06059076208)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 48th income percentile as adults; 1.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (440 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 10.8%; median family income $103,333; 86 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Orange Unified School District (KG-12); 4 public schools within 1 mile: Serrano Elementary; Taft Elementary; Olive Elementary; Explore AcademyNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 248 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 140 county-logged events: 49 flood, 43 heavy rain, 24 flash flood, 10 thunderstorm wind; $1,361,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 92865, 2026-09 | median list price $1,110,750 (+2.8% on the year); 24 active listings; median 36 days on market; 21% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 9,840 establishments (+5%); 146,724 jobs (+3%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $1.2M (+3% 1 yr, +37% 5 yr); typical rent $3,251/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 729 (2000 = 100); +3.5% 1 yr, +48% 5 yr, +84% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 39,185 vehicles a day (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 10,794 trucks; 6 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1971 as an outdoor shopping center with an internal mall and anchor tenants. Over time, anchor stores such as Woolworth's, Broadway, JCPenney, and Sears closed, leading to declining interior occupancy. In September 2023 TVO Management announced closure of the interior, which ceased operations by January 2024, leaving exterior retailers open and prompting plans for residential redevelopment.
Why. The primary cause visible in the record is the sequential loss of major anchor tenants—Woolworth's (1977), Broadway/Walmart (1996), JCPenney (2017), and Sears (2021)—which eroded foot traffic and made the enclosed mall untenable.
Where it stands. The site remains partially operational as an outdoor shopping center under the control of TVO Management, the property manager and developer noted in the record.
For a planner
- Redevelopment strategy listed as "redevelop" with planned new use of housing.
- Planning notes indicate TVO Management intends to build residential housing units on the site.
- The opportunity score (15.0) highlights the 63‑acre size and median rent $2,352 as market incentives.
- Open questions include required zoning changes, infrastructure upgrades, and timeline for residential construction.
For a developer
- Site size: 63 acres as recorded.
- Control: TVO Management is the current developer/property manager.
- Entitlement stage: Planning notes show residential housing units are planned, but no approvals are documented in the record.
- Market signals: Median rent $2,352 and the opportunity score suggest strong housing demand; however, context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not specified in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Exact number of residential units proposed is not stated in the record.
- Status of any environmental review, flood‑zone designation, or transit access analysis is unknown.
- Financial details such as projected costs, financing sources, or expected rents are not provided.
- The record’s verification status is "draft" and many fields are marked as extraction, indicating potential unreviewed data.
- Timeline for completing interior closure and starting construction is not detailed beyond the 2024 closure date.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Exton Square Mall, Exton, PA · Malls · similar size (75 acres); opened 1973; same strategy: redevelop
- La Mirada Mall, La Mirada, CA · Malls · similar size (72 acres); same strategy: redevelop; also in CA
- North DeKalb Mall, Decatur, GA · Malls · similar size (73.11 acres); opened 1965; closed 2020
- Lafayette Square Mall, Indianapolis, IN · Malls · similar size (80 acres); opened 1968; closed 2022
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Entrance to The Village at Orange | Formerly know… flickr.com
- 1500 E Village Way, Orange, CA 92865 - The Village at Orange | LoopNet loopnet.com
- The Village at Orange Design Project Portfolio | ADC adcollaborative.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- 63 acres
- median rent $2,352
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1971Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2024extracted, unreviewed |
| Acres | 63.0extracted, unreviewed |
| Stores at peak | 80extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Original developer | Harry Newman Jr., president of Newman Properties (Long Beach, California) and president of the International Council of Shopping Centersextracted, unreviewed documentedThe developer was Harry Newman Jr., president of Newman Properties (Long Beach, California) and president of the International Council of Shopping Centers. |
| Architect | Ainsworth & McClellan |
| Anchors | Sears, Walmart, The Broadway |
| County | Orange County |
| Census division | 9 · Pacific |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Village at Orange, formerly known as the Orange Mall and later as The Mall of Orange, is an outdoor shopping center and a former small enclosed shopping mall located in Orange, California, United States. The mall, one of Orange's first, opened for consumer entry in 1971, and was composed of both internal merchants and external anchor tenant buildings, the original latter of which only Walmart remains operational. In September 2023, TVO Management, the mall's property manager, announced that the internal portion of the mall would close on or by January 31, 2024. The mall ceased internal operations on the date provided by TVO Management, marking the end of 52 years of constant public operation in Northern Orange. The Village at Orange currently operates as a conventional outdoor shopping center.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1967 Sears department store opened
- 1971 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1971 Mall opened for consumer entry
- 1977 Woolworth's closed, JCPenney opened
- 1996 Broadway closed, Walmart opened
- 2003 $57 million renovation
- 2009 Linens 'n Things closed, Sprouts opened
- 2017 JCPenney closed
- 2021 Sears closed
- 2023 TVO Management announced closure
- 2024 Interior closed
Sources
- Wikipedia: The Village at Orange · supports: acres, after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
16 quoted sentences
The Interior of the Village at Orange closed on January 31, 2024.
constructed on a 63-acre (25 ha) portion of the lot
The developer was Harry Newman Jr., president of Newman Properties (Long Beach, California) and president of the International Council of Shopping Centers.
The tenants available from the outside of the mall or in buildings not connected to the main mall remain open including several restaurants and larger stores such as HomeGoods, PetSmart, CVS, and Trader Joe's.