Malls · Florida
Panama City Mall
Opened 1976. Closed 2018. Redeveloped in 2020.
documented
On December 5, 2018, owner Hendon Properties announced the mall's permanent closure, citing rebuilding costs as the primary factor after catastrophic damage from Hurricane Michael.
More
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile18 elements · what this site is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
J. C. Penney
This site: J. C. Penney wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/667079219970569 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.PanamaCity-Mall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh hurricane risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Very High; hurricane, tornado, lightning fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.99 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $28,416 census-acs · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 77% census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -0.6% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 14.2 epa-walkability · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: Dillard's reopened in October 2018, with reduced store hours, and has since returned to normal hours. On August 30, 2019, J.C. Penney reopened for business. extraction · all sites with thisHotel
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisOffice
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed documentedOn December 5, 2018, owner Hendon Properties announced the mall's permanent closure, citing rebuilding costs as the primary factor after catastrophic damage from Hurricane Michael. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedHowever, a possible redevelopment of the site was proposed in July 2020 for a potential redevelopment for an open-air retail center with a hotel, residential apartments, and office space, much like Pier Park to the west in Panama City Beach. |
| New uses | hotel, housing, office, retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | Dillard's reopened in October 2018, with reduced store hours, and has since returned to normal hours. On August 30, 2019, J.C. Penney reopened for business.extracted, unreviewed documentedDillard's reopened in October 2018, with reduced store hours, and has since returned to normal hours. On August 30, 2019, J.C. Penney reopened for business. |
| Retrofit year | 2020extracted, unreviewed reported |
Links out
Every link is built from an id this record holds (parcel number, filer CIK, Wikidata item, Census tract, coordinates) or from the name and city typed into a search. Nothing here is a guessed address. Search links are marked search in their source note; commercial listing links are marked for search engines not to follow. Hover a link for why it is here.
Official records (18)
government and regulatory records for this site, built from ids on the record
- EDGAR filer · First Union Commercial Mortgage Securities Incfrom sec.gov
- Filing 0000950144-01-504953 (8-K)from sec.gov
- EDGAR filer · First Union Commercial Mortgage Pass Thr Cer Ser 2001-C3from sec.gov
- Filing 0000914121-01-500533 (8-K)from sec.gov
- EDGAR filer · Cbl & Associates Properties Inc (Cbl)from sec.gov
- Filing 0000910612-14-000059 (8-K, 10-K, 10-Q, 10-K/A)from sec.gov
- EDGAR filer · Cbl & Associates Limited Partnershipfrom sec.gov
- Filing 0000910612-14-000059 (10-Q, 8-K, 10-K)from sec.gov
- EDGAR filer · N1 Liquidating Trustfrom sec.gov
- Filing 0001455650-19-000003 (8-K)from sec.gov
- EDGAR full-text search: “Panama City Mall”from city search
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2010from sec.gov
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2007from sec.gov
- Census tract 12005001600 profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- Census tract 12005001600 on Census Reporterfrom censusreporter.org
- Bay County (12005) profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- FEMA flood map (NFHL) at this point (search)from msc.fema.gov
- EPA ECHO facilities within 1 milefrom echo.epa.gov
Reference (5)
encyclopedic and research references
- Wikipedia articlefrom en.wikipedia.org
- Wikidata item Q17061899from wikidata.org
- Wikimedia Commons photos within 500 mfrom commons.wikimedia.org
- Retrofitting Suburbia (book site)from retrofittingsuburbia.com
- Panama City, Florida on Wikipediafrom en.wikipedia.org
Place (8)
map and street views by coordinates
- Google Mapsfrom google.com
- Street Viewfrom google.com
- Bing Mapsfrom bing.com
- Apple Mapsfrom maps.apple.com
- OpenStreetMapfrom openstreetmap.org
- Walk Score at this pointfrom walkscore.com
- Transitland mapfrom transit.land
- USGS National Mapfrom apps.nationalmap.gov
Market (3)
listings and owner pages; commercial, so search engines are told not to follow
- LoopNet: for sale in Panama City, FL (search)from city search
- CBL & Associates Properties · company site (owner, Wikidata)from company site on record
- The site's own websitefrom panamacity-mall.com
News (3)
news searches and archived pages
- Google News: “Panama City Mall” (search)from name search
- Bing News: “Panama City Mall” (search)from name search
- Wayback Machine · www.PanamaCity-Mall.com (2001–2026)from web.archive.org
History and original facts
| Opened | 1976Wikidata reported |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2018extracted, unreviewed documentedOn December 5, 2018, owner Hendon Properties announced the mall's permanent closure, citing rebuilding costs as the primary factor after catastrophic damage from Hurricane Michael. |
| Original developer | Charles N. Agreeextracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | Sears, J. C. Penney, Gayfers |
| County | Bay County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA. Know it? Tell us.
Planning
| No zoning change, subsidy or policy tool recorded for this site. |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Panama City Mall” and “Panama City” (127 hits, first 100 sampled, 3 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2001-07-30 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2001 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | FIRST UNION COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 1 | 2001-07-30 to 2001-07-30 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | FIRST UNION COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE PASS THR CER SER 2001-C3 | 1 | 2001-08-31 to 2001-08-31 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL) | 92 | 2002-07-25 to 2014-11-10 | 8-K 51, 10-K 25, 10-Q 11, 10-K/A 3 |
| Public owner (strong) | CBL & ASSOCIATES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP | 7 | 2013-11-06 to 2014-11-10 | 10-Q 4, 8-K 2, 10-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | N1 Liquidating Trust | 1 | 2019-02-05 to 2019-02-05 | 8-K 1 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2010-02-22 | Panama City Mall Panama City, FL match: exact | 605,153 in-line 222,964 | 95.0% leased | built 1976 / acquired 2002 / renovated 1984 | 100.0% | $211 | Dillard's, JC Penney, Sears |
| 2006 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01 | Panama City Mall Panama City, FL match: exact | 603,868 in-line 221,561 | 99.0% leased | built 1976 / acquired 2002 / renovated 1984 | 100.0% | $309 | Dillard’s, JC Penney, Linens N Things, Sears |
Before and after
Before: the mall
| Enclosed | yesquote |
|---|---|
| Architect | Charles N. Agreequote |
After: the retrofit
Nothing extracted yet.
Hover "quote" to see the sentence each value came from. Planned figures are labelled planned. Method.
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 13: AMERICAN SCRAP METALS CO; CENTURY BOATS GMI - SEARS; CHICK-FIL-A BAY CITY POINT FSU #3788; GAS STATION; MCDONALDS COVE RELOEPA FRS |
| Census tract 12005001600 | 2,692 people, 1,219 per sq mi; median household income $28,416; median gross rent $982; 77% renters; 20.0% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 14.2 of 20; 37 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 331 m; land-use mix 0.83; 19,144 jobs within 45 min by car, 18,832 by transit; 14% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 2 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 0 civic, 25 food and drink; 7 cycleway segments, 166 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Bay County (FL), 2024 | 559 units in 5+ unit buildings, 28 in 2–4, 1,886 single-family; 2023: 477 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.99; socioeconomic 0.98; housing and transport 0.86; 57% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Panama City Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.64, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 32,206 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.PanamaCity-Mall.com (alive); archived 2001–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 38,875 since 2015; 2,763 in the last 12 months (-7% vs the prior 12); peak 2018-10 with 956Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -30% (3,820 → 2,692); median income +17% ($24,362 → $28,416); renters 60% → 77%; median home value +135% ($76,600 → $179,800)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very high overall (score 98.2); expected annual loss $5.2M; high: hurricane, tornado, lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 12,100 jobs in 884 establishments; average annual pay $39,737; employment location quotient 1.47; employment +0.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 5,822 jobs; 874 in retail trade, 1,041 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 12005001600)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 31st income percentile as adults; 8.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (870 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 74% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 30.9%; median family income $37,618; 494 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Bay County School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 34 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 344 county-logged events: 160 thunderstorm wind, 113 flash flood, 24 hail, 22 tornado; $24,887,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 32405, 2026-09 | median list price $334,975 (-7.2% on the year); 148 active listings; median 103 days on market; 28% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 821 establishments (+1%); 11,572 jobs (+11%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $343,009 (-0% 1 yr, +16% 5 yr); typical rent $1,735/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 28,500 vehicles a day on MLK BLVD (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,482 trucks; 27 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1976 as an enclosed mall with J.C. Penney, Gayfers (later Dillard’s), and Sears as anchors. Ownership shifted to Hendon Properties after purchasing from CBL & Associates in 2013, and the mall suffered major damage from Hurricane Michael, leading to its permanent closure in 2018. Although Dillard’s and J.C. Penney reopened as standalone stores, a 2020 proposal called for redeveloping the site into an open‑air retail center with hotel, housing, and office space.
Why. The closure resulted from anchor store losses—Sears closed in 2018 and J.C. Penney was later put up for sale—combined with extensive hurricane damage; no explicit debt or demolition reasons are stated in the record.
Where it stands. The enclosed mall remains closed, with Dillard’s and J.C. Penney operating as separate stores, and Hendon Properties listed as the current owner.
For a planner
- Redevelopment strategy already indicated (hotel, housing, office, retail) mirroring nearby Pier Park open‑air model.
- Policy tools such as zoning changes or incentives would be needed to convert the enclosed mall to an open‑air format.
- Open questions include the status of entitlements, community acceptance, and financing for the proposed mixed‑use project.
For a developer
- Controlled by Hendon Properties; proposed mixed‑use redevelopment (hotel, housing, office, retail) announced in 2020.
- Median rent in the tract is $1,424, indicating rental market strength for housing component.
- Site size, flood risk, transit proximity, and environmental constraints are not specified in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Exact site acreage and current ownership timeline are missing.
- Details of the 2020 redevelopment proposal—such as site plans, approvals, or developer partners—are not provided.
- Flood zone status, transit access, and any environmental constraints are unknown.
- Financial obligations, debt, or demolition costs associated with the closed mall are not stated.
- Fields such as year_retrofit, after_notes, strategy, and new_use are model‑extracted and marked as unverified (draft).
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Hickory Hollow Mall, Nashville, TN · Malls · opened 1978; closed 2019; same strategy: redevelop
- CityPlace Burlington, Burlington, VT · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop
- Crossroads Mall, Oklahoma City, OK · Malls · opened 1974; closed 2017; same strategy: redevelop
- DeSoto Square Mall, South Bradenton, FL · Malls · opened 1973; closed 2021; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Panama City Mall - Lohnt es sich? Aktuell für 2026 (mit Fot… tripadvisor.ch
- Panama City Mall Entrance Sign commons.wikimedia.org
- Directory panamacity-mall.com
- Panama City Mall - 2020 All You Need to … tripadvisor.com
- MallsCenters - US Shopping Malls & Stores mallscenters.com
- GALLERY: A Look Back at the Panama City Mall newsherald.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- median rent $1,424
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
Background
Panama City Mall was a single story enclosed shopping mall in Panama City, Florida. Opened in 1976, it featured J. C. Penney, Gayfers, and Sears as its anchor stores. As of September 2013, it was owned and managed by Hendon Properties of Atlanta, which purchased it from CBL & Associates Properties. The mall closed due to Hurricane Michael and received major damages. It will not be reopening. However, a possible redevelopment of the site was proposed in July 2020 for a potential redevelopment for an open-air retail center with a hotel, residential apartments, and office space, much like Pier Park to the west in Panama City Beach.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1976 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1976 Opened
- 1982 East Wing and J.C. Penney anchor store completed
- 1999 Gayfers rebranded by Dillard's
- 2015 Sears Holdings spun off 235 properties including the Sears at Panama City Mall into Seritage Growth Properties
- 2018 Sears announced closure of its location at the mall
- 2018 Hendon Properties announced mall's permanent closure
- 2018 Dillard's reopened
- 2019 J.C. Penney reopened
- 2020 JCPenney put 21 stores up for sale, including this location
- 2020 Possible redevelopment proposed for open-air retail center with hotel, residential apartments, office space
Sources
- Wikipedia: Panama City Mall · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
15 quoted sentences
On December 5, 2018, owner Hendon Properties announced the mall's permanent closure, citing rebuilding costs as the primary factor after catastrophic damage from Hurricane Michael.
The mall, built by Charles N. Agree, opened in August 1976
Dillard's reopened in October 2018, with reduced store hours, and has since returned to normal hours. On August 30, 2019, J.C. Penney reopened for business.
On December 5, 2018, owner Hendon Properties announced the mall's permanent closure, citing rebuilding costs as the primary factor after catastrophic damage from Hurricane Michael.
More in Florida
Boca MallBoca Raton, FL · 1998Redeveloped · Regreened · Redevelopment:mixed use Partial regreening: park
Centre of TallahasseeTallahassee, FL · 2015Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, mixed use
Dadeland MallKendall, FL · 2012Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, open-air retail and restaurantEast Lake Square MallTampa, FL · 1999Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: officeFashion MallPlantation, FL · 2018Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: mixed useLakeland MallLakeland, FL · 1999Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: religious