Malls · Iowa
Crossroads Mall (Waterloo)
Opened 1969. Closed 2025. Redeveloped.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile16 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Dillard's
This site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisYounkers
This site: Younkers wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/100181051933851 overture · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.79 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: I 380 S fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 58% census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -1.7% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +135% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …mixed use retail/housing development extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: …mixed use retail/housing development The planned redevelopment includes a mixed use extraction · all sites with thisMixed use
This site: …mixed use retail/housing development The planned redevelopment includ extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …mixed use retail/housing development The planned redevelopment includes a mi extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | retail, housingextracted, unreviewed |
| What is there now | mixed use retail/housing developmentextracted, unreviewed |
Planning
| Planning notes | The planned redevelopment includes a mixed use retail/housing development.extracted, unreviewed |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Crossroads Mall” and “Waterloo” (83 hits, first 83 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 37 | 2005-02-10 to 2010-02-25 | 8-K 22, 10-K 12, 10-K/A 2, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/ | 18 | 2005-03-31 to 2012-03-02 | 10-K 16, 10-K/A 2 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 2 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 230, 232A, 232B, 70OpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 8: ASPEN DENTAL; GREENLEAF TOBACCO AND E-CIGS - ADMINISTRATIVE ID # ONLY; JIFFY LUBE; PORTRAIT INNOVATIONS; SEARS #1072EPA FRS |
| Census tract 19013000900 | 2,260 people, 764 per sq mi; median household income $52,448; median gross rent $687; 58% renters; 12.7% vacant units; 1.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 9.2 of 20; 47 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.88; 26,277 jobs within 45 min by car; 22% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 0 schools, 1 parks or playgrounds, 4 health, 0 civic, 22 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 54 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Black Hawk County (IA), 2024 | 67 units in 5+ unit buildings, 56 in 2–4, 166 single-family; 2023: 222 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.79; socioeconomic 0.63; housing and transport 0.77; 28% below 150% of poverty; 30% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Crossroads Mall Revitalization (community_center, confidence 0.61, from Overture, meta); building footprint 47,704 m², 6.431967735290527 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | no website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +24% (1,817 → 2,260); median income +135% ($22,356 → $52,448); renters 71% → 58%; median home value +48% ($127,900 → $189,100)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 22.6); expected annual loss $818,659; high: tornado, strong wind, winter weather; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 96 units: The Preserve At Crossroads (96 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 463 establishments (-10%); 9,299 jobs (+3%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $185,880 (+0% 1 yr, +25% 5 yr); typical rent $1,019/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2024 | 150 (2000 = 100)FHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 24,400 vehicles a day on I 380 S (Interstate); 3,614 trucks; 36 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1970 as one of Iowa's early malls, Crossroads Mall operated for over five decades before a series of anchor store closures beginning in 2015 led to its final shutdown in 2025. Demolition started in 2026 to make way for a mixed‑use retail and housing redevelopment planned by the owner.
Why. The record shows multiple anchor losses (Sears, Dillard's, Gordmans, Younkers, At Home, JCPenney) between 2015 and 2023, which likely drove the mall's decline; no explicit mention of debt or competition is provided.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed and demolition is underway, with ATI Group listed as the owner.
For a planner
- Precedent: other Iowa malls have been converted to mixed‑use after anchor loss.
- Policy tools: potential use of tax increment financing or brownfield incentives (not stated in record).
- Open questions: timing of entitlements, community input process, and required infrastructure upgrades.
For a developer
- Site size: not specified in the record.
- Control: single owner (ATI Group).
- Entitlement stage: demolition begun, mixed‑use plan noted but permit details absent.
- Constraints: floodplain, transit access, and environmental conditions not provided.
- Market signals: tract‑level data absent from record.
What we do not know yet
- Exact site acreage missing.
- Floodplain status unknown.
- Transit access details not provided.
- Environmental conditions (e.g., soil contamination) not given.
- Entitlement approvals and permit status not detailed.
- Demolition timeline beyond the 2026 start unspecified.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Adrian Mall, Adrian, MI · Malls · opened 1970; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
- Boulevard Mall, Erie County, NY · Malls · opened 1962; closed 2026; same strategy: redevelop
- CityPlace Burlington, Burlington, VT · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop
- Concord Mall, Elkhart, IN · Malls · opened 1972; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Crossroads Mall In Waterloo, IA: Past Glory And Future $20M Plans ... bestattractions.org
- Mall Entrance - "Crossroads Mall" Waterloo, IA | Crossro… flickr.com
- Crossroads Mall (2025) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Reviews) tripadvisor.com
- Crossroads Mall (Waterloo) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go ... tripadvisor.ca
- Crossroads Mall, Waterloo, Iowa : r/deadmalls reddit.com
- 2027 Crossroads Blvd, Waterloo, IA 50702 | Crexi.com crexi.com
- Furniture Store Crossroads Mall at Virginia Corns blog storage.googleapis.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1969Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2025extracted, unreviewed |
| Original developer | Crossroads Center Inc.extracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | Gordmans, Dillard's, Sears, Younkers, Best Buy, At Home |
| County | Black Hawk County |
| Census division | 4 · West North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Crossroads Center was a shopping mall located in Waterloo, Iowa, United States. It was built in 1970 as one of the first malls in Iowa. It has five vacant anchors formerly occupied by Sears, Dillard's, Gordmans, Younkers, and At Home. It is owned by ATI Group. It is located in the heart of a retail hub that includes a 12 screen theater, Best Buy, Super Target, Walmart, Barnes & Noble, and many other national tenants. The mall is located near the interchange of Interstate 380 and U.S. Highway 20.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1967 Announced plans for the mall
- 1969 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1970 Mall opened
- 1997 Dillard's constructed new anchor store
- 2015 JCPenney closure announced
- 2018 Sears closure announced
- 2018 Younkers closure announced
- 2020 Gordmans closure announced
- 2023 At Home closure announced
- 2025 Mall closed
- 2026 Demolition began for mixed use retail/housing development
Sources
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree) · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
17 quoted sentences
The mall closed in December 2025 when its last remaining tenant, a pizza restaurant, reached the end of its lease
Crossroads Center Inc. announced plans for the mall in 1967, along with two other malls of the same name: one in St. Cloud, Minnesota and one in Fort Dodge, Iowa.
to make way for a mixed use retail/housing development.
The mall closed in December 2025 when its last remaining tenant, a pizza restaurant, reached the end of its lease, with demolition beginning in January 2026
More in Iowa
Midlands MallCouncil Bluffs, IA · 1994Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office
Old Capital MallCedar Rapids, IA · 2009Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: education and office4th Street LoftsDavenport, IA · 2007Reinhabited · 56 unit complex of loft apartmentsColumbia at Mechanicsville StationMechanicsville, IARedeveloped · Replaced the 41 acres (17 ha) 588-unit McDaniel-Glenn HomesDavenport LoftsDavenport, IA · 2005Reinhabited · 73 units of loft apartmentsFirst National Bank of DavenportDavenport, IA · 2020Reinhabited · The Brenton, a block of thirty-eight apartments, with apartments on…