Malls · New Jersey
Livingston Mall
Opened 1972. Closed 2026. Redeveloped.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Site profile15 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Sears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisAttention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)
This site: 26,736 views, +110% wikimedia · all sites with thisHigh attention (20k+ Wikipedia views a year)
This site: 26,736 wikimedia · all sites with thisSold since 2020
This site: 2022 Kohan Retail Investment Group research-deals · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …https://www.livingston-mall.com overture / http check · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 3,028 units, Essex County census-bps · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,273/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $223,409 census-acs · all sites with thisRail within 800 m
This site: Livingston Mall openstreetmap · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +73% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 13.7 epa-walkability · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …vacant extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | housingextracted, unreviewed |
| What is there now | vacantextracted, unreviewed |
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | Sold | — | Kohan Retail Investment Group ← Simon | Wikipedia |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Livingston Mall” and “Livingston” (194 hits, first 100 sampled, 5 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 93 | 2002-05-17 to 2022-05-09 | 8-K 74, 10-K 18, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/ | 1 | 2001-03-30 to 2001-03-30 | 10-K 1 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Simon Property Group 10-K, 2017-02-24 | Livingston Mall Livingston, NJ match: exact | 978,034 | 96.5% occupied | acquired 1998 | 100.0% Fee | Macy's, Lord & Taylor, Sears, Barnes & Noble | |
| 2009 | Simon Property Group 10-K, 2010-02-25 | Livingston Mall Livingston, NJ match: exact | 984,599 | 94.5% occupied | acquired 1998 | 100.0% Fee | Macy's, Lord & Taylor, Sears, Barnes & Noble |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | Livingston Mall (rail)OpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: HIGHGATE AT LIVINGSTON; KUSHNER ACADEMY FIELD & RECREATION IMPROV.; LIVINGSTON MALL; LIVINGSTON MALL ADA IMPROVEMENT; MACYS DEPT STORE #16 @ LIVINGSTON MALLEPA FRS |
| Census tract 34013020800 | 8,074 people, 1,448 per sq mi; median household income $223,409; median gross rent $3,501; 26% renters; 7.4% vacant units; 13.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 13.7 of 20; 25 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 668 m; land-use mix 0.91; 324,678 jobs within 45 min by car, 29,777 by transit; 7% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 0 grocers, 3 schools, 30 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 1 civic, 3 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 0 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Essex County (NJ), 2024 | 3,028 units in 5+ unit buildings, 501 in 2–4, 298 single-family; 2023: 3,120 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.49; socioeconomic 0.25; housing and transport 0.49; 11% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 4 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Livingston Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.95, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 49,534 m², 11.310477256774902 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.livingston-mall.com (down or redirecting, status 0); archived 2001–2026 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 105,617 since 2015; 26,736 in the last 12 months (+110% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-01 with 3,380Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +4% (7,770 → 8,074); median income +73% ($129,167 → $223,409); renters 9% → 26%; median home value +39% ($560,700 → $777,900)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 60.2); expected annual loss $2.2M; high: inland flooding, heat wave; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,543 establishments (-6%); 27,456 jobs (+5%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $658,593 (+4% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $2,273/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 445 (2000 = 100); -0.5% 1 yr, +51% 5 yr, +69% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 28,053 vehicles a day on ROUTE 510 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,755 trucks; 19 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Livingston Mall opened in 1972 with Sears and Hahne & Company, underwent a major renovation in 2008 adding Barnes & Noble and Applebee’s, and began losing anchors when Sears and Lord & Taylor announced closures in 2020. After Simon Property Group sold the property to Kohan Retail Investment Group in 2022, the township council adopted a 2025 plan for high‑density housing redevelopment, and by 2026 the mall was vacant with no remaining establishments.
Why. The record shows anchor store losses (Sears, Lord & Taylor, Barnes & Noble) as the primary driver of decline; it does not state competition, debt, or other causes.
Where it stands. The mall is currently vacant and closed, owned by Kohan Retail Investment Group since its 2022 purchase.
For a planner
- Redevelopment strategy is explicitly set to housing, with a township council plan adopted in 2025.
- Precedent of converting a defunct regional mall to high‑density residential use.
- Open questions include financing mechanisms, timeline for build‑out, and community impact assessments.
For a developer
- Site size: 968,820 sq ft GLA (approx. 90,000 m²).
- Control: Sole owner Kohan Retail Investment Group (post‑2022 sale).
- Entitlement stage: Township council approved redevelopment plan for high‑density housing (2025).
- Context: Located near the Passaic River, serving Essex, Morris, and Union counties; no explicit flood, transit, or environmental constraints noted in the record.
- Market signals: Opportunity score 60, driven by closed/demolished site status, 7.6% county growth 2018‑23, median rent $1,459, and housing reuse noted.
What we do not know yet
- Exact flood‑plain or storm‑water risks are not specified in the record.
- Transit access and proximity to major highways or rail lines are not detailed.
- Environmental constraints (e.g., soil contamination, wetlands) are absent from the data.
- Ownership timeline for Simon Property Group is incomplete (no year_to).
- The record is marked as 'verified: draft', indicating some facts may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Echelon Mall, Voorhees, NJ · Malls · opened 1970; closed 2024; same strategy: redevelop
- Adrian Mall, Adrian, MI · Malls · opened 1970; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
- CityPlace Burlington, Burlington, VT · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop
- Concord Mall, Elkhart, IN · Malls · opened 1972; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Livingston Mall Livingston, NJ February 2020 | Flickr flickr.com
- Livingston Mall, NJ 02 commons.wikimedia.org
- Livingston Mall May Have A Radically Different Reopening patch.com
- Macy’s Department Store Announces Closing of Livingston Mall Location tapinto.net
- Livingston Mall - 112 Eisenhower Pkwy, Living… businessyab.com
- Livingston Mall tour at night - Livingston NJ - YouTube youtube.com
- Livingston Mall - All You SHOULD Know Before Going 2026 (with Reviews) tripadvisor.com
- Livingston Mall Interior LIVINGSTON MALL Updated A… fity.club
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county grew 7.6% 2018–23
- median rent $1,459
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1972Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2026extracted, unreviewed |
| Original developer | N. K. Winston Corp.hermes-web |
| Architect | Charles Luckman and Associates |
| Anchors | Sears, Bamberger's, Hahne & Company |
| Organisations in Wikidata (undated) | Simon Property Group |
| County | Essex County |
| Census division | 2 · Mid-Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Livingston Mall is a defunct two-level shopping mall located in Livingston, in the U.S. state of New Jersey. The mall had a gross leasable area of 968,820 sq ft (90,006 m2). Located near the Passaic River close to neighboring Morris County, it served customers from Essex, Morris and Union counties.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1971 Bamberger's opened (stage)
- 1972 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1972 Mall proper opened with Sears and Hahne & Company
- 1986 Bamberger's converted to Macy's
- 1989 Hahne's became Lord & Taylor
- 2008 Major renovation; Barnes & Noble and Applebee’s opened
- 2020 Sears announced closure
- 2020 Lord & Taylor announced closure
- 2022 Simon sold to Kohan Retail Investment Group
- 2025 Township Council adopted plan for redevelopment as high-density housing
- 2026 Barnes & Noble closed, leaving mall without any establishments
Sources
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree) · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed
17 quoted sentences
On July 15, 2026, Barnes and Noble closed its Livingston Mall location in preparation for its relocation, leaving the mall without any establishments.
leaving the mall without any establishments.
Livingston Mall is a defunct two-level shopping mall.
In March 2025, the Township Council adopted a plan for the mall to be redeveloped as high-density housing.
More in New Jersey
Echelon MallVoorhees, NJ · 2011Partial Redeveloped · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation, civic Partial redevelopment, mixed use
Rustic MallManville, NJRegreened · Regreening, industrial cleanup118-122 Elm StreetWestfield, NJRedevelopment, approved · a mixed-use three story building to replace the mostly vacant…126 BroadwayWoodcliff Lake, NJRedevelopment, approved · a three-story mixed-use development featuring eight apartments and…Apartments on 11 Cooper StreetCamden, NJRedevelopment, under construction · apartments on 11 Cooper Street, which will be housing 156 units as…Apple Ridge Country ClubMahwah, NJRedeveloped · nearly 80 upscale homes