Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Illinois

Stratford Square Mall

Imported, unreviewedDemolishedBloomingdale, IL

Opened 1981. Closed 2024.

Status nowDemolishedextracted, unreviewed
documented
Demolition started on the mall in October 2024 and was completed in 2025.

en.wikipedia.org

Site size1,300,000 sq ft GLAextracted, unreviewed reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability11.7 of 20 · 15-minute 5 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Stratford Square Mall
Stratford Square Mall. Photo: Pi.1415926535, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile20 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Carson Pirie ScottThis site: Carson Pirie Scott wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Marshall Field'sThis site: Marshall Field's wikipedia · all sites with this
Montgomery WardThis site: Montgomery Ward wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Attention fading (Wikipedia views −40% y/y)This site: 10,611 views, -44% wikimedia · all sites with this
Closed or demolished, no retrofit recordedThis site: …demolished extraction · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …https://www.stratfordmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Ownership
Public bodyThis site: Village of Bloomingdale county-parcels · all sites with this
Single-purpose entityThis site: StreetMac LLC county-parcels · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 32 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -12% census-cbp · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,105/mo zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $119,858 census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.5% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +63% census-acs · all sites with this
Scale
1M+ sq ft GLAThis site: 1,300,000 sq ft extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusDemolishedextracted, unreviewed
documented
Demolition started on the mall in October 2024 and was completed in 2025.

en.wikipedia.org

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Stratford Square Mall” and “Bloomingdale” (35 hits, first 35 sampled, 5 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)Feldman Mall Properties, Inc.222005-01-05 to 2008-11-148-K 12, 10-Q 4, 10-K 4, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (strong)CAPITAL TRUST INC (BXMT)32006-03-17 to 2006-08-148-K 3
Public owner (weak)Inland American Real Estate Trust, Inc. (IVT)12008-11-20 to 2008-11-208-K 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m8: EXPRESSLY PORTRAITS INC; KMART 3914; MACYS NORTH; MAVIS TIRE EXPRESS #1053; MCDONAGH DEMOLITIONEPA FRS
Census tract 170438411144,376 people, 1,755 per sq mi; median household income $119,858; median gross rent $1,899; 41% renters; 7.9% vacant units; 1.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 11.7 of 20; 136 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.79; 202,479 jobs within 45 min by car; 4% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 0 schools, 7 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 2 civic, 9 food and drink; 32 cycleway segments, 63 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, DuPage County (IL), 2024647 units in 5+ unit buildings, 19 in 2–4, 784 single-family; 2023: 303 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.26; socioeconomic 0.16; housing and transport 0.49; 10% below 150% of poverty; 0% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 14 within 25 km: Indian Lakes Hotel (1.4 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Stratford Square Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.24, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 21,913 m², 7.074871063232422 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.stratfordmall.com (down or redirecting, status 0); archived 2000–2024 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views124,367 since 2015; 10,611 in the last 12 months (-44% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-04 with 6,286Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +17% (3,752 → 4,376); median income +63% ($73,667 → $119,858); renters 33% → 41%; median home value +36% ($299,500 → $407,100)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 41.1); expected annual loss $1.7M; high: tornado, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)53,372 jobs in 2,647 establishments; average annual pay $50,645; employment location quotient 0.86; employment +0.6% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20226,525 jobs; 749 in retail trade, 622 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 17043841114)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 50th income percentile as adults; -0.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (134 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 5.2%; median family income $107,297; 71 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsGlenbard Township High School District 87 (09-12); 4 public schools within 1 mile: LASSO-Erickson Elem-Bloomingdale; Erickson Elementary School; Stratford Middle School; CCSD 93 Early Childhood CntrNCES EDGE
Elevation792 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025361 county-logged events: 201 thunderstorm wind, 53 hail, 47 flood, 28 flash flood; $405,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 60108, 2026-09median list price $485,700 (-2.4% on the year); 39 active listings; median 38 days on market; 21% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,924 establishments (-12%); 56,986 jobs (-4%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $437,880 (+4% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $2,105/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025353 (2000 = 100); -2.4% 1 yr, +45% 5 yr, +75% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)24,600 vehicles a day on GARY AVE (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 5 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Stratford Square Mall opened in 1981 as a 1.3‑million‑square‑foot indoor shopping center in Bloomingdale, IL. Over time it lost six anchor tenants, including JCPenney, Carson Pirie Scott, Sears, and the former Marshall Field's/Macy's space, which was demolished in 2019. The Village of Bloomingdale purchased the property in early 2024, cleared remaining tenants, and demolition was completed in 2025.

Why. The record shows multiple anchor vacancies and the demolition of a major anchor space, indicating anchor loss as a key driver of decline; no explicit mention of competition, debt, or other financial causes is provided.

Where it stands. As of 2025, the site is fully demolished and controlled by the Village of Bloomingdale, which acquired the mall in 2024.

For a planner

  • Municipal acquisition and demolition precedent for large vacant retail sites.
  • Potential use of eminent domain or public‑private partnership tools (not detailed in record).
  • Open questions about future zoning, land‑use planning, and community input for redevelopment.
  • Need to assess any environmental remediation requirements post‑demolition.

For a developer

  • Site size: approximately 1,300,000 sq ft of former GLA on a large suburban parcel.
  • Control: Village of Bloomingdale holds title (2024‑2025).
  • Entitlement stage: demolition completed; no explicit entitlements or approvals noted.
  • Context constraints: flood risk, transit access, and environmental conditions are not specified in the record.
  • Market signal: median rent in the area is $1,628 (per opp_reasons).

What we do not know yet

  • Exact causes of decline (e.g., competition, debt, management) are not stated.
  • Environmental conditions, floodplain status, and any contamination are unknown.
  • Current zoning, permitted uses, and any entitlements for redevelopment are not detailed.
  • Future plans or developer interest from the Village of Bloomingdale are unspecified.
  • Record verification status is 'draft', indicating some facts may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Spring Hill Mall, West Dundee, IL · Malls · opened 1980; closed 2024; also in IL
  • Lakeforest Mall, Gaithersburg, MD · Malls · similar GLA (1,045,000 sq ft); opened 1978; closed 2023
  • Des Plaines Mall, Des Plaines, IL · Malls · opened 1977; also in IL; 21 km away
  • Greenspoint Mall, Houston, TX · Malls · similar GLA (1,700,000 sq ft); opened 1976; closed 2024

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Stratford Square Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • 1,300,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
  • median rent $1,628

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1981Wikidata
Closed2024extracted, unreviewed
documented
The mall closed on April 21, 2024.

en.wikipedia.org

Gross leasable area1,300,000 sq ftextracted, unreviewed
documented
the 1,300,000-square-foot indoor shopping mall

en.wikipedia.org

Original developerUrban Retail Properties Co.extracted, unreviewed
documented
Originally owned by Urban Retail Properties Co., the 1,300,000-square-foot indoor shopping mall was designed by RTKL Associates, and built by Graycor of Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois.

en.wikipedia.org

ArchitectRTKL Associates
AnchorsJCPenney, Sears, Carson Pirie Scott, Kohl's, Montgomery Ward, Marshall Field's, Wieboldt's, MainStreet
CountyDuPage County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Stratford Square Mall was a shopping mall that opened on March 9, 1981, in Bloomingdale, Illinois, a northwestern suburb of Chicago, Illinois, United States. Originally owned by Urban Retail Properties Co., the 1,300,000-square-foot (120,000 m2) indoor shopping mall was designed by RTKL Associates, and built by Graycor of Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois. Just before its closing, Stratford Square had six vacant anchor spaces that were last occupied by JCPenney, Carson Pirie Scott, Sears, Round One, Century Theatres, and Burlington. The former Marshall Field's/Macy's space was demolished in 2019 to make way for a new Woodman's Markets grocery store building. The mall was bought by Namdar Realty Group in 2019. On January 22, 2024, the Village of Bloomingdale purchased the mall and gave all of the remaining tenants in the mall a 90-day notice. The mall closed on April 21, 2024. Demolition started on the mall in October 2024 and was completed in 2025.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1979 Ground broken
  2. 1981 Opened (Wikidata)
  3. 1981 Opened
  4. 1999 Major renovation completed
  5. 2005 Acquired by Feldman Mall Properties
  6. 2014 Acquired by StreetMac LLC
  7. 2019 Bought by Namdar Realty Group
  8. 2024 Purchased by Village of Bloomingdale
  9. 2024 Demolition started
  10. 2025 Demolition completed

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Stratford Square Mall · supports: gla sqft, original developer, status, year closed
    13 quoted sentences
    The mall closed on April 21, 2024.
    the 1,300,000-square-foot indoor shopping mall
    Originally owned by Urban Retail Properties Co., the 1,300,000-square-foot indoor shopping mall was designed by RTKL Associates, and built by Graycor of Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois.
    Demolition started on the mall in October 2024 and was completed in 2025.

More in Illinois