Malls · Illinois
Yorktown Center
Yorktown Center, a Lombard mall, remains operating amid distressed loan special servicing and a planned deed‑in‑lieu workout for the asset. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
CMBS special servicing
This site: Planned use: Workout strategy: deed-in-lieu. research-deals · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 162,645 on Ronald Reagan Memorial Hwy fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -12% census-cbp · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,105/mo zillow · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: Ronald Reagan Memorial Hwy fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -0.5% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingpublic reporting reported |
|---|
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-07 | Special servicing · special servicing | — | · lender CGCC 2014-FL1 trust · loan $107.4M | Connect CRE 2026-07-16 |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Yorktown Center” and “Lombard” (62 hits, first 62 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2004-05-26 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2004 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | Citigroup Commercial Mortgage Trust 2004-C1 | 2 | 2004-07-09 to 2004-07-09 | 8-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | CITIGROUP COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 1 | 2004-05-26 to 2004-05-26 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | APARTMENT INVESTMENT & MANAGEMENT CO (AIV) | 2 | 2016-10-27 to 2017-02-02 | 8-K 2 |
Site context
| Housing permits, DuPage County (IL), 2024 | 647 units in 5+ unit buildings, 19 in 2–4, 784 single-family; 2023: 303 in 5+Census BPS |
|---|---|
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 14 within 25 km: North Park Mall (7.6 km)computed |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 53,372 jobs in 2,647 establishments; average annual pay $50,645; employment location quotient 0.86; employment +0.6% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 4,464 jobs; 1,364 in retail trade, 858 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 17043844308)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 56th income percentile as adults; -0.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (219 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 5% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 14.6%; median family income $84,911; 69 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Glenbard Township High School District 87 (09-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: John Schroder Early Childhood CtrNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 744 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 361 county-logged events: 201 thunderstorm wind, 53 hail, 47 flood, 28 flash flood; $405,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 60148, 2026-09 | median list price $422,200 (+7.9% on the year); 113 active listings; median 33 days on market; 15% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,924 establishments (-12%); 56,986 jobs (-4%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $437,880 (+4% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $2,105/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 162,645 vehicles a day on Ronald Reagan Memorial Hwy (Interstate, 6 lanes); 12,400 trucks; 18 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Yorktown Center opened as a regional mall in Lombard, Illinois and has continued to operate. The record shows it is currently subject to a distressed loan and has entered special servicing with a workout strategy of deed‑in‑lieu. No further timeline of ownership changes is provided.
Why. The record attributes the site’s challenges to a distressed loan or foreclosure risk, triggering special servicing. Specific causes such as anchor tenant loss or competition are not stated in the record.
Where it stands. Yorktown Center remains operating but is under special servicing by the CGCC 2014‑FL1 trust, indicating lender‑level control over the asset.
For a planner
- - Precedent: deed‑in‑lieu workout used as a loss‑mitigation strategy.
- - Policy tool observed: special servicing arrangement to manage distressed debt.
- - Open questions: timing of ownership transfer, future land‑use plans, and impacts on local tax revenue and infrastructure.
For a developer
- - Control: lender CGCC 2014‑FL1 trust involved via special servicing; current owner not specified.
- - Entitlement stage: not stated in the record.
- - Site size, zoning, floodplain, transit access, and market demographics are unknown from the record.
What we do not know yet
- - Exact opening date and original anchor tenant mix are not provided.
- - Current ownership entity besides the lender is unspecified.
- - Site acreage, zoning designation, and land‑use entitlements are missing.
- - Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands) and transit proximity are not detailed.
- - The verified status is draft and based on a single source, indicating limited data confidence.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Yorktown Center - Lombard | Enjoy Illinois enjoyillinois.com
- Westin Lombard Yorktown Center (DuPage County, IL) (2573413598) commons.wikimedia.org
- YORKTOWN CENTER - All You SHOULD Know Before You Go 2026 (w/ Reviews & Photos) tripadvisor.co.nz
- Yorktown Center (Lombard, Il) | Malls and Retail Wiki | Fandom malls.fandom.com
- Yorktown Center | Premier Shopping in Lombard, IL yorktowncenter.com
- Why Your Next Family Day Out Should Be at Yorktown Center - O the Places We Go otheplaceswego.com
- Lombard’s Yorktown Center is undergoing a significant renovation that ... fabworldtoday.com
- Trip to the Mall: Yorktown Center- (Lombard, IL) triptothemall.blogspot.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- median rent $1,628
- distressed loan or foreclosure
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| County | DuPage County |
|---|---|
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Record created from a 2024+ transaction, listing or loan report; no retrofit recorded. |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Sources
- Return to Lender: Week of July 16, 2026 · 2026-07-16
1 quoted sentence
Yorktown Center ($107.4 million | CGCC 2014-FL1) has moved to special servicing for the fifth time.
More in Illinois
Spring Hill MallWest Dundee, IL · 2015Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, open air streetSt Charles MallSt Charles, IL · 2016Redeveloped · Redevelopment: residential, new streets