Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Illinois

Machesney Park Mall

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedClosedMachesney Park, IL

Opened 1978. Closed 2008. Redeveloped in 2009.

Status nowClosedextracted, unreviewed
documented
This move left the former mall with no retailers, leaving it mostly vacant.

en.wikipedia.org

What it becameretail, office, otherextracted, unreviewed reported
Site size581,883 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit year2009extracted, unreviewed reported
Walkability9.5 of 20 · 15-minute 5 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
County home values up 50%+ in 5 yearsThis site: +55% zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Low social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)This site: 0.21 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -1.0% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +116% fhfa · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: …mostly vacant extraction · all sites with this
New use
OfficeThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Retail (continued)This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedextracted, unreviewed
documented
This move left the former mall with no retailers, leaving it mostly vacant.

en.wikipedia.org

StrategyRedevelopedextracted, unreviewed
documented
Since being acquired by Rubloff Development Group in December 2003, the mall has been undergoing internal demolition in preparation for redevelopment.

en.wikipedia.org

New usesretail, office, otherextracted, unreviewed reported
What is there nowmostly vacantextracted, unreviewed
documented
This move left the former mall with no retailers, leaving it mostly vacant.

en.wikipedia.org

Retrofit year2009extracted, unreviewed reported
RedeveloperRubloff Development Groupextracted, unreviewed reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Machesney Park Mall” and “Machesney Park” (10 hits, first 10 sampled, 4 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ)42002-05-17 to 2003-02-078-K 4
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/22001-03-30 to 2002-04-0110-K 2

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m5: HARLEM CONSOLIDATED SCHOOLS; IMPROVEMENT PLANS FOR THE HARLEM COMMUNITY CENTER; MACHESNEY PARK STARBUCKS DEVELOPMENT; MACHESNEY PARK, VILLAGE OF; NPPWD PFAS WATER TREATMENT PLANTEPA FRS
Census tract 172010001014,452 people, 2,590 per sq mi; median household income $62,940; median gross rent $1,064; 23% renters; 15.2% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 9.5 of 20; 93 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.7; 33,883 jobs within 45 min by car; 10% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 2 schools, 7 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 2 civic, 5 food and drink; 1 cycleway segments, 0 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Winnebago County (IL), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 36 in 2–4, 248 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.21; socioeconomic 0.43; housing and transport 0.16; 16% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 2 within 25 km: Former Kmart on East State Street (10.0 km)computed
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 5,991 m², 4.595070838928223 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Attention: Wikipedia page views23,684 since 2015; 2,220 in the last 12 months (-8% vs the prior 12); peak 2021-04 with 340Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -10% (4,974 → 4,452); median income +43% ($44,076 → $62,940); renters 22% → 23%; median home value +14% ($109,300 → $125,200)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 78.8); expected annual loss $3.6M; high: inland flooding, cold wave; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 74 units: Bayview Elderly (74 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)13,847 jobs in 786 establishments; average annual pay $37,926; employment location quotient 1.11; employment -2.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 2022767 jobs; 231 in retail trade, 91 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 17201000101)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 36th income percentile as adults; 2.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (490 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 80% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 4.8%; median family income $68,750; 121 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsHarlem Unit School District 122 (PK-12); 4 public schools within 1 mile: Olson Park Elem School; Donald C Parker Early Educ Center; Marquette Elem School; Machesney Elem SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation737 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025250 county-logged events: 127 thunderstorm wind, 60 hail, 23 flood, 17 flash flood; $3,571,000 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 61115, 2026-09median list price $252,200 (+1.9% on the year); 24 active listings; median 27 days on market; 21% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023889 establishments (-10%); 13,950 jobs (-3%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $211,111 (+9% 1 yr, +55% 5 yr); typical rent $1,293/mo (+7% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025433 (2000 = 100); +11.2% 1 yr, +70% 5 yr, +116% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)20,092 vehicles a day on N 2ND ST (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 750 trucks; 5 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Machesney Park Mall opened in 1978 developed by Melvin Simon and Associates. From the 1990s onward anchor tenants closed or relocated, leading to the enclosed portion closing in 2008. The site was redeveloped in 2009 by Rubloff Development Group as an open‑air plaza anchored by Burlington Coat Factory and Big Lots, but those anchors left in 2024‑2025, leaving the property mostly vacant.

Why. The record shows steady decline driven by anchor tenant losses (Prange Way/Younkers/Bergner's closures) and subsequent relocations. No explicit mention of debt, competition, or other causes is provided.

Where it stands. The site is currently mostly vacant and controlled by Rubloff Development Group, which has owned it since 2003 and oversaw the 2009 retrofit.

For a planner

  • Precedent: conversion of an enclosed mall to an open‑air plaza.
  • Policy tools used are not stated in the record.
  • Open questions: what future use or redevelopment is viable after recent anchor exits?
  • Need to assess zoning, land‑use compatibility, and community input for next steps.

For a developer

  • Site size: 581,883 sq ft GLA (large footprint).
  • Control: single owner (Rubloff Development Group) since 2003.
  • Entitlement stage: retrofit already built (2009); no further entitlements noted.
  • Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment) are not detailed in the record.
  • Market signals from tract data are not provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact current vacancy rate and condition of structures are unknown.
  • Reasons behind anchor closures (e.g., lease terms, market shifts) are not specified.
  • Potential environmental, flood, or transit constraints are not described.
  • Any existing debt, liens, or financial encumbrances on the property are not mentioned.
  • The opp_score of 0.0 indicates low perceived opportunity due to the retrofit already being built and the large site size.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Prestonwood Mall, Dallas, TX · Malls · similar GLA (462,277 sq ft); opened 1979; closed 2004
  • Century Plaza, Birmingham, AL · Malls · similar GLA (740,000 sq ft); opened 1975; closed 2009
  • Wayne Towne Center, Wayne, NJ · Malls · similar GLA (653,000 sq ft); opened 1974; closed 2008
  • Twin Peaks, Longmont, CO · Malls · similar GLA (555,919 sq ft); opened 1985; same strategy: redevelop

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Machesney Park Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • 581,883 sq ft GLA (large site)

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1978Wikidata
Closed2008extracted, unreviewed
documented
By 2008, its enclosed portion had closed; the site was later redeveloped as an open-air shopping plaza anchored by Burlington Coat Factory and Big Lots.

en.wikipedia.org

Gross leasable area581,883 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak15Esri 2014 layer reported
Original developerMelvin Simon and Associates (now Simon Property Group)extracted, unreviewed
documented
Developed by Melvin Simon and Associates (now Simon Property Group).

en.wikipedia.org

AnchorsBurlington Coat Factory, JCPenney, Kohl's, Bergner's, Seventh Ave., Big Lots, Prange Way, H. C. Prange
AddressN. Second St. & Harlem Rd.
CountyWinnebago
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Machesney Park Mall was a shopping mall in Machesney Park, Illinois, a village in the Rockford, Illinois metropolitan area. Developed by Melvin Simon and Associates on the site of the former Machesney Airport, the mall declined steadily from the 1990s onward as anchor tenants closed or relocated. By 2008, its enclosed portion had closed; the site was later redeveloped as an open-air shopping plaza anchored by Burlington Coat Factory and Big Lots. That effort largely failed: Big Lots closed in 2024 amid bankruptcy, and Burlington Coat Factory relocated in 2025, leaving the site without retailers.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1978 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1978 Mall opened
  3. 1990 Prange Way closed and replaced by Phar-Mor
  4. 1992 H. C. Prange acquired by Younkers
  5. 1996 Younkers closed stores, replaced by Bergner's
  6. 2003 Acquired by Rubloff Development Group
  7. 2008 Enclosed portion closed
  8. 2009 Burlington Coat Factory opened
  9. 2024 Big Lots closed due to bankruptcy
  10. 2025 Burlington Coat Factory announced move out

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Machesney Park Mall · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
    14 quoted sentences
    By 2008, its enclosed portion had closed; the site was later redeveloped as an open-air shopping plaza anchored by Burlington Coat Factory and Big Lots.
    Developed by Melvin Simon and Associates (now Simon Property Group).
    This move left the former mall with no retailers, leaving it mostly vacant.
    This move left the former mall with no retailers, leaving it mostly vacant.
  • Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02

More in Illinois