Malls · Maryland
The Gallery at Harborplace
The Gallery at Harborplace, a Rouse‑Company‑developed Inner Harbor mall, closed in 2022 and remains largely vacant amid county population decline. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile15 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Attention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)
This site: 18,750 views, +149% wikimedia · all sites with thisClosed or demolished, no retrofit recorded
This site: …closed extraction · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 599,175 epa-walkability · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 292 units in 2 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 8 within 10 km computed · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 300 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -13% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Otterbein Church; U.S. Custom House nps-nrhp · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 62% census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -6.1% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 18 epa-walkability · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …largely vacant shopping mall and restaurant complex extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| What is there now | largely vacant shopping mall and restaurant complexextracted, unreviewed |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “The Gallery at Harborplace” and “Downtown Baltimore” (1 hits, first 1 sampled). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2003-09-17 (a sample date, not the issuance date); Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | JP MORGAN CHASE COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP | 1 | 2003-09-17 to 2003-09-17 | 8-K 1 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Brookfield Property REIT (formerly GGP) 10-K, 2021-02-26 | The Gallery At Harborplace Baltimore, MD match: exact | 383,000 in-line 91,000 | 63.0% leased | 46.0% | Victoria Secret, Footlocker, Forever 21, Spaces | ||
| 2016 | GGP Inc. 10-K, 2017-02-22 | The Gallery at Harborplace Baltimore, MD match: exact | 366,019 in-line 99,914 | 86.6% leased | 100.0% | |||
| 2012 | General Growth Properties 10-K, 2013-02-28 | The Gallery At Harborplace Baltimore, MD match: exact | 395,675 in-line 131,904 | 84.9% leased | 100.0% | |||
| 2009 | General Growth Properties 10-K, 2010-03-01 | The Gallery at Harborplace Baltimore, MD match: exact | 132,379 in-line 132,379 | |||||
| 2006 | General Growth Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01 | The Gallery at Harborplace Baltimore, MD match: exact | 132,105 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 50: 100 EAST PRATT; 100 LIGHT STREET; ALEX BROWN BUILDING; AMERICAN CAFE 301 SOUTH LIGHT ST.; BALTIMORE CITY COMMUNITY COLLEGEEPA FRS |
| Census tract 24510220100 | 4,455 people, 9,991 per sq mi; median household income $86,429; median gross rent $1,827; 62% renters; 9.1% vacant units; 4.6% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 18 of 20; 604 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 296 m; land-use mix 0.77; 159,198 jobs within 45 min by car, 599,175 by transit; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 3 schools, 48 parks or playgrounds, 8 health, 14 civic, 103 food and drink; 300 cycleway segments, 440 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 14: Otterbein Church; U.S. Custom House; Pratt Street Power Plant; Canton HouseNPS |
| Housing permits, Baltimore (Independent City) (MD), 2024 | 1,104 units in 5+ unit buildings, 4 in 2–4, 165 single-family; 2023: 1,749 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.51; socioeconomic 0.39; housing and transport 0.77; 27% below 150% of poverty; 22% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 8 within 10 km, 22 within 25 km: The Brokerage (0.6 km); The Fishmarket (0.6 km); Village of Cross Keys (0.6 km); Brown's Arcade (0.9 km); Old Town Mall (1.4 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 9,698 m², 10.618263244628906 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 107,132 since 2015; 18,750 in the last 12 months (+149% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-01 with 2,595Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +11% (4,015 → 4,455); median income +50% ($57,574 → $86,429); renters 68% → 62%; median home value +27% ($342,000 → $433,600)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 42.9); expected annual loss $1.4M; high: heat wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 292 units: Sharp Leadenhall Apts Ii (191 units); Park View At Catonsville Ii (101 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,598 establishments (-13%); 23,927 jobs (+39%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $181,356 (-4% 1 yr, +6% 5 yr); typical rent $1,764/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 370 (2000 = 100); +1.2% 1 yr, +17% 5 yr, +18% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 18,991 vehicles a day on 1390 (principal arterial, 5 lanes); 887 trucks; 35 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The Gallery at Harborplace was developed by the Rouse Company and operated as a shopping mall and restaurant complex at Baltimore's Inner Harbor. It remained open until it closed in 2022 and has since remained largely vacant.
Why. The record notes the site was closed or demolished and highlights a 6.1% county population shrinkage between 2018 and 2023, indicating market weakness as a likely cause.
Where it stands. As of 2022 the Gallery at Harborplace remains closed and largely vacant, with ownership or controlling entity not specified in the record.
For a planner
- Precedent: other closed or demolished mall sites referenced in the opp_reasons.
- Policy tools: not stated in the record.
- Open questions: what reuse strategies are viable given the vacancy and ongoing county population loss.
For a developer
- Site size: not stated in the record.
- Control: not stated in the record.
- Entitlement stage: not stated in the record.
- Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment): not stated in the record.
- Market signals from tract data: not stated in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Key facts missing: exact site size, current owner or controlling entity, entitlement/zoning status.
- Missing context details: flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints.
- No detailed market or tract data provided to assess demand.
- Verification status is draft, and several fields are model‑extracted without noted review.
- Unclear whether the site has been demolished or merely closed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- The Gallery at Harborplace | Group Tours grouptours.net
- The Gallery at Harborplace - The Skys… skyscrapercenter.com
- The Interior of the Gallery at Harborplace in Baltimore, Maryla… dreamstime.com
- Inner Harbor’s ‘The Gallery at Harborplace’ Mall to Close by th… southbmore.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county shrank -6.1% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Closed | 2022extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Original developer | Rouse Companyextracted, unreviewed |
| County | Baltimore city |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Abandoned shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Harborplace is a largely vacant shopping mall and restaurant complex at the Inner Harbor in Downtown Baltimore, Maryland, composed of three retail structures: the Pratt Street Pavilion, the Light Street Pavilion, and The Gallery at Harborplace, all of which were developed by the Rouse Company of Columbia, Maryland. Other adjacent structures include an office tower on 111 S. Calvert Street known as Harborplace Tower, and the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, both adjacent to the Gallery mall, which remains closed as of January 2022.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 2022 Remained closed as of January 2022
Sources
- Wikipedia: The Gallery at Harborplace · supports: after notes, original developer, status, year closed
5 quoted sentences
the Gallery mall, which remains closed as of January 2022.
all of which were developed by the Rouse Company of Columbia, Maryland.
Harborplace is a largely vacant shopping mall and restaurant complex at the Inner Harbor in Downtown Baltimore, Maryland.
the Gallery mall, which remains closed as of January 2022.