Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Maryland

Eastpoint Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedDundalk, MD

Eastpoint Mall opened 1956, evolved through anchor losses, closed 2026, with only outside-entrance stores still operating; future reuse uncertain today · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Eastpoint Mall
Eastpoint Mall. Photo: Mike Kalasnik, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile15 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Attention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)This site: 7,048 views, +153% wikimedia · all sites with this
Closed or demolished, no retrofit recordedThis site: …closed extraction · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/98819081807 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://eastpointmall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 8 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 39,663 on 695 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High heat wave riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: 695 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Tract income flat or down since 2013This site: +8% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 14 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Scale
Building footprint 50,000+ m²This site: 58,770 m² overture · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedextracted, unreviewed
What is there nowonly select stores with outside entrances remain open at this timeextracted, unreviewed

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 3 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km38, 38A, 38B, 39OpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m17: BEAZER HOMES USA-THE PRESERVE AT WINDLASS RUN; BOB BELL CHEVROLET; CACTUS WILLIE S; CLASSIC AUTO RESTORATION SERVICE; FAIRLANES BOWLINGEPA FRS
Census tract 240054524003,579 people, 751 per sq mi; median household income $59,740; median gross rent $1,302; 9% renters; 4.4% vacant units; 0.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 14 of 20; 36 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 453 m; land-use mix 0.87; 95,652 jobs within 45 min by car, 92,818 by transit; 13% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 2 schools, 5 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 2 civic, 10 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 23 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Baltimore County (MD), 2024643 units in 5+ unit buildings, 2 in 2–4, 866 single-family; 2023: 554 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.52; socioeconomic 0.55; housing and transport 0.24; 11% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby8 within 10 km, 19 within 25 km: Golden Ring Mall (5.8 km); Procter and Gamble Baltimore Plant (7.3 km); Old Town Mall (8.0 km); The Brokerage (8.3 km); The Fishmarket (8.3 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Eastpoint Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 58,770 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialeastpointmall.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views42,373 since 2015; 7,048 in the last 12 months (+153% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-06 with 1,930Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +5% (3,415 → 3,579); median income +8% ($55,577 → $59,740); renters 14% → 9%; median home value +54% ($200,000 → $307,400)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 27.1); expected annual loss $1.0M; high: heat wave, winter weather; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,467 establishments (-10%); 49,045 jobs (+2%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $358,090 (+0% 1 yr, +14% 5 yr); typical rent $1,731/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025334 (2000 = 100), +41% 5 yr, +71% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)39,663 vehicles a day on 695 (Interstate, 4 lanes); 3,438 trucks; 35 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Eastpoint Mall opened in 1956 as Eastpoint Shopping Center, was enclosed in 1972 and saw anchor changes including JCPenney opening in 1974, Hutzler's closing in 1984 and conversion to a food court in 1991, and later losses of Steve & Barry's (2008), DSW (2016) and Sears (announced 2017). The record indicates the mall closed in 2026, with only select stores having outside entrances remaining open.

Why. The record shows repeated anchor tenant losses—Hutzler's, Steve & Barry's, DSW and Sears—which likely contributed to declining occupancy and the eventual closure. No explicit causes such as competition, debt or demolition are stated.

Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed (as of 2026) with only a few outside-entrance stores still operating; the record does not specify who owns or controls the site.

For a planner

  • The site transitioned from an open shopping center (1956) to an enclosed mall (1972) and experienced multiple anchor tenant turnovers.
  • Policy tools used are not detailed in the record; any zoning or redevelopment incentives would need to be verified elsewhere.
  • Open questions include the future use of the enclosed structure, the status of remaining outside‑entrance tenants, and potential infrastructure or environmental considerations.

For a developer

  • Site size and ownership are not provided in the record.
  • Entitlement stage and any development approvals are not mentioned.
  • No flood, transit, or environmental constraints are noted in the record, and market‑signal data (e.g., tract rent, demographics) are absent.

What we do not know yet

  • Year closed (2026), status, and after_notes are model‑extracted fields marked as extraction and unverified (verified: draft).
  • Owner or controlling entity of the property is not specified.
  • Detailed site dimensions, parcel boundaries, and current tenant list beyond “outside‑entrance stores” are missing.
  • Zoning designation, land‑use approvals, and any pending planning applications are absent from the record.
  • Flood‑plain, transit access, and environmental‑constraint layers are not included, so their presence or impact is unknown.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • median rent $1,566

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1956Wikidata
Closed2026extracted, unreviewed
AnchorsJCPenney, Gabe's, Black Friday Outlet
CountyBaltimore County
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Eastpoint Mall, formerly Eastpoint Shopping Center, is a defunct mall located in Baltimore County. Eastpoint Mall was one of Baltimore's first shopping centers and had been serving the community since 1956.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1956 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1956 Opened as Eastpoint Shopping Center
  3. 1972 Enclosed
  4. 1974 JCPenney opened anchor store
  5. 1981 Record Bar store opened
  6. 1984 Hutzler's store closed
  7. 1991 Hutzler's space became food court
  8. 2008 Steve & Barry's closed
  9. 2010 DSW and Shoppers World opened
  10. 2016 DSW closed
  11. 2017 Sears closing announced

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Eastpoint Mall · supports: after notes, status, year closed
    13 quoted sentences
    It was abruptly announced on June 18, 2026 that the mall would be closing on August 31, 2026.
    As of September 1, 2026, the interior portion of the mall was closed and only select stores with outside entrances remain open at this time.
    As of September 1, 2026, the interior portion of the mall was closed and only select stores with outside entrances remain open at this time.
    Eastpoint Shopping Center opened on October 1, 1956 as an outdoor mall, with anchor stores Hutzler's and Hochschild Kohn's.

More in Maryland