Malls · Maryland
Towson Circle
Towson Circle became Circle East mixed-use, featuring Avalon Towson apartments, retail, and Cinemark anchor; current status and control remain unknown. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile15 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Website dead or redirecting
This site: …http://towson-square.com overture / http check · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 164,528 epa-walkability · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 383 units in 3 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 34,301 on 146 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 50 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 8 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $40,789 census-acs · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Towson Academy nps-nrhp · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 66% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income flat or down since 2013
This site: -21% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 19.3 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikipedia |
|---|
Planning
| Planning notes | Avalon Towsonextracted, unreviewed |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Towson Circle” and “Towson” (129 hits, first 100 sampled). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | INLAND WESTERN RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC | 90 | 2004-07-29 to 2021-08-03 | 8-K 36, 8-K/A 24, 10-K 17, 10-Q 13 |
| Public owner (weak) | KITE REALTY GROUP TRUST (KRG) | 5 | 2022-02-28 to 2026-02-17 | 10-K 5 |
| Public owner (weak) | Kite Realty Group, L.P. | 5 | 2022-02-28 to 2026-02-17 | 10-K 5 |
| Public owner (weak) | AVALONBAY COMMUNITIES INC (AVB) | 5 | 2022-02-25 to 2026-02-27 | 10-K 5 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 10 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 26, 26A, 26B, 27AOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 48: AABSCO BODY-FENDER; ADOLPH, RICHARD MD; ALLEGHENY PARKING FAC; BALTIMORE COFFEE & TEA COMPANY; BALTIMORE COUNTY COURTHOUSEEPA FRS |
| Census tract 24005490900 | 4,881 people, 8,339 per sq mi; median household income $40,789; median gross rent $1,366; 66% renters; 4.4% vacant units; 1.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 19.3 of 20; 205 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 164 m; land-use mix 0.96; 114,490 jobs within 45 min by car, 164,528 by transit; 39% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 8 grocers, 5 schools, 39 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 11 civic, 87 food and drink; 50 cycleway segments, 270 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 1: Towson AcademyNPS |
| Housing permits, Baltimore County (MD), 2024 | 643 units in 5+ unit buildings, 2 in 2–4, 866 single-family; 2023: 554 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.62; socioeconomic 0.59; housing and transport 0.89; 32% below 150% of poverty; 30% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 3 within 10 km, 19 within 25 km: Towson Commons (0.2 km); Towson Marketplace (1.8 km); Rotunda Mall (7.7 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Towson Square (shopping_mall, confidence 0.77, from Foursquare, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 7,654 m², 10.500667572021484 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | towson-square.com (down or redirecting, status 0); archived 2015–2017 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 435 since 2015; 435 in the last 12 months; peak 2026-08 with 217Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +9% (4,485 → 4,881); median income -21% ($51,902 → $40,789); renters 66% → 66%; median home value +55% ($220,900 → $342,400)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 34.1); expected annual loss $969,975; high: heat wave, winter weather; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 3 LIHTC properties, 383 units: Tabco Towers Apartments (200 units); Timothy House (112 units); Aigburth Vale (71 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,467 establishments (-10%); 49,045 jobs (+2%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $358,090 (+0% 1 yr, +14% 5 yr); typical rent $1,731/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 458 (2000 = 100); +1.6% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr, +59% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 34,301 vehicles a day on 146 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,033 trucks; 30 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Towson Circle opened as a mall and was later redeveloped into Circle East, a mixed-use development that includes outdoor retail, the Avalon Towson residential component, and casual dining. An adjacent former restaurant district known as Towson Square was built by The Cordish Companies and Heritage Properties, Inc., and the site is anchored by a 15‑screen Cinemark Towson and XD. The record lists the site’s current status as unknown.
Why. The record does not specify causes such as anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition that led to the redevelopment.
Where it stands. The site’s status is unknown and the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- Example of mall-to-mixed‑use redevelopment with residential (Avalon Towson) and retail components.
- Planning notes reference Avalon Towson, suggesting possible inclusionary or affordable‑housing considerations.
- Open questions include current ownership, zoning designation, and future development intentions.
- The adjacent Towson Square restaurant district indicates prior entertainment‑focused planning.
For a developer
- Exact site size is not specified in the record.
- Control/ownership is unclear, affecting acquisition or partnership strategies.
- Entitlement stage and any pending approvals are not documented.
- Market signal: median rent of $1,566 suggests solid residential demand; context layers (flood, transit, environment) are not detailed.
What we do not know yet
- Exact parcel size and boundaries are not provided.
- Current ownership, management entity, and any existing deeds or leases are unknown.
- Status of anchor tenants (Cinemark) and vacancy rates are not disclosed.
- Zoning, land‑use entitlements, and any pending planning applications are absent from the record.
- Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) and transit access are not described.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Towson Circle Video Shows New Angle On Area | Towson, MD P… patch.com
- Towson Circle Condos for Rent - Towson, MD from | Apartments.com apartments.com
- Towson Circle (102218803) commons.wikimedia.org
- towsoncircle – The Sachs Report thesachsreport.com
- Heavy police presence reported in the Towson circle area - WCBM News ... wcbm.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- median rent $1,566
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Now called / also known as | Towson Square |
|---|---|
| Anchors | Cinemark Towson and XD |
| County | Baltimore County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Circle East, originally known as Towson Circle, is a mixed-use development in Towson, Maryland, consisting of outdoor retail, Avalon Towson, and casual dining. An adjacent former restaurant district, known as Towson Square, was estimated to cost $85 million to be built by its developers, The Cordish Companies and Heritage Properties, Inc. It is anchored by the 15-screen Cinemark Towson and XD, and formerly also featured several restaurants.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: Towson Circle · 2026-08-23 · CC BY-SA 4.0