Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Michigan

Brighton Mall

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedOperatingBrighton, MI

Opened 1970. Redeveloped in 1996.

Status nowOperatingextracted, unreviewed
documented
Brighton Mall is a shopping mall located in Brighton, Michigan, United States.

en.wikipedia.org

What it becameretailextracted, unreviewed reported
Retrofit year1996extracted, unreviewed reported
Walkability15.8 of 20 · 15-minute 4 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Brighton Mall
Brighton Mall. Photo: W8TVI (talk), Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile13 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/143187439027005 overture · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …https://brighton-mall.hub.biz/ overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 86,968 on E I 96 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: E I 96 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 58% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +120% fhfa · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +116% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 15.8 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: …a power centre with retail anchors including Marshalls, Michaels, Aldi, PetSmart, Jo-Ann Etc., Best Buy, Gardner-White Furniture, and a Halo Burger restaurant extraction · all sites with this
New use
GroceryThis site: …r centre with retail anchors including Marshalls, Michaels, Aldi, PetSmart, Jo-Ann Etc., Best Buy, Gardner-White Furniture, extraction · all sites with this
Retail (continued)This site: …a power centre with retail anchors including Marshalls, Michaels, Aldi, Pe extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingextracted, unreviewed
documented
Brighton Mall is a shopping mall located in Brighton, Michigan, United States.

en.wikipedia.org

StrategyRedevelopedextracted, unreviewed
documented
the center was re-developed in 1996 as a power centre, retaining the name Brighton Mall.

en.wikipedia.org

New usesretailextracted, unreviewed reported
What is there nowa power centre with retail anchors including Marshalls, Michaels, Aldi, PetSmart, Jo-Ann Etc., Best Buy, Gardner-White Furniture, and a Halo Burger restaurantextracted, unreviewed
documented
Anchor stores for the property are Marshalls, Michaels, Aldi, PetSmart, Jo-Ann Etc., Best Buy, and Gardner-White Furniture.

en.wikipedia.org

Retrofit year1996extracted, unreviewed reported

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m7: ASPEN DENTAL OF MICHIGAN PC; BED BATH & BEYOND INC; BEST BUY CO INC; BOBS TIRE & AUTO SERVICE INC; BRIGHTON MALL CLEANERSEPA FRS
Census tract 260937411002,088 people, 1,207 per sq mi; median household income $73,378; median gross rent $1,297; 58% renters; 10.0% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 15.8 of 20; 130 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 1,156 m; land-use mix 0.83; 79,737 jobs within 45 min by car, 755 by transit; 2% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)4 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 2 civic, 19 food and drink; 4 cycleway segments, 41 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Livingston County (MI), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 2 in 2–4, 486 single-family; 2023: 304 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.42; socioeconomic 0.54; housing and transport 0.65; 15% below 150% of poverty; 16% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Brighton Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.85, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 18,909 m², 5.8 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialbrighton-mall.hub.biz (down or redirecting, status 403) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views22,922 since 2015; 1,541 in the last 12 months (-4% vs the prior 12); peak 2015-07 with 336Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -10% (2,314 → 2,088); median income +116% ($33,977 → $73,378); renters 67% → 58%; median home value +63% ($154,200 → $251,800)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 23.0); expected annual loss $735,844; high: tornado, strong wind; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)8,167 jobs in 477 establishments; average annual pay $45,273; employment location quotient 1.28; employment -1.6% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20215,009 jobs; 1,462 in retail trade, 1,085 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 26093741100)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2021
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 41th income percentile as adults; 1.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (115 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 15.1%; median family income $82,500; 31 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsBrighton Area Schools (KG-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: Charyl Stockwell Academy High School; Charyl Stockwell Academy Middle School; FlexTech High SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation930 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025108 county-logged events: 86 thunderstorm wind, 14 hail, 3 flood, 3 tornado; $2,481,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 48116, 2026-09median list price $450,448 (+13.7% on the year); 70 active listings; median 41 days on market; 14% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023553 establishments (-8%); 8,808 jobs (+2%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $402,827 (+3% 1 yr, +24% 5 yr); typical rent $1,933/mo (+6% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2024530 (2000 = 100), +52% 5 yr, +120% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)86,968 vehicles a day on E I 96 (Interstate, 6 lanes); 9,096 trucks; 35 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Brighton Mall opened in 1970 as an enclosed mall and was reopened as an enclosed mall in 1971. In 1993 plans were announced to convert it to a strip mall, completed in 1995, and the property was re‑developed as a power centre in 1996. Since then anchor tenants have shifted, with Farmer Jack closing, Marshalls replacing it, Sears Essentials closing in 2012, and Halo Burger opening in 2014; the mall currently operates as a power centre with the listed retail anchors.

Why. The redevelopment was driven by the closure of anchor stores such as Farmer Jack and later Sears Essentials, reflecting shifting retail demand. The record does not cite competition, debt, or demolition as explicit causes.

Where it stands. The mall is currently operating as a power centre; ownership is not stated in the record.

For a planner

  • Precedent: conversion from enclosed mall to power centre (1993‑1996) shows feasibility of retrofitting under similar market pressure.
  • Policy tools: the record does not specify any zoning incentives, tax abatements, or public‑private partnerships used for the retrofit.
  • Open questions: whether the site can support further intensification or mixed‑use redevelopment given the county’s 3.5% growth (2018‑23) and lacking data on transit, flood risk, or environmental constraints.

For a developer

  • Site size: not stated in the record.
  • Control/ownership: not stated; the mall is operating as a power centre post‑retrofit.
  • Entitlement stage: already retrofitted and operating; no further entitlement noted.
  • Constraints from context layers: flood, transit, and environmental factors are not provided in the record.
  • Market signals: opp_score 0.0 with reasons “retrofit already built” and county grew 3.5% 2018‑23, indicating limited additional upside from recent growth.

What we do not know yet

  • Owner/entity controlling the property is unknown.
  • Parcel size and exact boundaries are not provided.
  • Zoning designation and any entitlements beyond the existing power‑centre use are unspecified.
  • Context‑layer data (floodplain, transit access, environmental constraints) are missing.
  • Detailed tenant mix, lease terms, vacancy rates, and financial performance are not included.
  • The record’s verified status is “draft” and opp_score is 0.0, indicating limited assessed opportunity.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Livonia Mall, Livonia, MI · Malls · opened 1964; same strategy: redevelop; also in MI
  • Arborland Center, Ann Arbor, MI · Malls · same strategy: redevelop; also in MI; 33 km away
  • Maple Hill Mall, Oshtemo, MI · Malls · opened 1971; same strategy: redevelop; also in MI
  • Tel-Twelve Mall, Southfield, MI · Malls · opened 1968; same strategy: redevelop; also in MI

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • county grew 3.5% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1970Wikidata
AnchorsMarshalls, Best Buy, PetSmart, Michaels, Aldi, Jo-Ann Etc., Gardner-White Furniture
CountyLivingston County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Brighton Mall is a shopping mall located in Brighton, Michigan, United States. Opened in 1971 as an enclosed shopping mall, the center was re-developed in 1996 as a power centre, retaining the name Brighton Mall. Anchor stores for the property are Marshalls, Michaels, Aldi, PetSmart, Jo-Ann Etc., Best Buy, and Gardner-White Furniture.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1970 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1971 Opened as enclosed mall
  3. 1993 Plans announced to convert mall to strip mall
  4. 1995 Conversion completed; A&P demolished and built Farmer Jack
  5. 2004 Marshalls replaced Farmer Jack after its closure
  6. 2006 Kmart converted to Sears Essentials
  7. 2012 Sears Essentials (former Kmart) closed
  8. 2014 Halo Burger opened at mall

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Brighton Mall · supports: after notes, status, strategy
    12 quoted sentences
    Anchor stores for the property are Marshalls, Michaels, Aldi, PetSmart, Jo-Ann Etc., Best Buy, and Gardner-White Furniture.
    Brighton Mall is a shopping mall located in Brighton, Michigan, United States.
    the center was re-developed in 1996 as a power centre, retaining the name Brighton Mall.
    Brighton Mall opened in November 1971 as a small enclosed mall, with A&P supermarket, a W.T. Grant department store, a Perry Drug Stores pharmacy, and approximately twenty-five inline tenants.

More in Michigan