Retrofit Atlas

Malls · North Carolina

Southgate Mall (Elizabeth City)

Imported, unreviewedClosedElizabeth City, NC

Opened 1969.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size225,642 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability11.2 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
BelkThis site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/821278494409962 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.southgatemallec.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 409 units in 6 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
High hurricane riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.95 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $27,447 census-acs · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 83% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +69% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Southgate Mall” and “Elizabeth City” (8 hits, first 8 sampled, 3 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-10-25 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2005 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)CD 2005-CD1 Commercial Mortgage Trust42005-10-27 to 2005-11-308-K 4
CMBS trust (weak)CITIGROUP COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC12005-10-25 to 2005-10-258-K 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m8: HARBOR VILLAGE APARTMENTS; K MART #9696; MERCHANTS TIRE & AUTO #7333; NEAAAT SCHOOL - GYM & SHOP ADDITION; SOUTHGATE KORETIZING DSCA ID 70-0001EPA FRS
Census tract 371399603002,571 people, 2,647 per sq mi; median household income $27,447; median gross rent $780; 83% renters; 13.9% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 11.2 of 20; 140 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.78; 5,752 jobs within 45 min by car; 27% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Pasquotank County (NC), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 153 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.95; socioeconomic 0.88; housing and transport 0.71; 69% below 150% of poverty; 20% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Former Kmart (2.1 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Southgate Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 15,980 m², 4.6489081382751465 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.southgatemallec.com (alive); archived 2003–2024 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population -11% (2,885 → 2,571); median income +69% ($16,205 → $27,447); renters 83% → 84%; median home value +143% ($67,400 → $163,500)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 43.4); expected annual loss $839,033; high: hurricane, winter weather, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km6 LIHTC properties, 409 units: Walker Landing (154 units); Morgan Pointe (120 units); Renaissance Commons (48 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)2,544 jobs in 182 establishments; average annual pay $35,309; employment location quotient 1.62; employment +4.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20221,165 jobs; 376 in retail trade, 267 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 37139960300)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 34th income percentile as adults; 3.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (812 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 29% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 49.2%; median family income $25,208; 569 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsPasquotank County Schools (PK-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: Northeast Academy of Aerospace & AdvTech; Northeastern High; P W Moore ElementaryNCES EDGE
Elevation9 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-202568 county-logged events: 22 heavy rain, 21 thunderstorm wind, 15 flash flood, 4 flood; $397,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 27909, 2026-09median list price $336,000 (-5.7% on the year); 204 active listings; median 67 days on market; 15% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023179 establishments (-7%); 2,445 jobs (-2%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $264,204 (+1% 1 yr, +33% 5 yr); typical rent $1,457/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)25,029 vehicles a day on NC-344 (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 16 trucks; 16 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Southgate Mall opened in 1969 in Elizabeth City, North Carolina. It operated as a mall with a peak of 31 stores and approximately 225,642 square feet of gross leasable area. The site is currently closed.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed; the record does not specify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No policy tools or precedents are documented in the record.
  • Open questions include the mall’s closure timeline, ownership, and potential reuse pathways.
  • Zoning and land‑use regulations applicable to the site are not recorded.
  • Any prior planning studies or incentives are unknown.

For a developer

  • Site size: 225,642 sq ft GLA.
  • Ownership and control are not recorded.
  • Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) and market signals are unknown.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date is not recorded.
  • Anchor tenant losses or competition factors are not documented.
  • Ownership and current controlling entity are unknown.
  • Environmental conditions, flood risk, and transit access are not specified.
  • The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin data quality.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Bedford Mall, Bedford, NH · Malls · similar GLA (266,875 sq ft); opened 1969
  • Surrey Square Mall, Norwood, OH · Malls · similar GLA (190,474 sq ft); opened 1975
  • MacDade Mall, Holmes, PA · Malls · similar GLA (260,000 sq ft); opened 1970
  • Main Place Mall, Buffalo, NY · Malls · similar GLA (250,000 sq ft); opened 1968

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Southgate Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • county grew 3.4% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1969Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area225,642 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak31Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsJCPenney, Belk, Goody's Family Clothing
AddressW. Ehringhaus St. & Halstead Blvd.
CountyPasquotank
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1969 Opened

Sources

More in North Carolina