Malls · New Hampshire
Bedford Mall
Opened 1969.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/148998371815200 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.bedfordbodyworks.com overture / http check · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 75,025 on 293 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,165/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $127,593 census-acs · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 293 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.25 cdc-svi · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Bedford Mall” and “Bedford” (31 hits, first 31 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | HERITAGE PROPERTY INVESTMENT TRUST INC | 26 | 2002-06-05 to 2007-03-20 | 8-K 18, 10-K 4, 10-K/A 2, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | BRADLEY OPERATING L P | 4 | 2004-12-22 to 2006-03-30 | 10-K 2, 8-K 1, 10-K/A 1 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 2, 4, junctionOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 29: 650 MANAGEMENT CORP; BEDFORD AMBULATORY SURGERY CENTER; BEDFORD SHOPPING MALL; CVS PHARMACY 0741; DARTMOUTH HITCHCOCK SPECIALTY CAREEPA FRS |
| Census tract 33011002902 | 5,913 people, 655 per sq mi; median household income $127,593; median gross rent $1,834; 24% renters; 0.0% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 9.8 of 20; 48 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.86; 43,949 jobs within 45 min by car; 11% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Hillsborough County (NH), 2024 | 349 units in 5+ unit buildings, 96 in 2–4, 427 single-family; 2023: 786 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.25; socioeconomic 0.06; housing and transport 0.72; 3% below 150% of poverty; 8% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 3 within 10 km, 3 within 25 km: Central Retail Park (4.7 km); Manchester Stormwater Park (4.7 km); Shoppes at Buckland Hills (4.7 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Bedford Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 21,401 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.bedfordbodyworks.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -3% (6,109 → 5,913); median income +22% ($104,132 → $127,593); renters 12% → 24%; median home value +64% ($290,900 → $475,500)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 50.3); expected annual loss $1.5M; high: ice storm, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 68 units: Kensington Woods (41 units); Colby Court (27 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 24,869 jobs in 1,453 establishments; average annual pay $47,507; employment location quotient 1.26; employment -1.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 8,193 jobs; 1,473 in retail trade, 643 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 33011002902)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 52th income percentile as adults; -0.0% incarcerated at the 2010 count (291 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 38% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 2.0%; median family income $133,512; 37 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Bedford School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 149 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 238 county-logged events: 149 thunderstorm wind, 37 hail, 34 flash flood, 18 flood; $2,472,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 03110, 2026-09 | median list price $1,187,500 (+28.9% on the year); 43 active listings; median 59 days on market; 19% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,488 establishments (-6%); 27,200 jobs (+1%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $517,347 (+2% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr); typical rent $2,165/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 444 (2000 = 100); +2.6% 1 yr, +58% 5 yr, +99% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 75,025 vehicles a day on 293 (Interstate, 4 lanes); 5,177 trucks; 14 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Bedford Mall opened in 1969 as a regional shopping center with approximately 28 stores and 266,875 square feet of gross leasable area. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed. No additional details about its operational history or closure are provided.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- - No zoning or land‑use information is provided in the record.
- - No public incentives or redevelopment programs are mentioned.
- - Open question: what reuse or adaptive‑use plans have been considered for the site?
- - Need to verify ownership and any pending entitlements.
For a developer
- - Site size: 266,875 sf GLA.
- - Control and ownership are unknown per the record.
- - Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not documented.
- - Context layers (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are not supplied; market signals show county grew 3.3% 2018‑23 and median rent $1,532, with an opp_score of 20.
What we do not know yet
- - Exact date and cause of closure are not recorded.
- - Anchor tenant losses or competition impacts are not specified.
- - Current ownership, control, and any liens or debts are unknown.
- - Zoning, floodplain, transit, and environmental conditions are absent from the record.
- - The opp_reasons include a model‑extracted note (“closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced”) that lacks verification.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Fairfield Commons Mall, Glen Allen, VA · Malls · similar GLA (335,000 sq ft); opened 1968
- Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973
- North Park Mall, Villa Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (333,596 sq ft); opened 1973
- Muscatine Mall, Muscatine, IA · Malls · similar GLA (328,000 sq ft); opened 1971
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Bedford Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Bedford Mall - Aktuelle 2021 - Lohnt es sich? (Mit fotos) tripadvisor.de
- Bedford Mall’s future seen as a ‘power center’ - NH Business … nhbr.com
- BEDFORD MALL - Updated Jun… yelp.com
- Bedford Mall (2025) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Reviews) tripadvisor.com
- Bedford Mall - TFMoran tfmoran.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- county grew 3.3% 2018–23
- median rent $1,532
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1969Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 266,875 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 28Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Bob's Stores, Staples, Marshalls, Linens 'N Things |
| Address | South River Rd. & Rt. 3 |
| County | Hillsborough |
| Census division | 1 · New England |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1969 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in New Hampshire
Mall at Fox RunNewington, NH · 2026RedevelopedManchester Stormwater ParkManchester, NHRegreened · a multiuse stormwater treatment facility and parkShoppes at Buckland HillsManchester, NHRedevelopment, proposed · vacant former Sears building