Malls · Ohio
Surrey Square Mall
Opened 1975.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/151486451711151 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://surreysquare.placeweb.site/ overture / http check · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 112,008 epa-walkability · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 4 within 10 km computed · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -11% census-cbp · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Norwood Municipal Building nps-nrhp · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 59% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +161% fhfa · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +71% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 17 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Surrey Square Mall” and “Norwood” (74 hits, first 74 sampled). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | Brixmor Property Group Inc. (BRX) | 55 | 2013-12-03 to 2024-07-29 | 8-K 35, 10-K 19, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | Brixmor Operating Partnership LP | 48 | 2015-02-09 to 2024-07-29 | 8-K 30, 10-K 18 |
| Public owner (strong) | NEW PLAN EXCEL REALTY TRUST INC | 19 | 2005-10-27 to 2009-03-31 | 8-K 8, 10-K 5, 10-Q 4, 10-K/A 2 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 9: ADVANCED TESTING LABORATORY; COLLISIONRIGHT LLC DBA LIBERTY COLLISION CENTER CITY; CPC GROUP; FABRICARE DRYCLEANING INC; KROGER 0418-014EPA FRS |
| Census tract 39061025401 | 1,613 people, 3,996 per sq mi; median household income $68,500; median gross rent $877; 59% renters; 11.8% vacant units; 0.9% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 17 of 20; 240 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 354 m; land-use mix 0.66; 105,207 jobs within 45 min by car, 112,008 by transit; 11% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 1: Norwood Municipal BuildingNPS |
| Housing permits, Hamilton County (OH), 2024 | 217 units in 5+ unit buildings, 39 in 2–4, 566 single-family; 2023: 654 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.46; socioeconomic 0.72; housing and transport 0.47; 18% below 150% of poverty; 2% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 4 within 10 km, 13 within 25 km: Swifton Center (3.2 km); St. Bernard Square (3.8 km); Tower Place Mall (8.1 km); Kenwood Plaza (8.3 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Surrey Square (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 7,721 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | surreysquare.placeweb.site (down or redirecting, status 405) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -2% (1,637 → 1,613); median income +71% ($40,163 → $68,500); renters 62% → 59%; median home value +91% ($166,200 → $317,900)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 12.2); expected annual loss $416,627; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 0 units: Carpenter Flats (None units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 38,928 jobs in 2,586 establishments; average annual pay $39,344; employment location quotient 0.77; employment -1.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,860 jobs; 252 in retail trade, 298 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 39061025401)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 40th income percentile as adults; -1.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (164 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 11.0%; median family income $57,500; 65 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Norwood City School District (PK-12); 7 public schools within 1 mile: Sharpsburg Elementary; Norwood High School; Norwood Middle School; Norwood View Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 639 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 324 county-logged events: 147 thunderstorm wind, 71 flash flood, 57 hail, 41 flood; $6,576,950 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 45212, 2026-09 | median list price $299,675 (-1.3% on the year); 47 active listings; median 37 days on market; 26% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,518 establishments (-11%); 40,920 jobs (-26%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $266,241 (+1% 1 yr, +24% 5 yr); typical rent $1,468/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 534 (2000 = 100), +72% 5 yr, +161% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 18,684 vehicles a day on MONTGOMERY RD (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 23 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Surrey Square Mall opened in 1975 as a retail mall in Norwood, Ohio. The record indicates its status is now closed, with no further events listed.
Why. The record does not specify why the mall closed; no anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition details are provided.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No documented prior redevelopment attempts or policy interventions are recorded.
- Zoning, land‑use, or incentive programs applicable to the site are unknown.
- Open questions include the cause of closure and any existing entitlements or blight designations.
For a developer
- Site size is approximately 190,474 sq ft of GLA.
- Current ownership and control are not specified in the record.
- Entitlement stage, zoning approvals, and any existing permits are unknown.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental conditions) are not provided.
What we do not know yet
- Reason for closure is not stated in the record.
- Current owner, ownership structure, and any ongoing legal or financial encumbrances are unknown.
- No information on existing parcels, subdivision, or deed restrictions is provided.
- Zoning, land‑use, floodplain, transit proximity, and environmental data are missing.
- The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin data quality.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Tiffin Mall, Tiffin, OH · Malls · similar GLA (195,506 sq ft); opened 1980; also in OH
- Towne Mall Galleria, Middletown, OH · Malls · opened 1977; also in OH; 39 km away
- Tower Place Mall, Cincinnati, OH · Malls · similar GLA (220,000 sq ft); also in OH; 8 km away
- Westridge Mall, Fergus Falls, MN · Malls · similar GLA (213,000 sq ft); opened 1978
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Surrey Square on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Shopping Mall «Surrey Squar… stores-goods.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1975Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 190,474 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 40Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Kroger |
| Address | Montgomery Rd. & Sherman Ave. |
| County | Hamilton |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1975 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02