Retrofit Atlas

Malls · North Carolina

Greenville Mall (Greenville)

Imported, unreviewedClosedGreenville, NC

Greenville Mall opened in 1966, closed, 455k sq ft, status unknown ownership, limited data prevents clear reuse assessment for planners · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
BelkThis site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with this
Belk 2This site: Belk 2 wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/562858257125369 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …https://www.thegreenvillemall.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 30,437 on US-264-ALT fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 85% census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -2.9% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Greenville Mall” and “Greenville” (80 hits, first 80 sampled, 12 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2004-03-16 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2016 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC12004-04-14 to 2004-04-148-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)JP MORGAN CHASE COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP12004-03-16 to 2004-03-168-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)Morgan Stanley Capital I Trust 2016-UBS912016-03-09 to 2016-03-098-K 1
Public owner (weak)Rouse Properties, Inc.332013-03-07 to 2016-05-058-K 16, 10-Q 10, 10-K 7
Public owner (weak)COLONIAL PROPERTIES TRUST62006-03-14 to 2008-02-2910-K 6
Public owner (weak)COLONIAL REALTY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP62006-03-16 to 2008-02-2910-K 6
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ)52002-05-17 to 2003-05-088-K 5
Public owner (weak)JMB INCOME PROPERTIES LTD V12002-08-14 to 2002-08-1410-Q 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2014Rouse Properties 10-K, 2015-03-09Greenville Mall Greenville, NC
match: exact
452,310
in-line 227,749
94.6% leasedjcpenney, Belk Ladies, Belk, Dunham's Sports

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m5: CLEANER LOOK **INACTIVE**; CLEANER WORLD; KORETIZING CLEANERS; NCDSCA DC740009 (CLEANER LOOK GARMENT CARE); PUBLIX SUPERMARKET 1569 GREENVILLE SQUAREEPA FRS
Census tract 371470005043,514 people, 5,169 per sq mi; median household income $56,223; median gross rent $1,268; 85% renters; 11.0% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Pitt County (NC), 2024204 units in 5+ unit buildings, 37 in 2–4, 1,059 single-family; 2023: 384 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.41; socioeconomic 0.80; housing and transport 0.40; 29% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Greenville Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.96, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 48,373 m², 6.49851131439209 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.thegreenvillemall.com (alive); archived 2013–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 35.0); expected annual loss $1.2M; high: winter weather; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023608 establishments (-5%); 9,847 jobs (+13%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $243,595 (+1% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,465/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)30,437 vehicles a day on US-264-ALT (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,044 trucks; 35 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Greenville Mall opened in 1966 as a 455,157‑square‑foot mall with 65 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and its current status is listed as closed. No additional details about closure or subsequent use are provided.

Why. The record does not specify why the mall closed; no anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition are mentioned.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • • The mall opened in 1966 and closed, leaving a 455,157 sf site with unknown ownership.
  • • No policy tools or reuse plans are documented in the record.
  • • Key questions remain about zoning, environmental conditions, and potential redevelopment pathways.

For a developer

  • • Site size: 455,157 sf GLA.
  • • Ownership and control are unknown per the record.
  • • Entitlement stage, floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints are not documented.
  • • Market signals from surrounding tract data are absent in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • • Reason for closure is not stated.
  • • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • • Site condition (structural, environmental) is not described.
  • • Zoning, land‑use, and entitlement status are missing.
  • • The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin data quality.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973; also in NC
  • Burlington Square Mall, Burlington, NC · Malls · similar GLA (412,000 sq ft); opened 1969; also in NC
  • Wilson Mall, Wilson, NC · Malls · similar GLA (471,880 sq ft); opened 1965; also in NC
  • Mall 205, Portland, OR · Malls · similar GLA (477,000 sq ft); opened 1970

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • county shrank -2.9% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1966Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area455,157 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak65Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsSteve & Barry's, JCPenney, Belk, Belk 2
AddressArlington & Greenville Blvds.
CountyPitt
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1966 Opened

Sources

More in North Carolina