Malls · Massachusetts
Auburn Mall (Auburn)
Opened 1971.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Macy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisMacy's Home Store
This site: Macy's Home Store wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/299816524275 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …https://www.simon.com/mall/auburn-mall overture / http check · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 81,666 on 290 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,119/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $114,116 census-acs · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 290 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +62% census-acs · all sites with thisBuilding footprint 50,000+ m²
This site: 60,254 m² overture · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Auburn Mall” and “Auburn” (211 hits, first 100 sampled, 3 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 96 | 2001-02-16 to 2026-08-10 | 8-K 89, 10-K 6, 8-K/A 1 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Simon Property Group 10-K, 2026-02-25 | Auburn Mall Auburn, MA match: exact | 498,385 | 94.9% occupied | acquired 1999 | 56.4% Fee | Macy's, Reliant Medical | |
| 2016 | Simon Property Group 10-K, 2017-02-24 | Auburn Mall Auburn, MA match: exact | 585,707 | 100.0% occupied | acquired 1999 | 56.4% Fee | Macy's, Sears, | |
| 2009 | Simon Property Group 10-K, 2010-02-25 | Auburn Mall Auburn, MA match: exact | 588,330 | 99.4% occupied | acquired 1999 | 49.1% Fee | Macy's, Macy's Home Store, Sears |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 18: AMERICAN EAGLE OUTFITTERS 346; ASPEN DENTAL; AUBURN HIGHWAY DEPARTMENT; AUBURN MALL; AUBURN MALL FORMER MACYS HOME STOREEPA FRS |
| Census tract 25027736500 | 4,616 people, 925 per sq mi; median household income $114,116; median gross rent $1,581; 25% renters; 5.3% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 8.7 of 20; 77 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.78; 49,580 jobs within 45 min by car; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Worcester County (MA), 2024 | 1,434 units in 5+ unit buildings, 108 in 2–4, 964 single-family; 2023: 303 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.54; socioeconomic 0.25; housing and transport 0.94; 7% below 150% of poverty; 12% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 3 within 25 km: Rochdale's former Central Retail Park (5.8 km); Worcester Galleria (7.2 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Auburn Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.83, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 60,254 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.simon.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +4% (4,416 → 4,616); median income +62% ($70,625 → $114,116); renters 14% → 25%; median home value +46% ($253,600 → $370,400)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 13.6); expected annual loss $938,349; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 36,872 jobs in 2,325 establishments; average annual pay $42,790; employment location quotient 1.05; employment -0.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 3,776 jobs; 820 in retail trade, 76 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 25027736500)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 49th income percentile as adults; 0.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (171 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 37% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 3.0%; median family income $101,750; 90 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Auburn School District (PK-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: Auburn Senior High; Bryn Mawr; Swanson Road Intermediate SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 517 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 510 county-logged events: 299 thunderstorm wind, 87 flood, 52 flash flood, 40 hail; $7,596,550 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 01501, 2026-09 | median list price $503,000 (-12.5% on the year); 29 active listings; median 40 days on market; 17% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,405 establishments (-7%); 38,937 jobs (-2%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $495,048 (+2% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $2,119/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 354 (2000 = 100); +3.4% 1 yr, +52% 5 yr, +93% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 81,666 vehicles a day on 290 (Interstate, 6 lanes); 6,603 trucks; 12 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Auburn Mall opened in 1971 and operated as a regional mall with a peak of 73 stores. The site is now listed as closed, with no further events recorded in the source.
Why. The record does not specify any reasons for the mall’s closure, such as anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed; the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- Large site of 582,628 sq ft offers potential for large‑scale reuse or redevelopment.
- County population grew 4.8% from 2018‑2023, indicating modest regional demand.
- Current status is closed and the data are marked as draft, requiring verification before planning.
- Open questions include ownership, zoning designation, and any existing entitlements.
For a developer
- Site size: 582,628 sq ft GLA.
- Control and ownership are not specified in the record.
- Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are unknown.
- Market signal: county grew 4.8% 2018‑2023, suggesting modest growth potential.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not provided.
What we do not know yet
- Exact closure date and reason for closure are unknown.
- Owner or controlling entity is not identified.
- Zoning, land‑use entitlements, and any deed restrictions are missing.
- Environmental factors such as flood risk, soil conditions, or nearby transit are not recorded.
- The record is marked as draft and based on a single source, indicating limited verification.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Hampshire Mall, Hadley, MA · Malls · similar GLA (460,715 sq ft); opened 1978; also in MA
- Worcester Galleria, Worcester, MA · Malls · opened 1971; also in MA; 7 km away
- Dedham Mall, Dedham, MA · Malls · similar GLA (575,000 sq ft); opened 1965; also in MA
- Heritage Park Mall, Midwest City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (606,339 sq ft); opened 1978
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- AUBURN MALL - Updated June 2026 - 42 Photos & 39 … yelp.com
- Auburn Mall, Auburn MA commons.wikimedia.org
- Auburn Mall; Auburn, Massachusetts - Labelscar: The Retail History Blog labelscar.com
- About Auburn Mall, Including Our Address, Phone Numbers & Direction… simon.com
- Vendor marketplace opening in Auburn Mall during the holida… wrbl.com
- MallsCenters - US Shopping Malls & Stores mallscenters.com
- Auburn Mall (Auburn, Massachusetts) | JJBers | … flickr.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- 582,628 sq ft GLA (large site)
- county grew 4.8% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1971Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 582,628 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 73Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Macy's, Sears, Macy's Home Store |
| Address | I-290 & I-90 |
| County | Worcester |
| Census division | 1 · New England |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1971 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Massachusetts
Assembly MallSomerville, MA · 2012Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, mixed use
Atrium MallNewton, MA · 2016Reinhabited · Reinhabitation; fitness, medical office, transit shuttleLafayette Place MallBoston, MA · 1997Redeveloped · Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: mixed use and office Redevelopment: 3 additional…
Nouvelle at NatickNatick, MA · 2007Partial Redeveloped · Regreened · Partial redevelopment: residential Partial regreening: green roofWorcester GalleriaWorcester, MA · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets