Retrofit Atlas

Malls · North Carolina

Wilson Mall (Wilson)

Imported, unreviewedClosedWilson, NC

Wilson Mall opened in 1965, closed at an unknown date, currently remains vacant with no disclosed ownership or reuse plans. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/159157244138009 overture · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://www.wilsonmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.84 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $45,819 census-acs · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 59% census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -3.3% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Wilson Mall” and “Wilson” (7 hits, first 7 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2007-01-05 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2006 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2006-LDP932007-01-05 to 2007-01-228-K 2, 8-K/A 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m7: EXCLUSIVE CLEANERS; KORETIZING CLEANERS AND LAUNDRY; KORETIZING INC; NCDSCA DC980001 (KORETIZING CLEANERS); NCDSCA DC980004 (EXCLUSIVE CLEANERS)EPA FRS
Census tract 371950004014,893 people, 3,022 per sq mi; median household income $45,819; median gross rent $974; 59% renters; 10.9% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Wilson County (NC), 2024168 units in 5+ unit buildings, 14 in 2–4, 398 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.84; socioeconomic 0.95; housing and transport 0.79; 39% below 150% of poverty; 9% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Wilson Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.85, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 3,454 m², 8.23117733001709 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.wilsonmall.com (down or redirecting, status 404) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 64.6); expected annual loss $1.6M; high: winter weather; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 40 units: Cottages At Glendale (40 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)4,051 jobs in 300 establishments; average annual pay $36,383; employment location quotient 1.17; employment -0.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20222,200 jobs; 222 in retail trade, 364 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 37195000401)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 35th income percentile as adults; 2.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (868 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 1% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 17.7%; median family income $51,296; 934 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsWilson County Schools (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Vinson-Bynum ElementaryNCES EDGE
Elevation144 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025125 county-logged events: 75 thunderstorm wind, 25 flash flood, 16 hail, 5 heavy rain; $35,537,000 property damage reported; 3 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 27893, 2026-09median list price $234,950 (+12.0% on the year); 119 active listings; median 72 days on market; 20% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023320 establishments (-0%); 3,875 jobs (+8%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $216,195 (-0% 1 yr, +33% 5 yr); typical rent $1,497/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025310 (2000 = 100), +57% 5 yr, +90% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)15,265 vehicles a day on US-264-ALT (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 484 trucks; 16 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Wilson Mall opened in 1965 and operated as a mall until it closed; the exact closure date is not recorded, and the site remains vacant.

Why. The record does not state specific causes for closure; it only notes the mall is closed or demolished per category and mentions a county population decline of 3.3% from 2018 to 2023.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed and its controlling owner is not identified in the record.

For a planner

  • No precedent reuse cases are documented in the record.
  • No policy tools or incentives are mentioned.
  • Open question: what zoning or land‑use designations apply to the site?
  • Open question: are any environmental reviews or mitigation requirements known?

For a developer

  • Site size is 471,880 sq ft of GLA.
  • Ownership and control are unknown; entitlement stage is not specified.
  • Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) and local market signals are not provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date is missing.
  • Reason for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) is not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Zoning, land‑use permissions, and any pending entitlements are unspecified.
  • Floodplain, transit access, environmental conditions, and surrounding market data are absent.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Burlington Square Mall, Burlington, NC · Malls · similar GLA (412,000 sq ft); opened 1969; also in NC
  • Greenville Mall, Greenville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (455,157 sq ft); opened 1966; also in NC
  • Mall 205, Portland, OR · Malls · similar GLA (477,000 sq ft); opened 1970
  • New Harbour Mall, Fall River, MA · Malls · similar GLA (385,000 sq ft); opened 1971

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Wilson Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • county shrank -3.3% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1965Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area471,880 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak68Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsSteve & Barry's, JCPenney, Sears
AddressWard Blvd. & Hwy. 42
CountyWilson
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1965 Opened

Sources

More in North Carolina