Malls · Virginia
Fairfield Commons Mall
Opened 1968. Closed 2015. Redeveloped in 2015.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile8 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Sears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 150,824 on 95 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $107,125 census-acs · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 95 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| Retrofit year | 2015extracted, unreviewed reported |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 3: STANLEY MARTIN TOWNHOMES AT VIRGINIA CENTER COMMON; TELEGRAPH ROAD APARTMENTS; VIRGINIA CENTER COMMONS SPORTS COMPLEXEPA FRS |
| Census tract 51087200907 | 4,844 people, 1,342 per sq mi; median household income $107,125; median gross rent $1,770; 35% renters; 4.8% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 1 civic, 12 food and drink; 1 cycleway segments, 87 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Henrico County (VA), 2024 | 785 units in 5+ unit buildings, 120 in 2–4, 921 single-family; 2023: 1,805 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.55; socioeconomic 0.31; housing and transport 0.49; 12% below 150% of poverty; 8% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 8 within 25 km: Virginia Center Commons (0.0 km); Azalea mall (0.0 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 15,029 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 55,963 since 2015; 4,040 in the last 12 months (-29% vs the prior 12); peak 2022-11 with 1,185Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 11.9); expected annual loss $819,458; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 20,303 jobs in 1,064 establishments; average annual pay $41,243; employment location quotient 1.06; employment -0.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 4,315 jobs; 966 in retail trade, 792 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 51087200907)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 42th income percentile as adults; 2.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (487 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 36% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 8.5%; median family income $70,911; 206 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Henrico County Public Schools (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 132 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 263 county-logged events: 123 thunderstorm wind, 49 flash flood, 45 heavy rain, 36 hail; $480,040 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 23059, 2026-09 | median list price $679,975 (+9.9% on the year); 103 active listings; median 39 days on market; 17% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,145 establishments (-10%); 22,169 jobs (-2%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $397,454 (+2% 1 yr, +26% 5 yr); typical rent $1,773/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 278 (2000 = 100); -6.0% 1 yr, +44% 5 yr, +80% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 150,824 vehicles a day on 95 (Interstate, 8 lanes); 22,384 trucks; 25 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Fairfield Commons Mall opened in 1968 and operated as an enclosed mall until 2015, when it was closed for redevelopment into a smaller open‑air retail center. The site has remained closed since the retrofit year of 2015.
Why. The record does not specify anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition as causes; it only notes that the site was closed for redevelopment and labeled as 'closed or demolished site (sourced)'.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify the present owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- Strategy listed is redevelopment to retail, indicating a policy‑driven reuse attempt.
- No explicit policy tools (e.g., tax incentives, zoning changes) are documented in the record.
- Open questions include current ownership, zoning designation, and any pending approvals for the planned open‑air retail.
For a developer
- Site size is 335,000 sf GLA with a peak of 42 stores.
- Control and entitlement stage are not specified in the record.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental factors) and tract‑level market signals are not provided.
What we do not know yet
- Owner of the property is unknown; the record lacks any owner or deal details.
- Current zoning, land‑use entitlements, and status of any redevelopment approvals are not documented.
- Environmental constraints such as floodplain location or contamination are not mentioned.
- Transit proximity and accessibility data are absent from the record.
- The verification status is 'draft', indicating that some fields may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- New Harbour Mall, Fall River, MA · Malls · similar GLA (385,000 sq ft); opened 1971; closed 2016
- NOHO West, North Hollywood, CA · Malls · similar GLA (452,000 sq ft); opened 1968; closed 2016
- Cloverleaf Mall, Richmond, VA · Malls · opened 1972; same strategy: redevelop; also in VA
- Sears site at Overlake Plaza, Redmond, WA · Big boxes · similar GLA (268,000 sq ft); opened 1971; closed 2018
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Fairfield Commons (formerly Eastgate Mall) on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and state only, check the city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Sky City: Retail History: Fairfield Commons Mall/Eastgate Mall ... skycity2.blogspot.com
- Renovations at Fairfield Commons Mall a work in progr… 12onyourside.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- median rent $1,474
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1968Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2015extracted, unreviewed |
| Gross leasable area | 335,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 42Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Sears, Peebles Department Store, Max Way |
| Address | Nine Mile Rd. & Laburnum Ave. |
| County | Henrico |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Virginia Center Commons (VCC) was an enclosed shopping mall located in Glen Allen, Virginia, near the state capital of Richmond. Built in 1991, Simon Property Group owned the mall until 2014 when it was split off to Washington Prime Group. In January 2017, the mall was sold again to Kohan Retail Investment Group.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1968 Opened
- 2015 Closed for redevelopment into smaller open-air mall
Sources
- Wikipedia: Fairfield Commons Mall (Virginia) · supports: status, strategy, year closed
4 quoted sentences
That mall closed in 2015 for redevelopment into a smaller open-air mall.
That mall closed in 2015 for redevelopment into a smaller open-air mall.
That mall closed in 2015 for redevelopment into a smaller open-air mall.
That mall closed in 2015 for redevelopment into a smaller open-air mall.
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Virginia
Cloverleaf MallRichmond, VA · 2009Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets
Coliseum MallHampton, VA · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed useNewmarket North MallHampton, VA · 2000Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office
Tysons Corner CenterTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: residential
Tysons GalleriaTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: office