Retrofit Atlas

Malls · New Jersey

Brunswick Square

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedEast Brunswick, NJ

Brunswick Square opened in 1970, closed, now owned by Paramount Realty Group; anchors JCPenney and Macy's remain amid uncertain future. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Brunswick Square
Brunswick Square. Photo: Artix Kreiger, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Attention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)This site: 10,252 views, +140% wikimedia · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/117997178223670 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …https://shopbrunswicksquare.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 46,639 on NJ 18 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,554/mo zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $142,875 census-acs · all sites with this
Low social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)This site: 0.14 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 16 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Scale
Building footprint 50,000+ m²This site: 56,278 m² overture · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikidata

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Brunswick Square” and “East Brunswick” (168 hits, first 100 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2004-10-19 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2004 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)WFRBS Commercial Mortgage Trust 2014-C1922014-03-28 to 2014-03-288-K 2
CMBS trust (weak)WFRBS Commercial Mortgage Trust 2014-C2012014-05-13 to 2014-05-138-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)CSFB COMMERCIAL MORT PASS THR CERTS SER 2004 C412004-10-19 to 2004-10-198-K 1
Public owner (strong)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ)612003-03-07 to 2014-04-228-K 42, 10-K 18, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (strong)WP Glimcher Inc.312014-11-04 to 2021-08-098-K 29, 8-K/A 1, 10-Q 1
Public owner (strong)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/22001-03-30 to 2002-04-0110-K 2
Public owner (strong)GLIMCHER REALTY TRUST12014-11-04 to 2014-11-048-K 1
Public owner (strong)Washington Prime Group, L.P.12021-08-09 to 2021-08-0910-Q 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2020Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2021-03-16Brunswick Square East Brunswick, NJ
match: exact
764,22490.0% occupiedacquired 1996100.0%
Fee
Barnes & Noble, JCPenney, Macy's, Starplex Luxury Cinema
2016Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2017-02-24Brunswick Square East Brunswick, NJ
match: exact
759,53798.0% occupiedacquired 1996100.0%
Fee
Barnes & Noble, JCPenney, Macy's, Starplex Luxury Cinema
2014Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2015-02-26Brunswick Square East Brunswick, NJ
match: exact
760,790100.0% occupiedbuilt 1973100.0%
Fee
Macy's, JCPenney, Barnes & Noble, Starplex Luxury Cinema
2009Simon Property Group 10-K, 2010-02-25Brunswick Square East Brunswick, NJ
match: exact
765,14995.8% occupiedbuilt 1973100.0%
Fee
Macy's, JCPenney, Barnes & Noble, Mega Movies

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 1 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m12: BRANNING AUTOMOTIVE GROUP; BRIDGESTONE FIRESTONE TIRE STORE; JC PENNY; LOMAN BUICK PONTIAC; LORD'S INTERNATIONAL INC.EPA FRS
Census tract 340230067013,882 people, 2,904 per sq mi; median household income $142,875; median gross rent $2,745; 16% renters; 2.2% vacant units; 6.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 16 of 20; 124 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 783 m; land-use mix 0.81; 152,928 jobs within 45 min by car, 15,952 by transit; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 4 schools, 13 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 0 civic, 12 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 28 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Middlesex County (NJ), 20241,073 units in 5+ unit buildings, 42 in 2–4, 677 single-family; 2023: 1,550 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.14; socioeconomic 0.07; housing and transport 0.34; 3% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 5 within 25 km: Mall at Fashion Plaza (8.7 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Brunswick Square (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from Overture, meta); building footprint 56,278 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialshopbrunswicksquare.com (alive); archived 2016–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views29,285 since 2015; 10,252 in the last 12 months (+140% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-01 with 2,081Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -14% (4,519 → 3,882); median income +48% ($96,650 → $142,875); renters 7% → 16%; median home value +34% ($354,300 → $476,600)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 44.7); expected annual loss $1.7M; high: strong wind; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,408 establishments (-8%); 51,042 jobs (+35%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $579,852 (+3% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr); typical rent $2,554/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025681 (2000 = 100); +8.4% 1 yr, +64% 5 yr, +91% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)46,639 vehicles a day on NJ 18 (principal arterial, 5 lanes); 1,939 trucks; 19 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Brunswick Square opened in 1970 as a single-story mall at Route 18 and Rues Lane. It is now closed, owned and managed by Paramount Realty Group, with JCPenney and Macy's as current anchor stores.

Why. The record does not state why the mall closed or what factors led to its current status.

Where it stands. The mall is now closed and is owned and managed by Paramount Realty Group.

For a planner

  • No specific precedents or policy tools mentioned in the record.
  • Open question: reasons for closure and current occupancy/vacancy details.
  • Open question: potential reuse options and zoning considerations given county growth and rent trends.

For a developer

  • Site size: 769,041 sq ft GLA.
  • Control: owned and managed by Paramount Realty Group.
  • Entitlement stage: unknown (status listed as unknown).
  • Market signals: Middlesex County grew 4.2% 2018‑2023; median rent $1,810.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date not provided.
  • Reasons for closure not stated.
  • Current occupancy/vacancy and tenant mix details missing.
  • Any existing debt, liens, or financial encumbrances unknown.
  • Environmental, flood, or transit constraints not described in record.
  • Verification status is draft, indicating data may be unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county grew 4.2% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,810

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1970Wikidata
AnchorsJCPenney
CountyMiddlesex County
Census division2 · Mid-Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Brunswick Square, colloquially known as the Brunswick Square Mall, was a single story shopping mall located in East Brunswick, New Jersey, at the intersection of Route 18 and Rues Lane. The now-closed mall is owned and managed by Paramount Realty Group and has gross leasable area (GLA) of 769,041 sq ft (71,446.2 m2). The current anchor stores are JCPenney and Macy's.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1970 Opened (Wikidata)

Sources

More in New Jersey