Malls · Indiana
Lafayette Square Mall
Opened 1968. Closed 2022. Redeveloped in 2024.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile31 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisLazarus
This site: Lazarus wikipedia · all sites with thisMacy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/597419353735370 overture · all sites with thisSold since 2020
This site: 2021 Sojos Capital Group research-deals · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.shoplafayettemall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 4 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 70,179 on I-65 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 41 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.88 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: I-65 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 18097310306 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 71% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +187% fhfa · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +91% census-acs · all sites with thisTract population up 25%+ since 2013
This site: +30% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 16.8 epa-walkability · all sites with this1M+ sq ft GLA
This site: 1,200,000 sq ft esri-closed-us-malls-2014 · all sites with this60+ acre site
This site: 80 acres extraction · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: extraction · all sites with thisEducation
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisEntertainment and sports
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: Plans include housing as part of the mixed-use redevelopment. extraction · all sites with thisMixed use
This site: Plans include housing as part of the mixed-use redevelopment. extraction · all sites with thisOffice
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | housing, office, education, entertainment, retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| Retrofit year | 2024extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Redeveloper | Sojos Capital Groupextracted, unreviewed reported |
Planning
| Planning notes | Plans include housing as part of the mixed-use redevelopment.extracted, unreviewed reported |
|---|
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | Sold | — | Sojos Capital Group ← Ashkenazy Acquisitions Corp. | Wikipedia |
| 2007 | Sold | — | Ashkenazy Acquisitions Corp. ← Simon Property Group | Wikipedia |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Lafayette Square Mall” and “Indianapolis” (13 hits, first 13 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 2 | 2003-03-07 to 2003-03-07 | 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/ | 2 | 2003-03-31 to 2003-03-31 | 10-K 2 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 9: CELLCO PARTNERSHIP, DBA VERIZON WIRELESS; GOODYEAR ASC 6760; LAZARUS; MODERN VENDING INC; MONTGOMERY WARD AUTO EXPRESSEPA FRS |
| Census tract 18097310306 | 8,597 people, 4,287 per sq mi; median household income $55,060; median gross rent $951; 71% renters; 5.5% vacant units; 2.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 16.8 of 20; 124 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 286 m; land-use mix 0.82; 116,178 jobs within 45 min by car, 31,026 by transit; 37% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 3 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 0 schools, 1 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 0 civic, 10 food and drink; 41 cycleway segments, 15 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 18097310306 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Marion County (IN), 2024 | 621 units in 5+ unit buildings, 32 in 2–4, 1,253 single-family; 2023: 1,457 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.88; socioeconomic 0.88; housing and transport 0.85; 48% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 4 within 10 km, 7 within 25 km: Lockefield Gardens (7.5 km); Kahn Tailoring Company building (8.2 km); Circle Centre Mall (9.2 km); Indianapolis Stamping Plant site (9.2 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Lafayette Square Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.98, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 4,304 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shoplafayettemall.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 62,341 since 2015; 5,866 in the last 12 months (-8% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-12 with 796Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +30% (6,594 → 8,597); median income +91% ($28,850 → $55,060); renters 67% → 71%; median home value +77% ($84,300 → $149,100)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 82.1); expected annual loss $1.8M; high: tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, strong wind, cold wave; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 45,102 jobs in 2,930 establishments; average annual pay $43,606; employment location quotient 0.73; employment +0.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 5,599 jobs; 3,090 in retail trade, 391 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 18097310306)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 36th income percentile as adults; 5.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (1,334 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 32.6%; median family income $34,208; 697 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Pike Township Metropolitan School District (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: IN Math & Science Academy; Carl Wilde School 79NCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 757 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 241 county-logged events: 138 thunderstorm wind, 63 hail, 21 flash flood, 12 flood; $6,855,650 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 46254, 2026-09 | median list price $236,500 (+2.6% on the year); 82 active listings; median 52 days on market; 36% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,856 establishments (-4%); 45,527 jobs (-2%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $227,822 (-1% 1 yr, +20% 5 yr); typical rent $1,379/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 328 (2000 = 100); +7.4% 1 yr, +74% 5 yr, +187% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 70,179 vehicles a day on I-65 (Interstate, 6 lanes); 9,785 trucks; 34 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
| Site metrics | 15,000 sq ft GLA per acre; FAR 0.34computed |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1968 as an enclosed mall developed by Edward J. DeBartolo Sr., Lafayette Square grew through expansions and anchor changes until the 2000s saw major tenant departures. The mall closed in 2022 after losing anchors such as Sears, Macy’s, and JCPenney, and in 2024 Sojos Capital Group unveiled plans to redevelop the 80‑acre site for housing, office, education, entertainment and retail.
Why. The record shows anchor losses — Montgomery Ward liquidated in 2001, JCPenney and Old Navy left in 2005, and Sears, Macy’s and JCPenney anchors later vacant — as key pressures leading to decline. No explicit mention of debt or demolition, so causes are anchored in tenant turnover and competition.
Where it stands. The mall closed in 2022 and is currently owned by Sojos Capital Group, which unveiled mixed‑use redevelopment plans for the site in 2024.
For a planner
- Mixed‑use redevelopment planned (housing, office, education, entertainment, retail) per strategy and new_use fields.
- Site comprises 80 acres with a low existing FAR of 0.34, indicating potential for increased density under new zoning.
- Ownership transferred to Sojos Capital Group in 2021, placing the project under private‑lead control.
- Open questions include timing, financing, required zoning changes, and community impacts (not detailed in record).
For a developer
- 80‑acre parcel with 1,200,000 sf GLA (15,000 sf/acre) currently vacant after 2022 closure.
- Controlled by Sojos Capital Group since 2021; redevelopment plans unveiled 2024 indicate entitlement stage is conceptual/planning.
- Context layer shows only yield metrics (FAR 0.34, GLA/acre 15k); flood, transit, and environmental constraints are not stated.
- Market signals are weak: opportunity score 25, with reasons noting the site is already “retrofit built,” closed/demolished, large size, and housing presence.
What we do not know yet
- Exact demolition status and timing of any structural removal are not specified.
- Environmental conditions, flood risk, and transit access are absent from the context layer.
- Detailed financials, debt load, and cost estimates for the redevelopment are not provided.
- Zoning designation and any required approvals or incentives are not mentioned.
- Several fields (year_closed, acres, original_developer, year_retrofit, developer, status, strategy, new_use, planning_notes) are marked as extraction and the record is flagged as draft, indicating potential unreviewed model‑extracted data.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Villa Italia Mall, Lakewood, CO · Malls · similar size (104 acres); similar GLA (1,400,000 sq ft); opened 1966
- Cinderella Mall, Englewood, CO · Malls · similar size (60 acres); similar GLA (1,400,000 sq ft); opened 1968
- Boulevard Mall, Erie County, NY · Malls · similar size (63 acres); opened 1962; closed 2026
- Lakeforest Mall, Gaithersburg, MD · Malls · similar size (100 acres); similar GLA (1,045,000 sq ft); closed 2023
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Lafayette Square on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Burlington Coat Factory - Lafayette Square Mall Indianapolis, IN November 2018 - 45815289315 commons.wikimedia.org
- Lafayette Square Mall fity.club
- L.S. Ayres/Macy's - Lafayette Square Mall Indianapolis, IN November 2018 flickr.com
- MallsCenters - US Shopping Malls & Stores mallscenters.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- 80 acres
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1968Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2022extracted, unreviewed |
| Acres | 80.0extracted, unreviewed |
| Gross leasable area | 1,200,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 115Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Original developer | Edward J. DeBartolo Sr.extracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | Steve & Barry's, Burlington Coat Factory, Macy's, JCPenney, Sears, Kroger, Shoppers World, G.C. Murphy, William H. Block, Lazarus, L. S. Ayres |
| Address | 38th St. & Lafayette Rd. |
| County | Marion |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: what is there now. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Lafayette Square Mall was an enclosed shopping mall in Indianapolis, Indiana, United States. Developed in 1968 by Edward J. DeBartolo Sr., the mall is locally owned by Sojos Capital Group. The anchor store is Shoppers World. There are three vacant anchor stores that were once Sears, Macy's, and JCPenney.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1968 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1968 Opened
- 1974 Lazarus expansion opened
- 1975 L.S. Ayres added after Kroger demolition
- 1998 Simon Property Group remodel added racetrack-themed food court
- 2001 Montgomery Ward liquidated; Burlington Coat Factory took over
- 2005 JCPenney and Old Navy departed
- 2007 Simon sold mall to Ashkenazy Acquisitions Corp.
- 2021 Sojos Capital fully acquired the mall
- 2022 Mall closed
- 2024 Plans unveiled for redevelopment of the site
Sources
- Wikipedia: Lafayette Square Mall · supports: acres, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
15 quoted sentences
The mall closed on August 29, 2022.
located on an 80-acre (32 ha) site.
Developed in 1968 by Edward J. DeBartolo Sr.
The mall closed on August 29, 2022.
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Indiana
Lifeline Data CenterIndianapolis, IN · 2013Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: solar data centerWoodmar MallHammond, IN · 2020Redeveloped · Redevelopment: sports and recreationCentennial VillageMunster, INPartial Redeveloped · mixed-use transit-oriented development that will feature both retail…Century MallMerrillville, IN · 2007Demolished
Circle Centre MallIndianapolis, IN · 2025Redeveloped · Reinhabited · redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards