Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Oklahoma

Tulsa Promenade

Imported, unreviewedReinhabitedClosedTulsa, OK

Opened 1965. Closed 2023. Reinhabited.

Status nowClosedextracted, unreviewed
documented
The Tulsa Promenade sat on 22 acres of land and ceased operations on September 17, 2023.

en.wikipedia.org

What it becameretail, industrial, healthcare, healthcare, civic, entertainmentextracted, unreviewed reported
Site size22 acresextracted, unreviewed
documented
The Tulsa Promenade sat on 22 acres of land

en.wikipedia.org

Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability15.2 of 20 · 15-minute 6 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Tulsa Promenade
Exterior view of a big-box store with cars parked in front. · verified by a vision model. Photo: 0x0077BE, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile16 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Dillard'sThis site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 211 units in 2 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High heat wave riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.94 cdc-svi · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $41,776 census-acs · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 65% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 15.2 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Strategy
ReinhabitedThis site: The businesses occupying the anchor buildings on the perimeter of the Tulsa Promenade (Dillard's, Extra Space Storage, Genesis Health Clubs, TruHealth… extraction · all sites with this
New use
Civic and governmentThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Entertainment and sportsThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Logistics and industrialThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Retail (continued)This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedextracted, unreviewed
documented
The Tulsa Promenade sat on 22 acres of land and ceased operations on September 17, 2023.

en.wikipedia.org

StrategyReinhabitedextracted, unreviewed
documented
The businesses occupying the anchor buildings on the perimeter of the Tulsa Promenade (Dillard's, Extra Space Storage, Genesis Health Clubs, TruHealth Integrated Care, CREOKS, and the WeStreet Ice Center currently under construction) are not impacted by the closing of the interior.

en.wikipedia.org

New usesretail, industrial, healthcare, healthcare, civic, entertainmentextracted, unreviewed reported
What is there nowThe businesses occupying the anchor buildings on the perimeter of the Tulsa Promenade (Dillard's, Extra Space Storage, Genesis Health Clubs, TruHealth Integrated Care, CREOKS, and the WeStreet Ice Center currently under construction) are not impacted by the closing of the interior.extracted, unreviewed
documented
The businesses occupying the anchor buildings on the perimeter of the Tulsa Promenade (Dillard's, Extra Space Storage, Genesis Health Clubs, TruHealth Integrated Care, CREOKS, and the WeStreet Ice Center currently under construction) are not impacted by the closing of the interior.

en.wikipedia.org

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Tulsa Promenade” and “Tulsa” (162 hits, first 100 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)GLIMCHER REALTY TRUST922006-01-04 to 2014-11-038-K 59, 10-Q 18, 10-K 15
Public owner (strong)CAPITAL TRUST INC (BXMT)42005-06-27 to 2006-03-178-K 4

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2012Glimcher Realty Trust 10-K, 2013-02-22Tulsa Promenade Tulsa, OK
match: exact
926,059
in-line 690,235
100.0% occupied$295Dillard’s Hollywood Theaters JCPenney Macy’s MDS Acquisition

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 6 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km228, 229, 230, 231OpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m4: AMOCO PRODUCTION CO/RESEARCH CENTER; BP US PIPELINES AND LOGISTICS / TULSA CONTROL CENTRAL; DILLARDS PROMENADE MALL; UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA-TULSA / SCHUSTERMAN CTREPA FRS
Census tract 401430086003,976 people, 3,981 per sq mi; median household income $41,776; median gross rent $831; 65% renters; 18.3% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 15.2 of 20; 80 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 802 m; land-use mix 0.93; 91,535 jobs within 45 min by car, 37,923 by transit; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 1 schools, 25 parks or playgrounds, 4 health, 3 civic, 16 food and drink; 2 cycleway segments, 155 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Tulsa County (OK), 2024518 units in 5+ unit buildings, 76 in 2–4, 2,224 single-family; 2023: 1,375 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.94; socioeconomic 0.86; housing and transport 0.94; 31% below 150% of poverty; 9% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby3 within 10 km, 3 within 25 km: Southland Shopping Center (0.0 km); Eastland Mall (9.7 km); Eastgate Mall (9.7 km)computed
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 17,170 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Attention: Wikipedia page views47,356 since 2015; 4,279 in the last 12 months (-18% vs the prior 12); peak 2023-09 with 1,533Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -18% (4,825 → 3,976); median income +27% ($32,866 → $41,776); renters 64% → 65%; median home value +37% ($141,000 → $193,500)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 62.7); expected annual loss $1.4M; high: tornado, heat wave, strong wind, ice storm; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km2 LIHTC properties, 211 units: Evergreen Apts (135 units); Evergreen Apts (76 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)39,427 jobs in 2,545 establishments; average annual pay $39,897; employment location quotient 1.07; employment +0.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20224,635 jobs; 846 in retail trade, 452 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 40143008600)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 37th income percentile as adults; 3.8% incarcerated at the 2010 count (426 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 8% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 27.1%; median family income $43,550; 481 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsTulsa Public Schools (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: HENRY ZARROW INTERNATIONAL SCH; PATRICK HENRY ESNCES EDGE
Elevation724 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025706 county-logged events: 280 hail, 278 thunderstorm wind, 102 flash flood, 23 tornado; $221,849,000 property damage reported; 6 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 74135, 2026-09median list price $305,000 (+0.0% on the year); 67 active listings; median 48 days on market; 39% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,338 establishments (+1%); 39,062 jobs (+7%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $250,892 (+3% 1 yr, +28% 5 yr); typical rent $1,362/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025274 (2000 = 100); +9.2% 1 yr, +44% 5 yr, +75% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)27,900 vehicles a day on YALE AVENUE (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 20 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Opened in 1965 as the outdoor Southland center, Tulsa Promenade was rebuilt as an indoor mall in 1986 with Dillard's, JCPenney and Mervyn's anchors; later additions included parking structures, a theater and renovations. Mervyn's closed in 2005, a tornado caused damage in 2017, and management announced permanent interior closure effective September 17, 2023, while perimeter anchor businesses remain open and the WeStreet Ice Center opened in 2024.

Why. The record notes the loss of the Mervyn's anchor in 2005 and the eventual permanent closure in 2023, but does not specify underlying causes such as competition, debt or demolition; thus the causes are not stated in the record.

Where it stands. The mall interior is closed as of September 2023, perimeter anchor businesses remain operational, and the property is owned by Kohan (since 2019).

For a planner

  • Reinhabit strategy outlined in the record targets retail, industrial, healthcare, civic and entertainment uses.
  • No specific policy tools or incentives are mentioned in the record for the site’s redevelopment.
  • Open questions include the timing of full redevelopment, integration with surrounding land use, and any required infrastructure upgrades.

For a developer

  • Site size is 22 acres with ownership held by Kohan since 2019.
  • Entitlement stage is unclear; the record lists a reinhabit strategy and proposed new uses but does not confirm approved permits or zoning.
  • Context‑layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental conditions) are not detailed in the record.
  • Market signals include a 30‑point opportunity score, classification as a closed/demolished site already in play, and a 4.8% county population growth 2018‑2023.

What we do not know yet

  • Floodplain status, proximity to transit, and any environmental remediation needs are not specified in the record.
  • Exact ownership structure beyond Kohan and any existing liens or debt are unknown.
  • The verification status is draft, and several fields (year_closed, acres, original_developer, after_notes, status, strategy, new_use) are marked as extraction‑sourced and may require review.
  • Details on entitlements, permits, or approved development plans are absent from the record.
  • Future demand for the proposed mixed‑use program is not quantified in the record.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Southland Shopping Center, Tulsa, OK · Malls · similar size (22 acres); opened 1965; closed 2023
  • Hickory Hollow Mall, Nashville, TN · Malls · similar size (27 acres); closed 2019; same strategy: reinhabit
  • Escondido Village Mall, Escondido, CA · Malls · similar size (30 acres); opened 1964; same strategy: reinhabit
  • Northlake Mall, Tucker, GA · Malls · opened 1971; closed 2026; same strategy: reinhabit

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
  • 22 acres
  • county grew 4.8% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1965Wikidata
Closed2023extracted, unreviewed
documented
The Tulsa Promenade sat on 22 acres of land and ceased operations on September 17, 2023.

en.wikipedia.org

Acres22.0extracted, unreviewed
documented
The Tulsa Promenade sat on 22 acres of land

en.wikipedia.org

Original developerCampbell Companyextracted, unreviewed
documented
Campbell Company developed the original plaza

en.wikipedia.org

AnchorsDillard's, Extra Space Storage, Genesis Health Clubs, TruHealth Integrated Care, CREOKS, WeStreet Ice Center
CountyTulsa County
Census division7 · West South Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Tulsa Promenade Mall was a 926,426-square-foot (86,067.8 m2) shopping center located in the Midtown section of Tulsa, Oklahoma. At the time of its closing, it was anchored by Dillard's, Extra Space Storage, Genesis Health Clubs, TruHealth Integrated Care, CREOKS, and WeStreet Ice Center. The Tulsa Promenade sat on 22 acres of land and ceased operations on September 17, 2023.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1965 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1965 Original structure built as outdoor shopping center Southland
  3. 1986 Property rebuilt as indoor mall with Dillard's, JCPenney, and Mervyn's anchors
  4. 1996 Parking structures added, Dillard's expanded, Foley's added
  5. 1998 Hollywood Palace 12 Theatre opened
  6. 1999 Renovation added carpeting, fixtures, additional restrooms
  7. 2005 Mervyn's anchor store closed
  8. 2014 Mall celebrated 50 years of shopping center on the land
  9. 2017 EF-2 tornado caused light roof and structural damage
  10. 2023 Management announced permanent closure effective September 17, 2023
  11. 2024 WeStreet Ice Center opened to the public

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Tulsa Promenade · supports: acres, after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
    16 quoted sentences
    The Tulsa Promenade sat on 22 acres of land and ceased operations on September 17, 2023.
    The Tulsa Promenade sat on 22 acres of land
    Campbell Company developed the original plaza
    The businesses occupying the anchor buildings on the perimeter of the Tulsa Promenade (Dillard's, Extra Space Storage, Genesis Health Clubs, TruHealth Integrated Care, CREOKS, and the WeStreet Ice Center currently under construction) are not impacted by the closing of the interior.

More in Oklahoma