Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Pennsylvania

Monroeville Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedMonroeville, PA

Opened 1969.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size1,351,458 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability16.2 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Boscov'sThis site: Boscov's wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Macy'sThis site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Place
100k+ jobs within 45 min by transitThis site: 112,489 epa-walkability · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -11% census-cbp · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 50% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +103% fhfa · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 16.2 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Scale
1M+ sq ft GLAThis site: 1,351,458 sq ft record · all sites with this
Building footprint 50,000+ m²This site: 56,139 m² overture · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Monroeville Mall” and “Monroeville” (294 hits, first 100 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL)972004-07-30 to 2026-08-078-K 72, 10-K 11, 10-Q 10, 8-K/A 3
Public owner (strong)CBL & ASSOCIATES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP192014-02-05 to 2021-11-168-K 18, 10-K 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2016CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2017-03-01Monroeville Mall Pittsburgh, PA
match: exact
1,077,250
in-line 471,138
89.0% leasedbuilt 1969 / acquired 2004 / renovated 2014100.0%$274Barnes & Noble, Best Buy, Cinemark, Dick's Sporting Goods, Forever 21, H&M, JC Penney, Macy's
2009CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2010-02-22Monroeville Mall Pittsburgh, PA
match: exact
1,143,716
in-line 420,170
91.0% leasedbuilt 1969 / acquired 2004 / renovated 2003100.0%$272Boscov's, JC Penney, Macy's
2006CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01Monroeville Mall Pittsburgh, PA
match: exact
1,143,718
in-line 420,172
98.0% leasedbuilt 1969 / acquired 2004 / renovated 2003100.0%$321Boscov’s, JC Penney, Macy’s

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 4 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m16: ARDEN SANITARY LANDFILL; DEPT OF VA MONROEVILLE CNTY OUTPATIENT CLINIC; DICKS SPORTING GOODS NO 1107; DONATELLI DAVID D DDS PROSTHODONTIST; EXPOMART MONROEVILLE SPECIALITY PHARMACYEPA FRS
Census tract 420035212004,878 people, 1,724 per sq mi; median household income $75,069; median gross rent $1,379; 50% renters; 10.0% vacant units; 0.6% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 16.2 of 20; 93 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 90 m; land-use mix 0.7; 70,537 jobs within 45 min by car, 112,489 by transit; 5% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Allegheny County (PA), 20241,603 units in 5+ unit buildings, 40 in 2–4, 1,356 single-family; 2023: 2,605 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.30; socioeconomic 0.21; housing and transport 0.52; 16% below 150% of poverty; 8% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby3 within 10 km, 9 within 25 km: Churchill Valley Golf Club (4.1 km); Eastland Mall (6.5 km); East Hills Shopping Center (7.0 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Monroeville Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.95, from BrightQuery, Overture); building footprint 56,139 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Tract change 2013–2023population +9% (4,465 → 4,878); median income +30% ($57,727 → $75,069); renters 48% → 50%; median home value +54% ($106,300 → $164,000)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 28.1); expected annual loss $660,656; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)61,288 jobs in 3,717 establishments; average annual pay $41,820; employment location quotient 0.93; employment -2.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20228,230 jobs; 3,758 in retail trade, 1,132 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 42003521200)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 46th income percentile as adults; 1.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (301 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 24% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 7.7%; median family income $60,000; 136 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsGateway School District (KG-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Life Male STEAM Academy CSNCES EDGE
Elevation1,083 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-20251,100 county-logged events: 588 thunderstorm wind, 282 flash flood, 143 hail, 45 flood; $28,713,350 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 15146, 2026-09median list price $260,000 (-14.4% on the year); 74 active listings; median 58 days on market; 24% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20233,971 establishments (-11%); 68,050 jobs (-8%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $236,739 (-0% 1 yr, +13% 5 yr); typical rent $1,504/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025358 (2000 = 100); -4.8% 1 yr, +65% 5 yr, +103% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)25,046 vehicles a day on WILLIAM PENN HW (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 596 trucks; 31 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Monroeville Mall opened in 1969 as a regional shopping center with approximately 1.35 million square feet of GLA and up to 180 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed, but the record does not specify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • Reasons for closure are not documented in the record.
  • Ownership and current zoning designation are unknown.
  • Potential reuse options would require clarification of site control and entitlements.
  • No information on prior planning incentives or policy interventions is available.

For a developer

  • Site size is approximately 1,351,458 sq ft of GLA.
  • Ownership and control status are not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are unknown.
  • Context layers such as flood risk, transit access, and environmental constraints are not provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Reason for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) is not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Zoning, land‑use entitlements, and any pending approvals are not documented.
  • Site‑specific context data (floodplain, transit proximity, environmental conditions) are missing.
  • The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin data quality.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Crossroads Mall, Oklahoma City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (1,175,047 sq ft); opened 1974
  • Lafayette Square Mall, Indianapolis, IN · Malls · similar GLA (1,200,000 sq ft); opened 1968
  • Lakeside Mall, Sterling Heights, MI · Malls · similar GLA (1,550,000 sq ft); opened 1976
  • Macon Mall, Macon, GA · Malls · similar GLA (1,447,000 sq ft); opened 1975

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Monroeville Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and state only, check the city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 1,351,458 sq ft GLA (large site)

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1969Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area1,351,458 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak180Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsMacy's, JCPenney, Boscov's
AddressRt. 22 & Mall Blvd.
CountyAllegheny
Census division2 · Mid-Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1969 Opened

Sources

More in Pennsylvania