Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Pennsylvania

North Hills Village

Imported, unreviewedOperatingRoss, PA

North Hills Village, 640k sq ft PA retail complex opened 1956, enclosed 1976, reverted to strip mall 1996, still operating. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/249962338350511 overture · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://www.studentguidetopittsburgh.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 45,667 on MCKNIGHT RD fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -11% census-cbp · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
New use
Retail (continued)This site: …a retail complex extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingextracted, unreviewed
What is there nowa retail complexextracted, unreviewed

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “North Hills Village” and “Ross” (87 hits, first 87 sampled, 6 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2016-12-22 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2016 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2017-RB132017-03-30 to 2017-06-138-K 2, 8-K/A 1
CMBS trust (weak)JPMCC Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2017-JP512017-03-29 to 2017-03-298-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)JPMCC Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2017-JP612017-06-16 to 2017-06-168-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)JPMDB Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2016-C412016-12-23 to 2016-12-238-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)JPMDB Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2017-C512017-03-31 to 2017-03-318-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)JPMCC Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2016-JP412016-12-22 to 2016-12-228-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)Morgan Stanley Capital I Trust 2017-H112017-06-08 to 2017-06-088-K 1
Public owner (weak)Brixmor Property Group Inc. (BRX)412013-12-03 to 2022-02-078-K 26, 10-K 14, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (weak)Brixmor Operating Partnership LP342015-02-09 to 2022-02-078-K 21, 10-K 13
Public owner (weak)NEW PLAN EXCEL REALTY TRUST INC212002-05-09 to 2007-02-228-K 20, 10-K 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 6 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 kmjunctionOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m9: DURO ONE HOUR CLEANERS; EXXON RS 2 0399; GOODYEAR AUTO SERVICE CENTER PITTSBURGH; JIFFY LUBE; NORTH HILLS SD ROSS ELEMENTARY SCHOOLEPA FRS
Census tract 420034295004,419 people, 2,779 per sq mi; median household income $59,526; median gross rent $1,029; 44% renters; 5.3% vacant units; 2.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 10.5 of 20; 98 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.73; 71,292 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 3 schools, 6 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 4 civic, 20 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 6 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Allegheny County (PA), 20241,603 units in 5+ unit buildings, 40 in 2–4, 1,356 single-family; 2023: 2,605 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.41; socioeconomic 0.35; housing and transport 0.54; 12% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 9 within 25 km: Allegheny Center Mall (8.2 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace North Hills Village (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 11,826 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.studentguidetopittsburgh.com (down or redirecting, status 0) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views10,842 since 2015; 1,417 in the last 12 months (-11% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-08 with 245Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +7% (4,120 → 4,419); median income +19% ($50,079 → $59,526); renters 45% → 44%; median home value +83% ($130,700 → $239,300)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)very low overall (score 15.8); expected annual loss $679,544; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20233,971 establishments (-11%); 68,050 jobs (-8%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $236,739 (-0% 1 yr, +13% 5 yr); typical rent $1,504/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025452 (2000 = 100); -1.1% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr, +72% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)45,667 vehicles a day on MCKNIGHT RD (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 976 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

North Hills Village opened in 1956 as a strip mall on McKnight Road, with Gimbels as its anchor tenant. It was enclosed in 1976 but reverted to a strip mall format in 1996. The property has remained operating as a retail complex under the ownership of J.J. Gumberg Co. since 1986.

Why. The record does not specify reasons for the 1996 reversion to a strip mall or any anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition factors.

Where it stands. The site is currently operating and is controlled by J.J. Gumberg Co., which has owned it since 1986.

For a planner

  • Large site size (640,783 sq ft GLA) presents precedent for potential redevelopment or reuse.
  • No policy tools or incentives are mentioned in the record.
  • Open questions include the causes of the 1996 format change and future viability under current ownership.

For a developer

  • Site size: 640,783 sq ft GLA on a single parcel.
  • Control: Sole owner J.J. Gumberg Co. since 1986, simplifying assembly.
  • Entitlement stage, zoning, flood, transit, and environmental constraints are not detailed in the record.
  • Market signals such as current tenant mix, vacancy, or tract-level demographics are absent.

What we do not know yet

  • Reasons for the 1996 reversion to strip mall are not stated.
  • Anchor tenant status after Gimbels and any subsequent losses are unknown.
  • Financial performance, debt levels, or lease terms are not provided.
  • Environmental, floodplain, or transit access constraints are absent from the record.
  • Zoning, entitlement status, and any pending approvals are not described.
  • Data are marked as draft and extracted from a 2014 closed‑malls list, indicating potential unverification.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: North Hills Village Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and state only, check the city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • 640,783 sq ft GLA (large site)

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1956Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area640,783 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak35Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsBurlington Coat Factory, Kohl's, Target, Kuhn's Market, Gimbels
AddressMcKnight Rd.
CountyAllegheny
Census division2 · Mid-Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

North Hills Village is a retail complex on McKnight Road in Ross Township, Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, United States, owned by J.J. Gumberg Co. since 1986. It was opened as a strip mall in 1957, with Gimbels as its center piece anchor tenant. It was enclosed in 1976 before reverting to a strip mall in 1996.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1956 Opened
  2. 1957 Opened as a strip mall
  3. 1976 Enclosed
  4. 1986 Ownership transferred to J.J. Gumberg Co.
  5. 1996 Reverted to strip mall

Sources

More in Pennsylvania