Retrofit Atlas

Malls · California

Anaheim Center

Imported, unreviewedOperatingAnaheim, CA

Anaheim Center opened 1955 as Orange County's first mall, closed 1993, now operates as a big-box power center retail site. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile14 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Place
100k+ jobs within 45 min by transitThis site: 180,281 epa-walkability · all sites with this
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 6 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 38,610 on a counted road fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 28 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 3,839 units, Orange County census-bps · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $3,251/mo zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High earthquake riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $100,808 census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.0% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +110% fhfa · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 16.7 epa-walkability · all sites with this
New use
Retail (continued)This site: …a power center anchored by big-box stores extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingextracted, unreviewed
documented
is now a power center anchored by big-box stores.

en.wikipedia.org

New usesretailextracted, unreviewed reported
What is there nowa power center anchored by big-box storesextracted, unreviewed
documented
is now a power center anchored by big-box stores.

en.wikipedia.org

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · 0.2 PCT ANNUAL CHANCE FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m35: 1723 W SIVA AVE; 1761 WEST CRONE AVE; 1807 W BEACON AVE; 1809 W. RANDOM DR.; 1811 W BEACON AVEEPA FRS
Census tract 060590871038,566 people, 11,225 per sq mi; median household income $100,808; median gross rent $2,039; 44% renters; 0.0% vacant units; 1.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 16.7 of 20; 140 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 380 m; land-use mix 0.77; 381,406 jobs within 45 min by car, 180,281 by transit; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 2 schools, 12 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 5 civic, 18 food and drink; 28 cycleway segments, 103 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Orange County (CA), 20243,839 units in 5+ unit buildings, 462 in 2–4, 2,671 single-family; 2023: 3,440 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.65; socioeconomic 0.47; housing and transport 0.64; 14% below 150% of poverty; 0% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby6 within 10 km, 20 within 25 km: Anaheim Towne Center (3.0 km); Buena Park Downtown (4.9 km); The City Shopping Center (6.4 km); Village at Buena Park (8.1 km); 5600 Beach Boulevard: Shopoff and Lennar on the Former Amway Campus (8.1 km)computed
Attention: Wikipedia page views26,892 since 2015; 1,950 in the last 12 months (-13% vs the prior 12); peak 2015-08 with 336Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +2% (8,397 → 8,566); median income +53% ($65,987 → $100,808); renters 49% → 44%; median home value +104% ($389,900 → $794,500)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 79.8); expected annual loss $3.4M; high: earthquake; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 180 units: Bel Age Preservation Lp (180 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)142,472 jobs in 9,812 establishments; average annual pay $51,666; employment location quotient 0.87; employment -1.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20221,744 jobs; 657 in retail trade, 429 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 06059087103)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 48th income percentile as adults; 1.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (1,101 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 10.5%; median family income $72,813; 267 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsAnaheim Union High School District (07-12); 10 public schools within 1 mile: Palm Lane Global Academy; Barton (Clara) Elementary; Loara Elementary; Madison (James) ElementaryNCES EDGE
Elevation118 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025140 county-logged events: 49 flood, 43 heavy rain, 24 flash flood, 10 thunderstorm wind; $1,361,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 92804, 2026-09median list price $958,475 (+3.5% on the year); 55 active listings; median 56 days on market; 15% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20239,840 establishments (+5%); 146,724 jobs (+3%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $1.2M (+3% 1 yr, +37% 5 yr); typical rent $3,251/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 20251,383 (2000 = 100); +4.0% 1 yr, +57% 5 yr, +110% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)38,610 vehicles a day (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 2,808 trucks; 19 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Anaheim Center opened in 1955 as a regional mall and operated until 1993, when it closed as a regional mall. After closure, the site was redeveloped into a power center anchored by big-box stores and remains operating today.

Why. The record does not state the reasons for the mall's closure or subsequent redevelopment.

Where it stands. The site is currently operating as a power center, but the record does not identify the controlling owner or any recent deals.

For a planner

  • Precedent: conversion of a closed regional mall into a big-box power center.
  • Policy tools: not specified in the record.
  • Open questions: current zoning, entitlements, and what future uses are permitted.

For a developer

  • Site size: not provided in the record.
  • Control and ownership: not identified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage: no information on approvals or pending applications.
  • Context layers (flood, transit, environment): no data supplied.
  • Market signals: only median rent mentioned; other tract‑level data absent.

What we do not know yet

  • Owner/developer identity and control structure are missing.
  • Parcel size, land area, and building footprint are not specified.
  • Zoning designation, entitlement status, and any pending applications are unknown.
  • Environmental constraints, flood risk, and transit access are not described.
  • The opportunity score (15.0) and its reason (median rent $2,352) are model‑extracted and marked unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • median rent $2,352

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1955extracted, unreviewed
Closed1993extracted, unreviewed
documented
It was a regional mall from 1955 to 1993.

en.wikipedia.org

Anchorsbig-box stores
CountyOrange County
Census division9 · Pacific
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Anaheim Plaza, originally Broadway Orange County Center, then Anaheim Center, in Anaheim, California, was the first shopping mall in Orange County. It was a regional mall from 1955 to 1993 and is now a power center anchored by big-box stores.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1955 Opened as regional mall
  2. 1993 Closed as regional mall

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Anaheim Center · supports: after notes, status, year closed, year opened
    6 quoted sentences
    It was a regional mall from 1955 to 1993.
    It was a regional mall from 1955 to 1993.
    is now a power center anchored by big-box stores.
    is now a power center anchored by big-box stores.

More in California